Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acceptable hotel, useful location

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Acceptable room, nothing special. Helpful staff, they changed our booking at very short notice. Shame the kitchen was off so we couldnt eat there in the evening. Very good breakfast. Overall satisfied and great location!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Great location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Great breakfast, nice staff, quaint and interesting hotel.
Cons: Whilst the room was overall clean the vacuum had certainly not been introduced to certain parts of the room since the dark ages.
Location: Pleasant and memorable. The Abbey gardens and abbey itself made for an interesting short break.
If you like gardens to walk around then the Abbey gardens are well worth the visit to the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Very friendly and reasonably priced, nice room

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Very friendly and reasonably priced, nice room and great breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicht zu empfehlen

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Ein uriges, nettes Gebäude....gemütlich, wenn es denn besser gepflegt wäre. Die Außenterasse war recht schön. Preise nicht zu hoch.
Cons: Alles, insbesondere die Sauberkeit.
Location: Die Cotswolds sind einen Besuch wert. Hübsche Dörfer in schöner Umgebung.
Das Hotel ist eigentlich ein uriges Gebäude in einer ansprechenden Umgebung. Erbaut im 15.Jahrhundert muss aber nicht bedeuten, dass man nicht putzt, die Wände nicht streicht, vor Tag und Tau vom Lieferanten geweckt wird, der den dazugehörigen Pub mit Nachschub versorgt....so laut, dass keine Chance auf Ruhe bestand. Das Fenster zur Straße tat sein übriges, dass man gerädert in den Tag startete. Das Frühstück war gut, im Preis enthalten. Auch wenn die Kosten der Übernachtung nicht allzu hoch waren, so würden wir nicht wiederkommen. Die Parkmöglichkeit ist obendrauf noch sehr knifflig, die Zufahrt beansprucht Millimeterarbeit. Das Personal am Empfang möchte ich als sehr freundlich bezeichnen, obwohl sie hätte Unterstützung gebrauchen können, das Hotel schien mir unterbesetzt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Conveniently placed hotel for family party.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Characterful, good location and polite staff.
Cons: CLEANLINESS OF ROOMS!!!!!
Location: Good location.
Characterful hotel with potential - but let down dreadfully by lack of cleanliness in rooms. Carpet and bathroom floor not clean, all surfaces covered in dust, kettle had tea drips and dirty finger prints on it as did the paintwork around the bathroom door handle, toilet seat broken and not fully attached to the toilet bowl, shower cubicle dirty and speckled with black (in desperate need pf some mould and mildew spray!). As we were only stopping 1 night we purchased some ant-bacterial wipes and wiped all the surfaces we were going to touch! The lack of cleanliness in the rooms did put us off eating here so we didn't order a breakfast! Also beware the car park entrance - very narrow and tight - lots of scrapes and car paint on the walls!! On the plus side the bedding and towels were very clean and the staff very polite. On checking out we did report our disappointment in the standard of cleanliness - the receptionist was most apologetic, said that a refurbishment was planned (altho' that shouldn't affect cleanliness!) and offered to deduct £10 from our bill. We stayed here as it was conveniently positioned for us to walk to and back from a family party however due to our disappointment in the basic cleanliness of the room I would not wish to stay there again. My advice if you book this hotel is to check your room's cleanliness before unpacking and go straight to the reception to report any problems.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Step back in time

Posted Jun 22, 2016
If you want to stay in a little slice of English country heaven then this is the place to go. A lovely old pub with lots of history and charm set in a beautiful English village. The hosts provide high quality service and meals. We had a lovely stay - it was a highlight of our accommodation in Uk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wilts

A bit shabby not chic

Posted May 30, 2016
Ok for 1 night. Rooms need a good spruce up. Breakfast was not included in our room price. Disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing.

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Such potential of a character old hotel right in the middle of town but just not cared for. Staff we very pleasant but did not excuse dirty, very basic rooms. Room was noisy at times, due kitchen fan right beside window and Bar smokers congregated right under the window.
3 out of 5
by Debbie from Staffordshire

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely friendly & helpfull staff on check in. The room could do with a very good clean in the bathroom (tiles)with the removal of rusty shelves. Maybe less or lighter furniture and better matresses as you could feel the springs!But would stay again looking out to the lovely courtyard and away from the main bar.
1 out of 5
by Matthew from Birmingham

Bad stay

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
The room was in need of a lot of work