Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Great location near the station and city centre. Room was nice - very comfortable bedding. Characterful room with old wooden beams. No traffic noise. Tea and coffee in the lounge all day and night. Breakfast was excellent, with cooked meats, fish, cheeses, cereal and some lovely bread, as well as hot egg sausage and bacon. Breakfast was the highlight, really good quality. Overall very pleased. I looked at many hotels before booking and honestly think I made the best choice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Stay

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, full of character, very friendly helpful staff. Nice location in old town, convenient for station. Excellent breakfast.
Very pleasant experience,made to feel very welcome. Happy to recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good part of town close to railway + bus

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Cons: Some rooms are tight and only have small double beds. Steps with cases at the front door were difficult.
Location: The square nearby was alive Saturday night, but we could not hear it.
The place could be described as Heritage and is very old. Some rooms are tight and only have small double beds. The breakfast included was Fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Lovely old world style hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Very nice, clean, comfortable hotel near train station and old town shopping. It is located in a very old building but has been refurbished beautifully. Fabulous breakfast buffet. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Comfortable

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: TV channel should has more international program.
Location: Easy to walk around for sight seeing and good food area.
Room clean and function able for 3 persons. I love a small balcony with coffee in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doha

Historic hotel in the center of town.

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Just 5mins from the train station and a few mins from the town squares with cafes, bars and restaurants. The room was fairly spacious (we booked a triple room so that we would have a sofa and luggage space which was needed) and clean and comfortable. No AC but a fan was in the room and windows open fully (Sweden was having a mini heatwave but we slept fine). Breakfast was a very good selection and fresh, served in the original vaulted cellars. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Central location close to bus and rail stations

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Impressed by how helpful the young lady in reception was on our arrival. She provided a map and advised on good locations for eating out, etc.
Cons: Nothing, we like it as it is and would return
Location: Central for shops, restaurants, cafes, transport. Most of the area nearby is pedestrian or has very little traffic and great to wander and explore.
Very friendly and welcoming reception staff, lovely historic building with lots of interesting features and corridors that are like a maze but ok once you know your way about. We like the way ancient timbers had been conserved in our quite spacious room which overlooked a courtyard at the back. Bit of a noisy neighbour but with windows closed, that was not a problem as well insulated. However, no air con so on warm nights windows do need to be open. Great choices for breakfast which is served in the vaulted ancient cellars, very atmospheric. Location is perfect for shops restaurants and transport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Beautiful, historic hotel near tourist district.

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Location, historic atmosphere, breakfast.
Cons: Nothing. Perfect the way it is.
Location: Close to most of the tourist sites.
I just returned home from a month long European vacation. This was my favorite hotel of the trip. Beautiful modern bathroom, great view overlooking the street, and a wonderful huge Scandinavian breakfast. Front desk was very friendly and helpful also. Only stays one night, as we were on a country to country whirlwind tour, but I would have loved to stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2016
Staff very knowledgeable and helpful; great location; lovely room in a beautiful hotel; excellent breakfast in historic cellar; great place for solo female traveler; so much history in this building with archive info displayed on walls- it's like a museum!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria UK

Staff very helpful and friendly

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: A little dated in areas
Location: Fantastic location 2 min walk from central station
Breakfast very good and great selection of foods. Will be back in August to my selected room.