Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Excellent facilities - cinema, gym, health spa. and the food caters for all tastes.
Location: Hotel located above Mgarr harbour so access to the mainland extremely easy.Lots of local restaurants situated on the harbour & capital 10 minute drive
Excellent hotel, with great amenities, very friendly staff and great food. Hotel is located on the hill overlooking the port of Mgarr so is easy to catch the ferry to the mainland should you wish. The hotel offers a free mini bus service to Victoris, the capital of Gozo which is useful, however should you not wish to use this service, public transport is very reliable. The hotel itself is clean and the staff very friendly and are always on hand if assistance is required. The food is extremely good and caters for all tastes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Talbott, United States of America

Very nice hotel close to the ferry.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Booked this for a weekend exploring the island. Might have been better located in Victoria to make bus is more convenient but it was a super nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

View

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: great views from room with a good breakfast. well located and close to other eating places
large well kept room with fantastic views. good location close to harbour and sites of the island
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oak Bay, BC

Perfect location for us

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the harbour, restaurants, and the spectacular view
Cons: The quality of breakfast perhaps, and the shower
Location: Choose from the number of restaurants to eat along the harbour and near the hotel up the hill. Stroll along the harbour, climb the hills nearby, swim
Grand Hotel Malta in Gozo is very close to the ferry. Once you made your exit look up and there it is, We drag our luggage up the hill (good for our heart😉). It is also perfect for catching the bus everywhere, the bus schedules is timed with the ferry. And last but not the least the numerous restaurants dotting the harbour. From T'Mun (gourmet food), Ta Tonna (simply delicious, fast service). Oh must not forget always get a room with the harbour/sea view, totally worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent family hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Location, views, room, breakfast, helpful staff, price, pool, courtesy buses to beach and Victoria - everything!
Location: Overlooking the harbour, walk to old part of village, plenty of restaurants and bars down the hill.
All very positive :) We enjoyed a very relaxing week.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand Hotel Gozo Review

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Food and staff is generally good. At times over the weekend bar staff were difficult to find as they were dealing with other hotel functions.
Cons: Rooms overlooking the abandoned should be offered at reduced rates and clients should be made aware of the hotel state.
Location: Nice location but can be very noisy particularly from "racers" trying out their hot cars and bikes near the hotel.
The hotel is in a state of rebuilding. Our room was good but the outlook was over a building site within the hotel that appears to have been abandoned. Nice view from the balcony but don't look down!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us your feedback of the hotel and its services during your recent stay with us. While noting your positive comments we are passing the others to the relating departments to be looked into. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

lovely hotel overlooking the harbour

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: the staff were fantastic , the views are stunning
Cons: the food during the day was great , id only say a little more choice without chips would be good
Location: loads to do if you want to go explore gozo, camino is only 10 mins boat ride away too , and malta is 20 mins boat ride .
we stayed in April , our room was clean and freshened up every day for us , the staff were fantastic , from the reception staff to the bar staff and waiters and waitresses , they all made us feel so welcome and nothing was ever too much trouble , the hotel overlooks the harbour and the view is stunning on a beautiful morning whilst having a coffee, keep an eye on the entrance to the car park if your hiring a car , the first time can seem a little hair raising , but its ok with a bit of practice ...........overall we would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel highly to all those thinking of staying in the future .......one tip I would give to anyone , if your going out for the day on a sunday , the road back to the hotel gets incredibly busy between 2pm and 10.30pm with maltise people visiting gozo and then going home , its the only day it happens but man it is manic , my tip , have a ride out in the morning , get back by noon , and then enjoy the pool ....the shops close at 1pm anyway
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by reservations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time in writing your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Convenient location next to ferry boat

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Would recommend upgrading to sea view room; great view of the harbor. Convenient location; walking distance to ferry boat and local supermarket. Very good breakfast at hotel restaurant, which is included with room. The only issue was the first night we checked in, my wife went down to the restaurant to get something light to eat and a glass of wine. The restaurant is buffet only and staff would not let her order something light, so she was charged e22. for a small dish and e8 for one glass of wine. I would recommend eating dinner at one of the great waterfront restaurants in the town of Xlendi, at a much better price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time in writing your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed the location and the great views from our hotel. With reference to your comment, we apologize for any misunderstanding which we will be looking into the matter. We do have a snack menu at the bar. We look forward in welcoming you again to our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Excellent Staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2015 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that our staff members were of great help during your stay. Hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel. Kind Regards Ramona Formosa Tabone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, England

Half board stay

Posted Oct 23, 2015
A very enjoyable break, the room was better than expected, an all round nice experience. The hotel staff were all very cheerful and very helpful and I would not rule out staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2015 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. On behalf of my team, I look forward to welcoming you once more to the Grand Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Ramona Formosa Tabone.