Ratings based on 1,992 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

not 5 star but nice

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Room. View, pool area.
Cons: Staff, and lifts
Location: Valletta and most decent restaurants were a good 20 minute walk. We visited fort st Elmo, and had some lovely meals in the town. We also visited Mdina
Nice hotel, we liked the room, bathroom was big with a separate shower and bath and we had a nice view of the marina. Didn't think the staff were particularly helpful or friendly anywhere in the hotel except round the pool, they were very pleasant. We liked the pool area, but the bars closed early (5 o'clock) the breakfast was nice. Quite a walk into town but we were ok about that. Lifts are a challenge, they don't seem to work properly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frinton, Essex UK

Best Hotel in Valletta

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Sea view was gorgeous, well worth the money
Cons: Steps to leave the hotel are 89 in total, bad on the calves!
Location: Valletta very close, we went in for food twice a day as the hotel food was very expensive!
Best 5 * hotel in Valletta, apart from the steps into and out of the hotel! We went to another hotel to 'look' and we definitely picked the best hotel. Get a 'sea view' well worth the money, otherwise your looking over the entrance to the hotel, pick a 'sea view' and your looking over the pool and Marsamxett Harbour, beautiful ( with a balcony) We went on the bus, bus station nearby and very easy to read, any journey is €1.50 and lasts for 2 hours, but we went to Marsaxlokk Bay, very lovely with a harbour, market n boats. Another day we went to Mdina, all for €6 for both of us. We got the bus trip (always go on the Malta bus tours) they start earlier and finish later, we only had time to go round once and nip for something to eat! There are 89 steps out of the hotel, hard on the calves for first 4 days, slope on road just as bad! Did not go to Gozo, didn't have time xx No toast, lost weight! The food here is either capers, spinach, dates or cheese! Overall loved it, but won't be returning as seen one building, seen it all x Don't go to St Juliens unless your young and love the nightlife! St Johns Co Cathedral was €10 EACH for entry, so didn't bother, told very ornate inside, that's probably what you entry pays for! Go when there's a carnival, though NOT in July n August! Xx
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxurious hotel for a comfortable holiday

Posted May 19, 2017
Located down a steep hill with lots of steps to climb to get into town so consider this prior to booking. Mixture of business and holiday clientele so rather strange when the shorts and flip flop brigade are surrounded by the suits!! Staff excellent and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Busy hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Hotel in need of updating and renewal it looks and felt very tired. Bathroom shower almost impossible to get into, the whole thing so badly designed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Used the hotel for a mix of business trip and a few days holiday. Great view across the bay from the public areas. Excellent staff and service. Not quite international standard for 5* but would highly recommend the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockport UK.

Hotel With Steps.

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Not a lot, won't be using again
Cons: Mention of the 80 or more steps from hotel to the busy main road along with the fact that EU delegates will be using the hotel in the Hotel write up.
Location: Located on a hillside just outside the City walls and close to the bus station where you can get a bus to most parts of the island quite cheaply.
Had to wait until 3pm to get in room even after checking in at 1130. Then room was overlooking a dirty weed covered wall. Eventually we were reluctantly moved to another room on floor 10 overlooking entrance. The hotel has over 80 steps leading up to a busy road to get to Valetta town centre, not mentioned in the hotel write-up. So if one has difficulty climbing steps/stairs or disabled this hotel is not for you. There is a courtesy car at 10am and 6pm to the town but it leaves at 6 15pm back to the hotel, or they will order a taxi for you at your expense. As Malta has the EU presidency this Hotel is one catering for EU delegates and entourages which require EU cars drivers bodyguards and local police escorts. On one afternoon there were over 40 cars plus the police escorts and buses for the EU staff going to a meeting/function thus blocking the entrance/exit to hotel for those with their own cars or taxis, so Hotel lobby, public areas and entrance can get very busy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Great Spring break

Posted May 1, 2017
Used the hotel for a mix of business trip and a few days holiday. Very convenient for valetta and spectacular view across the bay from the public areas. Excellent staff and service. Not quite international standard for 5* but would highly recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern England.

Great location but a steep climb to Valetta.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Location: Close to Valetta town centre. Plenty to do and close to the bus station and open-top tour busses. The Harbour cruise is a must.
Stayed here before and returned - Not quite as good as last year - some cost savings noticeable such as I heard a few people saying the breakfast was not to the previous years standards and for some reason the room pillows has been exchanged for ultra soft - we had 2 each and it's like you're still lying flat. Our daughter had to put a rolled up towel underneath to get some solidity. Small issues though and generally I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Spent 5 nights here while staying in Malta. Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast buffet one of the best I've come across. Lovely bar with live music most nights and nice cocktails. Staff were very friendly - special thanks to Sameh at the concierge desk who managed to book us tickets to a classical music concert we really wanted to go to. Will definitely stay here again when next in Malta!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We have yet again, had a lovely stay at the Excelsior. Best hotel in Malta.