Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

Group of middle aged blokes having a weekend away

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: basic but clean and tidy. Good staff, good amenities
Cons: Obviously everything could be improved but for the price of this place you get more then I would normally expect
Location: Location is at the end of the road of the main German loud strip...literally 50 metres away...another 5 metres to the beach and there are hundreds of
All this area is set up for Germans....we were the only English group in the hotel....and the resort. Hotels is basic but perfectly adequate. We had a great time and everything is very nearby. The road may b a bit loud but you cant hear it in the hotel. Pool bar and main bar good. Self service beer by the pool. Foods fine.. If you have an issue with being the only English people amongst thousands of Germans then this isn't the resort or hotel for you. However rather than the English who like to get drunk, throw up and fight, the Germans like to get drunk, sing songs and have fun....It was ideal for9 middle aged blokes having a long break and we all enjoyed it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Not enough lifts and they are noisy.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing so special. Just an average 3*
Cons: Can't say
Location: The location is good
The food is adequately moderate and the local drinks are not nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

No frills - perfect for students/groups/drunkards

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Food: excellent quality and choice Nicely situated at the quiet end of Schinkenstrasse About a 10 min or so public bus trip from the airport
Cons: Some slight disrepair in room furniture but nothing major. Some of the staff struggled with English
If you're looking for a cheap hotel with good food then this fits the bill perfectly. Note: practically all the guests are German.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Fantastic hotel, lovely staff, good food and close to the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Nice but not for me

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: I liked that there were many places to sit and relax, day and night.
Location: The hotel is so close to the beach. I went to have a look, but it was jam packed. But i did go back in the evening to dip my toes in and it was lovely
I did read the reviews of this hotel before i went. I did see the comments about most of the guests being German. I didn't realise that i would be the ONLY Brit in the hotel. This made it rather uncomfortable for me as i was there alone. But the hotel staff could not have been nicer to me. I was given a room without a balcony, i asked to be moved explaining that as i was alone id like to sit at the balcony in the evenings. They moved me the next morning! And then sent me a bottle of Tunel to say sorry! The staff at both bars were very friendly and made the effort to chat. The reception staff were wonderful. The food was lovely, even though lots was pickled! The room was small but cosy. Clean and tidy. For my 1st holiday alone, this place is a great start. But i would not return.
3 out of 5
by Stephen from Belfast

Functional but not great

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
For an all-inclusive deal, I expected to have air conditioning but in the room all there was, was a ceiling fan, it simply moved the warm air around the room - not good!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel in the German quarter.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Staff, service, availability of food and drink throughout the day.
Cons: Decor, air conditioning (needed in high temperatures)
Hotel was ok, staff friendly and room ok but dated and NO air conditioning. In the German quarter and in a very nosiy area - the bottom end of the street resembled Magaluf but you couldn't hear the noise in your room. Great if you want that sort of thing. Food nice but not as much choice as you may expect. Plenty to eat and drink throughout the day. In walking distance of the beach, which was really nice - quiet, hot , warm sea. We stayed there until midnight without disturbance. 2 pools - clean, warm but could get over crowded.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately the 4 night stay at this hotel was cut short to 1 night, mainly due to the clientele at the hotel and the area. Service however was good, with staff helpful. The area is essentially 90% German, which is not a bad thing, but as a couple from Scotland this did not suit us. In keeping 90% of the guests were German. The hotel itself is very dated, and the food although a good choice was not of the highest quality. The swimming pools were slightly dirty, with things floating in it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

good located at end of the famous "Schinkenstrasse

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly and Dinner was delicious
Cons: no shower next to the pool an the hidden one works bad // we had a roach in our room
Location: Bierkönig, Beach and Ballermann 6
Staff was very friendly and Dinner was delicious, hotel is very good located to start the evening at Bierkönig
5 out of 5
by Billauk from Huyton

Good Hotel, Food & Staff.

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels
We all really enjoyed this holiday. The hotel was excellent, and the food was wonderful, but a little too tempting, the staff were welcoming, helpful and polite. It was in a good location, and had good amenities.