Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Everything was great, the beds could be a bit more comfortable though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Guest Service , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We kindly apologize you for the inconvenience due to the beds and its mattresses. We are continually working on improving our facilities; we will focus on its proposal. Again we thank you for your kind review of our hotel Occidental Playa de Palma and we look forward serving you again in the future. Best regards from Mallorca, Orsy Szilagyi Guest Service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Was very nice place for family stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Overall arrangement of facilities, spacious apartments and arrangement of space inside the hotel.
Cons: Cleanness of restaurants and apartments.
Location: Short walking distance from the beach, promenade and restaurants/cafes.
Hotel conforming with 4* standards in terms of facilities, though lacking sufficient quality. Although rooms are generally clean, cutlery was often dirty both in the room and in the restaurants. Generally facilities were good with exception of outside table tennis and billiard that used overused equipment, like broken rackets and pool cues. Food quality of good standard. In general a hotel recommended to families with smaller children that can enjoy safe environment at a pool with acceptable quality of accommodation and subsistence.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Czech Republic

Nice hotel needs better entertainment

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The staff were lovely, the rooms were fine and the food was great.
Cons: Entertainment - see above. Maybe the hotel chain could pressure the police to do some cleaning up in the locality.
Location: Its great for youngsters who want to drink and go clubbing. Families will probably want to stay by the pool in in the complex unless they hire a car.
Majority German clientele so not so much social interaction if you are other nationality, nice hotel, nice staff, great food. On the downside entertainment was poor to downright terrible and not the fault of the lovely entertainments manager who tried very hard to get people to keep fit classes during the day. Its as though the hotel (all inc) expects people to leave at night and doesn't want to waste the money. They really need an animation team to get people interacting and involved. Everyone was talking about whether the show tonight was worse than the last one. It is about 3 minutes walk from the beach which is predominantly nightclubs and drunk young people but the hotel complex was fine. Along the beach front North African guys are selling stuff illegally and aren't policed at all. Do not go out late at night unless you want to watch the prostitutes negotiate or see young couples having sex on cars in fully lit streets. The hotel can't be held responsible for this of course - and it is a nice hotel - but you should be informed about the area before deciding on a hotel. Little things: Net curtains needed on the windows so the light blocking curtains could be opened and still have some privacy. A kettle should be available in all rooms. Overall, we liked the hotel but didn't like the area and would have liked better entertainment on site.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

No stars! Terrible room, terrible attitude

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: The room was kept clean and tidy by a friendly and cheerful maid. The staff at breakfast were efficient and friendly.
Cons: Almost everything. See review.
Location: The area is completely dominated by German visitors so everything is geared towards their preferenes.
We booked this hotel based on other review but we were very disappointed. Almost every aspect of the experience was bad. Our room was ridiculously small with almost no space between the foot of the bed and the opposite wall. We had requested a double bed. We got two singles made up separately and pushed together. The hotel corridors are very long and not separated in to shorter sections by any internal doors. The result is that that anyone opening or closing their room door makes a massive echoing din which disturbs people in the 39 other rooms. The shower head would not stay in the correct position. There were very few English TV channels. The hotel bar has just one red wine (in a Spanish hotel!) which was terrible. The staff refused to get us a decent bottle from the restaurant on two separate occasions even though we made it clear that we were happy to pay the price. One day the hotel ATM was out of order so we asked at reception for the location of the nearest cash machine. The receptionist didn't know. At checkout we were not asked about our stay. Completely hopeless. We will not be staying at a Barceló hotel or resort again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Emilio Rubio Amaya, Hotel Management
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Pueblo Park hotel for your stay in Majorca and for the time you spent to share your feedback on your stay; at Barceló we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review. I deeply regret your disappointment on the room we accommodated you in, although I would like to take the opportunity to explain that we allocate our rooms in accordance with the room type selected upon reservation and that a full description of our different room categories, including their size, is available on our website; for a future occasion, I encourage you to visit our website or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you select the room type that best meets your holiday needs and wishes. Moreover, as you also can appreciate visiting our website, our double rooms are furnished with two single beds, nevertheless whenever a guest prefers a double bed, it suffices to contact our reception desk and request to join the mattresses to make a double bed, for a future occasion, please do not hesitate to inform us of anything we can do to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Last but not least, I sincerely regret the misunderstanding related to the wine options at our bar and would like to take the opportunity to explain that guests requesting a single glass have the possibility to choose our house wine or to buy a different bottle that will be kept for you by the bar so you can enjoy it throughout your stay; I will make sure to share your comments with our head of department so that this option is always offered from now on. Once again, Alan, thank you for your visit and constructive critics; I hope that you had a pleasant journey back home
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

THE BEACH OF THIS HOTEL IS ON WALKING DISTANCE.

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL.
Cons: THE SPA FACILITIES COULD BE IMPROVED, WITH A JACUZZI.
Location: AT THIS TIME OF THE YEAR, JANUARY, MOST RESTAURANT`S BAR`S ALONG THE BEACH WERE CLOSED FOR A MONTH, SO NOT MUCH TO DO NEAR BY THAN REALLY RESTING.
EXPERIENCE, THE FIRST FEW OF THE HOTEL WAS OK, LOCATION, SURROUNDING WAS WONDERFUL. SAUNA AND STEAM ROOM WERE OK, ONLY THE SWIMMING POOL INDOORS WAS COLD, I ONLY WENT 1 TIME TO SWIM IN THAT FIRST TIME SWIMMING I ALMOST SLIPPED 4 TIMES, WAS A BIT DANGEROUS, THE TILES WERE ALWAYS WET.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good alternative to relax and enjoy

Posted Sep 7, 2015
In general a positive experience. Good option for traveling with kids and babies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Nice family orientated hotel in good location.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Cons: Staff could be more attentive and smiley ... Some had tendency to look through you. Air conditioning ... Poor in rooms and barely noticeable in gym.
Location: Great location away from busy bars,etc. but within easy reach of the beach.
Nice location just back from main resort but close to the beach made this an ideal hotel from summer break. Quick transfer from airport made holiday got off to a prompt start. Facilities well maintained and meal times ran efficiently with plenty of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hull

Hotel in a good position

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: It has every thing that you need on site ,is only 10 minutes from the airport and the beach is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel
Cons: nothing
Location: The location is set back from the beach front 200m so isn't as noisy as the ones on the beach ,there are bars and restaurants with in a 100m.
The Barceló Pueblo Park is a very nice hotel (we stayed in a superior room that was quite a bit larger than the standard offering ).Food is of a good standard and plenty of choice for continental hotel .The staff are very good most with very good English ,considering the resort is dominated by a German presence - loud but a lot better behave than if it was a British resort!!. The hotel has a smallish pool area which can be difficult to get a sun bed if you go down after 9am .