Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bradford, Yorkshire

Nostalgic hotel.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Great reception, lovely staff who cannot help enough and good food. Lots of local dishes, good selection of fish dishes and always a warm and welcome
Cons: TV reception poor. Not watching much TV but trying to catch up on news was difficult.
Location: Great location across from the beach within east walking distance of Cafes and restaurants. Easy bus access to Valetta and other parts of the island.
Some would say old fashioned but it really appeals to us. Warm welcome and although a bit dated it continues many of the best traditions of the past. Now with Wi-Fi they are catching up but not spoiling the overall atmosphere of the hotel. Not for the young party types. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tiverton. Devon. UK.

Great Hotel right on sea front great food.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Really enjoyed stay had plenty of food to choose from.Hotel near bus stop if needed had good weather for the week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel & good value for money in Sliema

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Good location, nice room, friendly staff, good breakfast.
Cons: The decoration is a bit outdated, especially in the reception, bar and dining room, so it would be nice to see it spruced up a bit.
Location: Right at the seafront in Sliema, good location to walk to Sliema ferries as well as Balluta bay, St Julian's and Spinola Bay for bars and restaurants.
Good hotel in Sliema, nice friendly staff and comfortable room. Good breakfast choices, but dinner buffet could be better. Reasonably priced. Right at the seafront in Sliema, good location to walk to Sliema ferries as well as Balluta bay and St Julian's and Spinola Bay. Also nice location for going for a nice morning run along the seafront.
4 out of 5
by Denis

Conveniently placed hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Handy enough location for a short stay. Located mid-way between Sliema and St Julians, both are in easy walking distance for shops, nightlife etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sevenoaks kent uk

love this hotel.ideal base for 2 resorts bus stops

Posted Feb 7, 2017
stayed here 3 times now. friendly staff.breakfast great choice.
3 out of 5
by Valerie

A Mixed Bag

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
The Diplomat is a real mixed bag and I wouldn't call it a 4 star, especially when entering you find a decent reception area but as soon as you get into the elevator to your room it does way down. The hallways were in very bad shape and even though it's a no smoking hotel, people smoke on their balconies which allows the smoke to enter the hallways. The breakfast is the main reason I believe most people stay once beyond the affordable price. It is a buffet that will meet anyone's needs and the gal, the little sweetie who buzzes about making sure everyone is happy, makes it inviting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north yorks u k

Great hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2017
From start to finish a great hotel. Nothing is too much trouble.,the small lady in the restaurant was fantastic
4 out of 5
by Magdalena

I would choose this hotel again

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
I arrived late (after 10pm) in the worst weather one could imagine - blinded by the heavy rain, I run to the closest door I could spot which turned out not to be the main entrance but the side door next to the bar, which opens up during the day to serve the tables in front of the hotel. Regardless, bartender was very helpful, he unlocked the door to let me in and took my luggage all the way to the reception desk. Check in was smooth and quick so after a few minutes I was enjoying a hot bath. Room itself was clean and warm (air con/heating was easy to operate and worked well), with complimentary bottle of water and a kettle to make your own cup of tea/coffee. The only strange thing was the room service knocking to my door just before 8am - never had it so early before! Hotel staff was friendly and helpful throughout my whole stay, buffet breakfast was well stocked and constantly filled in which was a nice surprise. Unlimited tasty espresso was a great addition!
4 out of 5
by Christine

Good base for exploring

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great break for Christmas with parents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: position-on seafront , food & quality entertainment
Cons: more entertainment provided in the pub
Would stay here again , excellent location, food good & quality entertainment. Overall very good