Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

our trip to malta

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: we liked the location,was easy to walk about and close to the bus stops.
Cons: didnt like how curtains were pulled all around the bar also i would advise anybody who is a light sleeper to book a sea view to noisy from roadside.
Location: we werent impressed to much with location and wouldnt return
the hotel was clean tidy and the staff were very nice and friendly,the beds were reasonably comfortable and the shower and toilet facilities were clean and fresh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Good location near main square over looking the sea located on bus routes
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

lovely location

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: mainly the location, but particularly the great restaurant below it, il kajjit
Cons: friendliness of reception
Location: quiet, right next to the sea, good diving centres in the town.
lovely to be right next to the sea in a quiet part of town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value, no complaints.

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
This is an adequate hotel with good facilities although it is a bit dated. The sea views are it's selling point and it is set in a quiet area while being a pleasant stroll away from the busy town centre. Breakfast had an ample selection of hot and old items. The staff we met were all very friendly and helpful. We got great value for money.
3 out of 5
by Aidan from London

Cheap but okay

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
For the price, this hotel is perfectly adequate. Linen and towels are quite rough, breakfast was buffet style but very low quality. Staff are cheerful and polite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Reception matters

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Welcome on arrival excellent (receptionist John), less happy with subsequent staff on reception. Fridge/cooler wouldnt keep milk fresh for more than 24 hours. Breakfast drinks awful, tea & coffee horrid. Very off opening hours for pool bar. All in all however, good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex uk.

Lovely hotel with very friendly & helpful staff

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Clean rooms, nice pool area/bar, close to main square, tours can be booked via reception, Easy access to buses. Would reccomend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South England

Nice Hotel , Shame about the Breakfast

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Location and friendliness
Cons: No smoking on the balconies as we are non smokers and cigarette smoke was blown in to our room from our neighbours.
Location: As above
A bit of a let down about half board being changed to b/b and only finding out about it when we were booking in! However, we enjoyed the evening walks for our dinner in the end. Local buses very good and not expensive so we were able to do a couple of visits independently. The Hotel is in a good position as we could either walk towards Bugibba, the lively area or towards Xemxija which was quieter and we enjoyed walking the Heritage Trail here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the harbour

Posted Jul 9, 2015
A. Good hotel right on the harbour and next to the St Paul & the Shipwreck Church. Good pool facilities- saltwater so you can't sink great as a confidence boost & young children. Good basic continental breakfast & buffet hotbreakfast( slightly strange one morning when fish shapes on offer). The room was good &I enjoyed the wet room bathroom & it was. Kept very clean. The only major defect was that there was only one small working lift that had a mind of its own. It could only take 2 people with luggage at a time & the lift always had floor 5 lit so it would always go up before coming down. This made checking out at breakfast difficult. The staff were excellant & very helpful. There are 2 restaurants across the road & another attached to the hotel but the promenade is only 5 minutes walk away with plenty of eateries. The bus stop for Buggibba is next to the hotel. I would recommend the hotel but it is more a 3 star room with 4 star staff & pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

A good basic hotel in very good seafront position

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Great sea views from higher front rooms. Very good helpful staff. Overall condition of hotel good with fair size basic rooms and tiled bathroom.
Cons: More comfortable beds. Shelf space in bathroom is inadequate. Breakfasts quality and choice need serious improvement urgently. Both lifts to work.
Stayed at The Gillieru with 2 other couples and elderly friend for whom it was chosen for its position and accessibility. Check in was very quick and straight forward and hotel foyer and communal areas appeared attractive and clean. The sea view rooms were basic, old fashioned but clean with tiled wet room style shower only bathrooms. Pool and deck areas are well kept but loungers need updating and access to pool towels should be easier. Over all a reasonable basic hotel with very helpful staff except for the breakfasts which are simply appalling and are unworthy even of this class of hotel. The choice is minimal, the quality of food very poor and the juices, coffee, preserves must be the cheapest possible. The hot buffet terrines are unmarked but must be served by a waitress so begins the pantomime of lifting every lid to see the contents of each for every customer causing a queue preventing anyone else getting to the coffee or the archaic toast machine. The management, whom we never saw, should try having breakfast in the hotel one morning they would soon see that it is simply not good enough. We were all agreed that given the Gillieru's outstanding position it deserves to be so much better and with a little updating and a total rethink of its breakfasts it could justify the 4 stars.