Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to be in between Malta and Gozo

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Hotel is OK but a little tired deco wise. Food was great and on the whole staff were good. Great place to be if you want to avoid huge crowds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow Scotland U K

Super Island holiday on Comino

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: After reading some of the reviews about the hotel we were not expecting it to be so good, some saying that it was too quiet or there was nothing to do
Cons: more info about the island online would be good E G Comino tower,open to public Fri Sat & Sun. Santa Marija Chapel The Hospital The Police office Etc
Location: See last entry. A visit to Victoria on Gozo and to Valletta on Malta are a must 1.50 Euro for an all day ticket on bus is great value
The minute we arrived we were greeted by our friendly taxi driver, who drove us to the jetty, where we were to get our ferry to the island. The water was very choppy but the ride was good fun. arriving at the hotel we quickly got registered in and taken to our bungalow as it was 11pm. there was a plate of sandwiches left for us as we had missed dinner. After a long day we were glad to got get to bed. Hotel staff superb couldn't have been more helpful. Food superb, plenty of choice. Hotel and bungalows were clean and comfortable. I don't often say this but I was sorry when the weeks stay was over. Loved it there, would go back again tomorrow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Great staff.
Cons: It's a bit dated.
Location: Not a lot to do but lie by the pool or beach - a perfect short break getaway.
Simple accommodation, but clean and great staff - helpful and really friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Nice hotel with its own jetty and boat.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location. Also the hotel's own boat which will take you to Gozo & Malta should you wish to visit the other islands.
Cons: The shower curtains are hung too far inside the bath and get in the way. They could do with weights or better still replacing with glass screens.
Location: Comino is a small island. with one or two historical fortifications you can visit. There are very few motor vehicles so walking is quite pleasant.
The staff in this hotel were mostly very helpful. There are plenty of them so service is quick and efficient. The decor is a bit tired but we hear it is to be refurbished soon. The rooms are of a comfortable size with high ceilings. They are all air conditioned with you own control to adjust temperature and fan speed. The view from the back rooms of the hotel is of some scrub land. But the view from the front rooms is of the bay which is delightful to wake up to. They charge extra for the front rooms. There is a diving operation nearby but it does not have a boat and seems to be quite a small operation. Shore diving round Gozo and Comino is quite good. There is also a canoe rental operation nearby which was very popular. There is no beach but you can swim from the rocks and in the hotel pool. The food is good and plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shiva from London

Nice hotel to get away from it all

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location is by the far the most attractive things about the hotel. It is well kept for the most part . Service is reliable, staff helpful.
Cons: Hotel amenities can do with an upgrade
Location: Blue Lagoon ( before 10 am ), Swim, snorkel to your heart's content Santa Marija Bay close to bungalows Santa Maria Towers Day trip to Gozo
Good location, close to the beach and way from the hustle and bustle of a city side location for those wanting peace and quiet. Has three sandy beaches, one private and the other 2 public one of them being the Blue lagoon. If you get there early ( before 9:30 am in summer) you can have the swim in the lagoon all by yourself- Bliss. worth staying at the hotel for. Close to areas for snorkeling and for a nice walk around the island. There are several ferry services to Malta and to Gozo and staff ready to arrange day trips should you require. Also was concerned about getting to and from the island when I booked the trip but an email sent with flight details before going was all that needed to arrange transfers. Separate cost was incurred for this but all arranged efficiently. Stayed in a bungalow, half board. place is well kept but is showing some wear and tear. Breakfast and dinner are plentiful and satisfying, with enough to chose from. Dinner was in the Main hotel which is a lovely 10 minute walk along a coastal path, or there was the option to have a minivan transfer to the main hotel. Day could be spent on the beach, in the pool, snorkeling , exploring the island and its various structures, cliffs and it highest point. For variety, take a day trip to Gozo or Malta or visit the dive centre for some inspiration. A good location if you want to visit Malta and actually relax. Camera, swim trunks, snorkeling equipment, sunscreen a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cila from beccles uk

good hotel at seafront

Posted Jun 17, 2014
it was my first trip to Comino Hotel and I cannot wait to go back but not because if the hotel but the island itself. the hotel in total about three star not four as it says. I'm an easygoing person and my partner has been there once so I knew what to wait. if you want luxury and staff all around you don't go there. the facilities of hotel is a bit poor. there's nothing to do there but it's good if you want a quiet relaxing holiday. the hotel is reasonably cheap and the staff is quite friendly and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by richard from Bradford uk

Lovely hotel

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: I like such an old style hotel
Location: Location is best in Malta..just 5 min from blue lagoon. Or 2 0 seconds from sandy bay
In two weeks I booked for my holidays 4 hotels in Malta..and this one was the best ,still missing my best days in this hotel. Interior like in 70s ,and I like it. I came for holidays to have a great time ,walk all around and not sitting in room and waiting my breakfast or dinner.not a single complain cannot say about this hotel. Staff was brilliant,even help to me with ryanair ticket copies,or jug kettle. 10/10
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Loved it and made alto of new friends

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Everything was great except our driver didn't pick us up on arrival. But taxis were there and made everything was worked out. Already planning next year visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Legal Author from Cambridge

A real gem

Posted Aug 19, 2012
Pros: Private beach, hardly used with excellent swimming (and diving).
Cons: Building and customer service has a Soviet feel.
Location: Absolutely outstanding. No other hotel or development of any sort on the Island. Amazing view of the harbour.
After a short struggle to get to the hotel (it is on an island and ferries don't run after 6.30pm unless you've chartered your own for 60 euros in advance) we were very impressed. The hotel is essentially the only large modern building on the entire island. It manages to be both quiet and exclusive compared to all the other hotels in Malta and Gozo without the price tag. It has a large deep salt water swimming pool and two private beaches which have excellent swimming and were sparsely occupied. Go for half board as a minimum as there is no where else to eat in the evening. The buffet meals are generous if uninspiring - if you are desperate you can order a separate meal from the bar but we always managed to find something to eat. The rooms were plain but very clean, well appointed and comfortable with full air con. Each room has a balcony - the rear rooms look over the garden and have a view of the sunset, the front have a superb view of the bay, however if you prefer quiet evenings take the rear rooms to escape the Elvis impersonator. The hotel is getting a bit old - it has a 70's feel with a curiously communist style admin system (no cash at the bar you have to get a cash card from reception). The staff were helpful and efficient without an excess of warmth. It would be possible to spend your whole holiday at the hotel and never leave the island and spend hardly any money. One of the few hotels I've wanted to go back to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Ashington, england

The beauty and peace of Comino

Posted May 30, 2012
Pros: The food, the pools and the way they handle payments
Cons: The room lighting in bungalow was dim the only TV channel in English was Sky News which because of its constantly repeating theme tune drives you mad
Location: The location is just perfect it's your own little desert island and the walks are brilliant and there are lots of cute lizards to watch
It was a lovely stay food was excellent with plenty of choice. The staff could not have been friendlier. I slipped on the deck of the boat that brought us to Comino and I broke two ribs they arranged a taxi and I was treated at the main hospital on Gozo the doctors at the hospital where very good and as I had brought my European health card there was no charge for treatment. There are two private beaches next to the hotel which are excellent for swimming and snorkelling we saw lots of fish while snorkelling. We stayed in the bungalows about two or three kilometres from the hotel. It to had a lovely beach for swimming though this was public. The hotel boat to Gozo and Malta can be used as often as you like for a single five euro charge. The best place we went to was Popeye Village where actors play the part of the cartoon characters and it great fun.