Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: Right on the harbour, perfect location for transport- buses and boats and on the doorstep of the biggest shopping centre on the island.
Lovely hotel, staff nice and friendly. The room was nice and clean, spacious enough for the two of us- upon losing the electricity in the room a member of staff was up immediately and fixed the problem straight away. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent with a brilliant selection- which was made clear what we could pick from as we were staying half board- only improvement here would be to offer complimentary bottled water for dinner as drinks were not included (apart from at breakfast). Only other point would be to have stronger wifi as the signal kept dropping when in the bedroom however, nothing to ruin a lovely stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Old and dated hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Hotel has a great view and the staff were quite helpful and nice. Hotel is dated and old and needs to be upgraded. Shower was useless. Breakfast was terrible. Will not stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Highly reccommend

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Close to everything you need, close to bus terminals to everywhere.
Cons: No bad points to this hotel.
Location: Close to travel amenities and bars and restaurants.
Everything was excellent, from the harbour view to the food was fanatastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Great location fantastic hotel.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Lovely hotel nice location it was just full of older people. The pool was like a scene from cocoon. Very quiet but I guess some people like that. Room and facilities were first class and the beach club was by far the best you could get.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Massively disappointing. Awful hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Nothing, apart from the courteous staff
Cons: Too long to list. The Negresco, Nice and Carlton, Cannes are five star hotels - the Fortina Spa Resort is not to this standard
Location: Malta is lovely, but could never recommend this hotel
This hotel is definitely not five star quality - by European standards Breakfast was terribly monotonous and of relatively poor quality It took a mere three requests to effect a room change (albeit the Manager - offered the opportunity of paying more - for a less disagreeable room). Now would think twice about paying up front for a hotel/holiday via Expedia I would think the management/ownership of this hotel are at fault, and whichever organizational standards body accredits a five star hotel The only plus point was the staff, some of whom were courteous and excellent
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: If the rate at this hotel was half the price it would be acceptable but for a five star property l liked nothing about this hotel.
Cons: Staff can be more friendly. in a "five star" hotel you expect staff to acknowledge you if they pass you in hallways
Location: Shopping mall was adjacent and most places can be reached quickly by cab.
Rooms in my opinion for the price need updated and be freed of dust. My TV never worked in three despite 4 requests. Basic wifi did not work so i had to spend 7.50 euro for wifi and 2.50 euro for each additional device per night. Last night of stay until up to check out no water in the hotel. At a rate of over 600 euros a night this was not the Four Seasons by far. My Friends stayed at the Hilton, and the next time i would stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Not up to 5 * standard more like 4* plus

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Staff location food
Cons: Money needs to be spent on decor and furniture. Also restaurants need to be taken back to the Hotel and not franchised out hard to book at times.
Location: Valetta,Sliema love the whole Island plenty of History, Maltese people are wonderful
Love the hotel but needs some money spending on it, towels rough and very thin not what you would expect at a 5*. Staff brilliant and food fantastic just needs tlc on rooms and hotel in general.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2014
I'm really disappointed with the service i have received in this hotel. Based on our communication you gave me the impression that you made me a priority for a courtesy upgrade if the hotel had rooms available. Upon arrival it was said that rooms were available but they will not upgrade me. Therefore i took the garden view and then realised the bed in the room is two single beds pushed together so i asked to speak to the manager. After having to wait 20 minutes for the manager he stated that the whole hotel has no double bed facilities not even a spa bedroom one and that they are all two single beds zipped together. He refused to change my room that night and said for me to come in the morning to request for a free upgrade to a spa and that he will communicate this to his team. I went in the morning and as expected they refused me again. How can you have a manager that lies to its guest? I am absolutely disgusted. Furthermore i told the staff member at reception i am not bothered about a spa bedroom as long as i can get a double bed and she was very helpful and allocated me another room with a double bed. So therefore it looks like a double bed within the hotel does exist. Therefore another example of the manager lying. I called reception several times needing help to connect to wifi i asked for a room service menu waited 40minutes and then called again in which they sent someone from housekeeping who brought me a breakfast menu. I called at 6pm why would i want a breakfast m
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gozo

Centrally located hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Beautiful hotel, centrally located, close to shops and within walking distance from all amenities. Amazing spa, good food, great staff,,, will come back for another stay for sure!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hartlepool uk

Nice view from hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014