Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Nice hotel 1minute from the port and restaurants.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Location location location!
Cons: Sound-proofing and less hard beds! Slightly bigger bathrooms maybe?
Location: Near Cala D'Or and pretty beaches. Also near Cala Mondrego- our favourite beach. With a car most of the island was accessible within 1.5- 2hours.
Hotel Varadero is light and airy with fresh white adobe style walls in the rooms. The rooms were basically furnished with the bed (large), 2 slatted wooden chairs, a table; and 2 stone shelves and a rail for clothes. There was a small flat-screenTV and a room safe. Air-con was available - a refundable deposit was needed for the remote. The bathroom was just shower room size with a toilet and tiny sink - which was adequate for our needs and clean, but not luxurious. The beds were quite hard. There wasn't great sound-proofing so you could hear noise from adjacent rooms and outside. We had a nice view from our balcony. Breakfast had to be taken at a Cafe called Blend, on the port-front, which was pleasant. The inclusive food was adequate: toast, cheese, tomato, ham, jams, Nutella, 1drink included, and you could upgrade to extra items like omelettes and melon for a few Euros. Staff at Blend were hard-working and very friendly and seemed to be working from 8am until midnight 7 days a week without a break! Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the location was excellent! There was a lovely roof terrace with views across the port and harbour. Sadly although the roof bar was closed from October, you could take your own wine up there and enjoy the views. For people like us who use a hotel just as somewhere to crash it was ideal and there were plenty of nice restaurants, as well as a cash-point and shops -all within a 5-minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Friendly staff, safe and clean

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Really cool staff who I became friends with, great recommendations, and safe and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Bonne expérience

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Parfait Cependant le petit dej n'a aucun intérêt
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lars

Skuffede forventninger

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Vi var vendt tilbage, fordi vi sidste år havde et fantastisk ophold på hotellet med dejlig morgenbuffet og en lækker bar på tagterrassen. Ingen af delene var åbne denne gang pga. personalemangel, og vi blev spist af med en kedelig Continental Breakfast på en restaurant i byen, hvor juice og andet var tilkøb. Selve værelset var meget lydt på grund af skæve døre og vinduer, der ikke sluttede tæt. En desværre skuffende oplevelse - især sammenholdt med året før, hvor vi ratede det til 5 stjerner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

OK stay in Porto Petro

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
The wc was broken when we checked in, and it was fixed only the day after. The receptionist has been very kind and understanding, but the inconvenience was quite annoying. The location is very nice, 1 minute walk from the port. Parking is hard. The rooftop is very cool, ideal place to have a cocktail. We were located in the secondary building, where wifi reception was extremely poor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Hotel - But Overbooked - Terrible Service

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: It was a lovely location - not that we got to enjoy it much!
Cons: Booking system and customer service
Location: Restaurants
The hotel is actually really lovely, but of our 3 night stay we only got to spend one night (the last night) in the hotel which was a real shame. They basically double booked and seeing as we were staying there a shorter time (or perhaps paid less) they decided to move us to another place altogether, not just another hotel but in another village meaning the lovely fishing village feel my friend and I wanted for our last summer break was not to be. Instead we ended up in Cala 'dor which don't get me wrong is a nice place but a little more British than I had hoped (considering I was escaping to a tiny fishing village in the east of the island). The hotel they put us up in was not anything like this hotel so it was a bit rubbish. Plus we'd booked it months before and they hadn't bothered to at least warn us, it was when we'd been travelling from 3am and finally got to the hotel that they decided to tell us that there has been a problem, no explanation - just 'these things happen' - was not happy. Really would have ruined our trip if my friend and I weren't determined to make a decent trip out of it. Apparently we're not the only ones this has happened too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel , very central , lovely view

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Central
Cons: Tea making facilities
Location: Plenty of beach walks nearby , and car rental nearby
Beautiful laid back village for the quieter holiday, with plenty nearby
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fint til prisen

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Dejlig område og beliggenhed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephanie from Bath

great hotel for couples with a car/bike

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
We loved this hotel. It had character, it was VERY cheap, the bed was enormous. We bought croissants and orange juice from the supermarket and ate them on the little balcony for breakfast each morning. The roof terrace is lovely and the pool area is too. We did take our tennis rackets from the UK especially to play at the hotel court, which was not worth the effort as the only point for improvement i have for this hotel is the surface of the court- if you play relatively seriously it isn't worth playing (there is hardly any room behind the baseline (without becoming embroiled in plant life), the lines are raised so high they send the ball in all directions and there are two significant dips in the court. However, if you just want to knockabout it is fine, especially as it is free. If we hadn't payed £60 to put our rackets in the plane hold I wouldn't event have mentioned it in this review. Porto Petro has enough restaurants to last a week and there are loads of nice beaches and towns to drive or cycle to if you use this as a base. There is a great shop that rents kayaks, SUP and boats just down from the hotel. Cala D'or is a 5 minute drive away which is a busy resort but very pleasant. All in all, this hotel far exceeded my expectations- it was the cheapest we stayed in on the island by quite some way, and we enjoyed it the most. If they threw in breakfast on the roof terrace for a reasonable price and resurfaced the tennis court it would be perfect!