Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely view of valletta

Posted May 12, 2017
Nice staff, location to ferry crossing and bus stop good. Shame about the age of the decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic hotel

Posted May 3, 2017
Fantastic hotel, great, helpful staff, great room and great choice of lovely restaurants in the hotel. 10/10 Would love to go back and would definitely recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

The hotel was not the standard expected of 4*.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Close to Valletta ferry and has lovely view of the bay.
Cons: Restaurants need a lot of work on customer service and quality in some of them. Some work could be made for the hotel to be updated.
Location: Lots of activities in Valletta and excursions within easy access and helpful guides.
The Good - - Reception staff were very nice and helpful. - Maids were very nice and helpful as well. - The location is about 10 min walk from the ferry to Valetta. - Malta and Valletta are lovely places with lots of things to do, views and restaurants. The Bad - - Generally the hotel is a bit run down. - Rooms were not quite up to the cleanliness we would expect, with some damage in places which could be easily fixed but wasn't and had obviously been there for some time. - Staff in the restaurants were very disappointing and consistently slow (over 45 mins wait to have to physically stop a waiter to ask for dessert and then looking at you as if you had asked him to get it from Australia). A mixed bag between being nice and helpful and those that were rude and dismissive. - Quality of food at the buffet. Often with raw potatoes at breakfast and flavourless dishes at dinner as just 2 examples. We were on half board (dinner and breakfast included) and ended up eating out for dinner towards the end of our holiday after being consistently disappointed by restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bulbaria

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This hotel has good locations near restaurants, shops and few minutes from bus stops and ferry boat to Valletta. The room was clean and bathroom are good. Our room had a garden view .The staff is friendly and really helpful. The hotel has spa facilities and the pools are good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW England

Lovely hotel and facilities. Handy for transport.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities, cleanliness, room size, breakfast choice.
Cons: Generally only one on the desk. The hotel could not tell us which bus to use or what the times were. Only one of the three coffee machines worked.
Location: Really good for transport, lovely view across the harbour. Plenty of restaurants. Quiet area with a nice safe feeling.
Lovely hotel with superb location and facilities. Nice and quiet but with plenty of choice for evening meals. Spacious and clean rooms. This could so easily be a superb hotel at minimum cost. The available desk staff numbers are usually down to one, who have no knowledge about which local buses go where and at what times. Resulting in an answer of 'I don't know' when asked what should be a simple question/answer. The other niggle is the breakfast area has three coffee machines but only one worked all week. At one point it needed refilling resulting in a sudden large queue. How difficult is this to solve? Still our overall feeling was very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Poor quality bedding, poor staff coordination

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The elevator.
Cons: Fire the front desk personnel or at least train them on CUSTOMER SERVICE. No experience is not an excuse for poor service. Train them!
Location: Good location. Lots of ways to spend your money since it is right on the waterfront.
Problems with the bedding - one of the mattresses should have been condemned! It was that bad. Staff was not attentive and the cab I ordered, and PRE-PAID ended up carrying the wrong party to the airport. It was a "cluster" for sure. All three pools were in a "maintenance" state and I was informed that no swimming was permitted! They should have reduced the room price. Had an electrical issue as well, but they did send a technician after my second call. Oddly enough, they took NO ACTION after my first request. I waited nearly 15 minutes and called the front desk again and was told by the SAME PERSON that he was just about to call maintenance right then (15 minutes LATER!!! -- thank God I called him a second time or I would still be waiting for the tech). This is a place I will not recommend to ANYONE. Want a good night's rest at a decent price? shop around but do not select this place. I have no confidence in them whatsoever.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything was complicated

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Sascha on reception, she was the only member of staff that seemed interested, or willing to help
Cons: Redecorating, and some maintenance
Location: Plenty going on in the area, but be prepared or walk
Firstly, don't confuse the Fortina, with the Fortina spa as we did. But if you do, I hope you are lucky enough to have the receptionist called Sascha in the Fortina to help you out. We accidently booked the Fortina instead of the Fortina spa, we wanted to use the spa and were told we would have to pay an extra €10 each per use. Fortunately we managed to upgrade, and moved from a really small room to a larger, much more comfortable room for just €25. The Fortina spa is disappointing for 5*, everything is looking tired, and shabby. We were worried that the sinking the bathroom was about to fall off the wall. The spa is really scruffy, and cold, the jacuzzi is freezing. You can buy a ticket for the carpark for only €5 but can only buy it in the spa. The spa was closed at 7am when we needed to get our car from the car park. Everything seemed a bit complicated, and the hotel is a long walk from any decent bars, and shops etc. there's a lot of noise from the Point shopping centre which the hotel is next door to. I think for the price there's a lot nicer hotels to stay in in Sliema
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

This is a good value choice. We liked it.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Ok so a four star rating is debatable. However we thought the hotel was excellent
3 out of 5
by Louis

Expected more from a 4 start hotel.

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean and heated well, but very small. Excellent see view.Food was good. They promised a harbor cruise which they never gave us. WiFi was free but had to ask 3 times at the reception for the password. No parking facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: the staff spacious rooms
Cons: Variety of food in room service
The hotel is built in a great location at the heart of sliemma. They have a friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were convenient space. the food wasn't that great but your still surrounded by variant restaurants around you. In my opinion, the hotel gives you the right service for the right amount of money.