Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Self catering flat with no shop not near Victoria

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The flat was spaceous, so big the remote control would not work from the couch to the TV. We were adopted by a lizard which visited at breakfast time
Cons: Warn people without hire cars not to arrive on Sunday, or to stock up with food in the taxi on the way.
Location: The location is way out in a picturesque tiny hamlet, within sight of the distant sea . The lighthouse is the only thing within walking distance.
We were driven to our flat in a booked taxi, but the driver spoke no English and could not understand our question about pick-up time for the flight back. it was a Sunday afternoon, the complex office was closed, the flat key was in the door. We looked around for lunch. There was no shop, no bar and no restaurant in the complex. We looked around the hamlet of Fannel for food, no luck, we walked three quarters of a mile in extreme heat to the village of Gahasri, shop "7 Day Opening" was shut. We walked back and swam in the wonderful pool, and returned to the village, shop still shut. Then we saw a bus stop and took a delightful bus into Victoria, which has restaurants. From then on we took the bus every day, into Victoria, and out to various beaches and coves, shopping in Victoria on the way home. On Monday we went into the office and said what had happened, and they found it amusing that anyone should come to Fannel without a hire car. We asked them to phone the taxi company to find out our departure time on Sunday, and each day a different person said he would call the firm and leave us a note in the room, but it didn't happen. By Friday we were frantic, as the office staff said to guess the time working back from to aircraft departure time. Finally I had to stand and wait until someone phoned and gave us the date! Gozo is a beautiful island with much to see, it would have helped if there had been some literature in the flat giving shop opening and bus times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

Gorgeous farmhouse villa

Posted Aug 23, 2015
The villa exceeded our expectations. Was clean and fully equipped for self catering. The pool and pool area was lovely and clean.. And in a lovely quiet part of Gozo... We had a great holiday here and plan to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely apartments , nice location .

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the pool , self catering and the cleanliness. The staff were really helpful and cheerful. The bus stop nearby.
Cons: The shower and the temperature of the water ( too hot !) could be improved.Complimentary drinking water provided in the room on arrival would be good.
Location: Good restaurants and bars short distance away.The azure window and craft village are close . Everything is accessible with a car or local bus service.
Very chilled ,relaxed and friendly. A good place to de - stress and unwind. Lovely atmosphere .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A very quiet relaxing holiday

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The pool the grounds and how quiet it is
Cons: The kitchen needs to have more cooking utensils and better pans to be able to cook well.
Location: It was in a rural location so very peaceful and relaxing. There is a shop in walking distance but it is best if you have a hire car
Overall the room was really spacious and clean, the kitchen could have been better equipped though. The pool and other grounds were really well kept . We would come again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fay from London

Great place for a relaxing and peaceful holiday

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: The peace and quite, the views, the general atmosphere, the comfort
Cons: Cleanliness - it was very disappointing
Location: Location was great as you were away from the hassle and bustle of Victoria but only 5'-10' drive to it.
We stayed at Villagg Tal Fanal North-West of Victoria. The whole complex was truly a place of character but may I add mock - it has been build in the old traditional look with nice features. The views were of fields, a lovely church and a lighthouse in the distance. It was so quite and peaceful - the perfect place to leave the stresses of everyday life behind. The apartment was spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen was fully fitted with oven, hob, microwave, kettle, big fridge and toaster. There were even continental plugs. All the guests were friendly and respectful to each other and there were times where you could hear nothing apart from the church bells, which rung at random times! The cleanliness of the room had a lot to be desired. If the apartment wasn't so comfortable and lovely otherwise we would have a real problem. If you are prepared to do a bit of cleaning upon arrival then it should fine. The pool was clean, which was a great surprise. There is a huge underground parking, which is free. Great bonus for us as we had a car, something I would strongly recommend as the buses do not come often but they do go everywhere on the island. I read some reviews complaining about no reception or anyone present upon arrival. Well, this is clearly stated on the hotel description on Expedia and also on the booking confirmation. I had to call the Head Office and my call was answered promptly and was given the assistance requested. I would strongly recommend!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Very basic, more like a two star, saw staff once, during stay, rest of time no one at reception. Overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath

Adequate & quiet base for exploring Gozo

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Pros: Quiet; welcome food pack
Cons: Lacking some maintenance; no contact with management; need to carry drinking water from shop 1 km away
Location: In a small & quiet village. Reliable bus every hour to Victoria/Rabat.
Self catering accommodation was cheap, spacious and best of all - quiet (first two weeks of October). Furniture was a bit uncomfortable (esp. settee). Bed linen & towels OK but not changed in two weeks. Cushion covers were a bit greasy. Bedroom fan did not work properly. Having said all this it was adequate for us and OK considering the cheap price - our holiday out and about in Gozo was very good using the accommodation mostly as a base.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ellie from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK

Lovely place to relax

Posted Sep 9, 2012
Beautiful, quiet, rural setting, apartment (for two) was huge and well equipped. Lovely pool with plenty of loungers and sunshades. Sheets and towels were not changed in the week we were there - not good! Local bus service really handy and made the whole island accessible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wrexham

A fabulous property, full of character!

Posted Aug 18, 2010
I was initially a little concerned about booking a property "unseen" but certainly need not have worried. We stayed in Zebbug in a property called Dar-tal-Musbeih which was everyone of it's 3 stars and probably more. Certainly a House of Character - stone walls, beautiful tiled floors, 3 large bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, and a plenty big enough, but not huge, private pool. We even had cable TV and a washing machine! We (2 adults, 2 children) had plenty of space - so much so that we didn't even use the lovely upstairs bedroom, ensuite and balconies because my rubbish children got scared and would only sleep together in one room and that had to be next to us! We hired a jeep and "enjoyed" the Gozitan roads and were lucky enough to be there for the Festa of Santa Marija so were treated to singing, bands, processions and fireworks all just 10 minutes away from the property by car! The only downside to our holiday was that, unless we wanted pizza from the local extremely good pizzeria in Zebugg it was necessary to drive to restaurants ... but that's not much of a downside (especially when I celebrated a significant birthday at the Ta Frenc restaurant, which, if you can afford it, is an extremely special evening). We had such a lovely holiday I'm tempted to book now for next year! Just one small suggestion - organise a starter pack of food. We arrived at 7pm on a Friday evening and it never occured to us that we'd have no food or drink! Fortunately the village shop opened early!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Bella struttura. Silenziosa e isolata. Stanze ampie e luminose. Piscina pulita e ben tenuta. Mancanza di assistenza di personale (ma non ne abbiamo sentito il bisogno)