Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great fammily holiday ;)

Posted Nov 7, 2016
10 day stay at Esmeralda park cala d'Or , exelent entertiment , great food, friendly staff , beautiful view from apartment H(117,118) overall great experiense very relaxing . Only one downside no hot drinks with dinner (tea , coffe) you cant eaven buy them. All drinks with dinner you have to pay for (wather, soft drinks etc.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Pleasant if unremarkable stay

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms and facilities were clean, and the location on several sandy coves was very attractive. Only a five minute walk to the center of Cala d'Or. English, German, and of course, Spanish were widely spoken by the staff. Very family friendly.
Cons: Only one real quibble: the parking spaces are very small, even for compact cars. The location of Cala D'Or is fine if one is looking to spend a lot of time just lounging about, though it is a bit of a ways (hour or more drive) to the more popular tourist destinations on the island, e.g., Palma, Serra Tramuntana, Cap Formentor. However, since we had a car and it was the off-season, the roads and traffic were not a problem and the drives very often quite scenic.
Location: Cala d'Or is geared toward tourists: Restaurants, souvenir stores, arcades, etc., though after Oct 31, most of these had closed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful place,well equipped. Helpful staff. Will be definitely going back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in this area

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect place, premium units like 4*, too small common areas and beach if the hotel is 100% booked. Good kitchen, although no appropriate baby food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent October holiday. Family of 2 adults and 15 year old son. Emailed the hotel in advance asking for a pretty view. Arrived to a pretty resort. Reception was clean, quite busy but enough staff to make the wait acceptable. Lots of information given at reception. Good points. Apartment was in a really pretty place-overlooking the cove. If you email the hotel in advance you could request pool view, ask for a room where lots are going on, quiet area, There seemed to be lots to do even in October for children-lots of activities. Swimming pools were excellent-lots of pools dotted around the apartment areas. 3 star bedding, furniture, facilities in apartment-very clean and absolutely fine for the stay. Area was perfect for walking into the Cala D'or centre. Ate out for every meal-and didn't have a bad meal. Cons. Had to pay for Wifi. 15 euros per person per week or 5 euros for 1 day. Wifi was free near reception. Had to pay for beach towels 15 refundable deposit each with 1euro non refundable per day. For the price we paid £317 for a weeks stay (and 220 for flights and 50 for transfers) we had a very acceptable holiday. The weather was around 28 degrees all week. Would recommend the apartments in October - I think July would be very busy - fine if you like a child friendly resort-but maybe not for you if you like a quiet stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful friendly staff and atmosphere

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble. They always had a smile for you. We thought breakfast was rather expensive at just under 12€ but here was such a good choice it made up for that. dinner was more reasonably priced at under 19€ and again there was a wonderful choice and the wine was not overly expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but unhelpful and uncaring management

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
The accommodation agreed to the request for a lower floor as one of the members in the party has health issues. The electricity was off on arrival. This was then put back on and the air conditioning was used which was broken and leaked water all over the bathroom floor. The technician did arrive quickly to mend it and we left the man mending it when we went out, he failed to leave us a message to inform us that we had no cold water and no toilet. 2 of the party had to run to the reception to use the toilet in the morning. There was no notice of when they were going to repair it. No shower, no toilet, no cold water in the kitchen area!!! Did we get an apology? NOT a word of sorry for the inconvenience. The management then would not let us pay the extra to stay in the room until 6 pm as we had a late leaving time. Instead they made us use a unsuitable shower in the indoor swimming area, where there was a queue for use of this facility. It was too hot and they caused the person in out party who has health issues to become very unwell. Not only that the SOS lifeguard stood by whilst we had to deal with the situation. It was appalling. Shame as the resort is basic but with a good location. Do not take breakfast as they queue up the stairs. Very disappointing behaviour from the staff our room was still empty at 6 pm it was unclear why they had been so unhelpful especially after all the problems in the room which we had suffered but did not complain
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Very mixed experience

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Wotif
We stayed here for 7 days. Great location with beautiful beaches, good food, good pools & great little town of Cala d'or. Gym very small for big resort and often busy but ok. Our room was quite old & dated but clean. We tried to book 6 months in advance hoping to reserve a room close to reception & with a sea view but ended up at the far end of the resort facing the road. Front desk staff lacked good customer service skills & often unhelpful. Inturotel took every opportunity to add on additional costs such as in room safe (3 euro per day), in room wifi (5 euro per day), activities such as mini golf (4 euro per player), sun lounges by the beach (4 euro) which on top of an expensive rate ($250 per day) for 2/3 star resort. We were also disappointed to be told by the manager that we were unable to bring baby water bottles to dinner for our very young children - all of which left a bad taste in our mouth.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great premium room in well positioned hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was perfectly positioned for the beach ay Cala Esmerelda - and for the town of Cala D'Or which had a great restaurant nightlife ...