Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick break in the sun

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Location price
Cons: Get rid of mozzies!
Great deal with very helpful reception staff. Hotel close to everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Basic clean friendly hotel value for money nice

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Quite location lovely friendly staff all of them
Cons: Air conditioning
Nice quite hotel basic facilities but clean tidy everyday nothing to much trouble all staff really helpful and very nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

2.5 Star Hotel with Convenient Beach Access

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Europa Hotel was quite pricey for the quality of the room that was offered to us. It had an overhead fan with a comfortable bed and clean bathroom. Our room smelled like strong cleaning products upon our arrival but the staff offered us a better room. The staff were friendly, but the overall experience was plain. We loved how close we were to beach access and a beach club, though. I would say choosing the ocean view room is the only way to go to make it more worthwhile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Ottawa

comfortable hotel, very well located

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Europa hotel is a comfortable, 3 star hotel located right in front of the beach and in an area with lots of restaurants. The bus stop to Valette is right in front of the hotel (about 20 min ride). I also appreciated the possibility of purchasing tours (hop on-hop off/ excusions) directly in the hotel lobby. The lady selling the tours was very nice and provided useful info. The hotel is clean, has pleasant staff (except on the evening of our arrival, the night manager was not very pleasant). The breakfast buffet is well stocked and varied (fruits, yogurts, cakes, cheese, cold cuts, juices, etc...) The only negative: there was NO A/C in my room, only a dusty fan to cool the room...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Ok, for stop over, not long term.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: View
Cons: Door locks, safe, repairs are poorly done, sheets and bedding need to desperately improve. Staff and attitude. We did not get our wake up calls, staff
Location: Great location, good restaurants in the area. Great beach for strong swimmers across from the hotel.
Older hotel with poor renovations. Locks are easily opened if one wanted to. Cleanliness was ok. No mattress pads, sheets insufficient to cover beds. Staff at check in were good, and actually helped check us in early due to illness. Other staff were rude and not helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Location is good, beach front. The building is old

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Remodel the bathroom, change brighter color floor and modern furniture. IKEA furniture prices are reasonable
Location: Bus stop, beach
It should be grade as 2* hotel. Services were bad. 6 Euro for breakfast is over charge, coffee and slides of bread. Hotel room is not clean.... No return for any reason
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic but clean.

Posted Jun 3, 2016
When I checked in I was told I was staying in another hotel 10 mins away. Not too pleased -the room in the other hotel was tiny. The room in the Europa was v basic but clean. Had a tv but no remote. Asked to pay for wifi in your room. Handy for Sliema centre, St Julien and main bus routes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Staff were pleasant and location is good
Cons: food, room amenities, proper bar. Plenty to improve
Location: Opens out to seafront and close to bus stop. Surrounding restaurants and the cafe up the road on the seafront was really nice
Whilst the location itself is very central and opens onto the seafront with several excellent places to eat and drink surrounding, the hotel is lacking. The bed was simple and room view was of a rather fetching alley, shower was leaky and you have to book an iron (don't forget the ironing board. Oh and for the love of your stomach don't eat the breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth , UK

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: clean and comfy
Cons: free wi-fi in the rooms
Location: right across the road from selima beach . Bus stops 100 meters in each direction from the front door and the Valletta ferries only a mile away .
Cheap and cheerful hotel literally across the road from the beach . Staff were polite and helpful and the hotel was fine . We paid for an economy room and thats what we got , comfy bed and on suit toilet / shower . We never intended to live in the room only sleep in it so was fine . Nowadays I would expect wi-fi to be provided and not as a pay for extra .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, Minnesota

Nice hotel and location

Posted Mar 15, 2016
This was a nice hotel, nothing extravagant but worth the price. The location is great.