Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Location and View are Great.

Posted May 9, 2017
Very nice room with fabulous view of the harbour. Dining was great some nights but the buffet not as good. Housekeeping and maintenance issues not addressed. Still its one of the best hotels on Gozo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Great hotel located near ferry.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Small problems resolved quickly. Good breakfasts. Staff friendly and very helpful.Lovely room with a view of the harbour.
Cons: Non smoking areas for balconies as well as the non smoking rooms.
Location: Excellent location close to ferry. Convenient for local buses giving easy access to the capital Victoria and the rest of the Island.
In general very good experience in a hotel with good facilities. Only problems were, smoke from other guests balconies and on 7th floor therefore water off twice. During the night not so much a problem but 2nd occasion off in the morning. However when reported rectified quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Spring Break in Gozo

Posted Apr 23, 2017
top notch from welcome, breakfast, courteous, helpful, cleanliness! Great good and bar! loved every minute!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Grand Hotel not coming up to its name

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Beds and shower
Cons: General maintenance of the hotel, better customer service, and a more welcoming approach to guests rather than being made to feel an inconvenience.
Unwelcoming on arrival, staff generally rather cold. Room shabby but OK comfortable beds and good shower. The room had good views over the bay. General location good for the ferry and visiting island( Malta's public transport excellent and good value ). The pool area was not well maintained many of the tiles around it were loose and a potential hazard. Breakfast average, bar expensive. Overall not the experience I was expecting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Convenient location for getting around Gozo without a car... Local buses are frequent...,,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Comfortable hotel with great views

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The views, the peace, the breakfasts, the location.
Cons: Perhaps have a shuttle from the ferry to the hotel. We walked up with our cases. Some might find it hard. There are taxis available.
Location: Good location near the ferry and bus.Walks from the hotel itself. Lots of good restaurants nearby.Hotel organises a bus to Victoria and an island tour
We enjoyed our 5 nights in this hotel. We had a superior room with a sea view...worth the extra. The beds are comfortable. There was a shower and a bath....lots of storage space. It was quiet and clean. The breakfasts were very good....everything you could want. We ate one night in the hotel and the meal was good value. Service was excellent. Other nights we ate in Ta'Tona...really good restaurant. Would highly recommend. The swimming pool is really good...lots of sun beds. Cool at this time of year but fine. Only issue was one night the water was off in our room for an hour or so. Also when we arrived early after our flight we had to wait over 2 hours for our room. We were there before check in time but there seemed to be no urgency to get the room ready. There is a nice terrace for lunch etc at the front of the hotel. Lots of good walks from Mgarr. A really nice hotel in a very convenient location for exploring the island. Gozo is really superb. Would go back to the hotel and to Gozo.... lots to see even though it is such a small island. Bus service on the island is cheap and frequent.. no need to hire a car. We used the Sunflower walking guide...would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

My Solo Trip to Gozo.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel itself is fantastic. The bar is great fun at night filled with a variety of locals and guests. Of course the view.
Cons: The only thing I could suggest is having coffee that can be brewed in the room. If it must be instant please change the brand.
Location: The location is at the top of the hill in Mgarr. About a quarter mile from the ferry. Many fine dining and local restaurants are nearby.
I highly recommend this Hotel. My stay at the Grand Hotel Gozo was truly memorable. From the moment I checked in and was treated to a much needed glass of juice to the early morning checkout to catch the 5 a.m. ferry to Malta everything was professional and more than courteous. I was given a free upgrade to a suite without even asking and the view from the twin balconies was incredible. The view alone and nearby restaurants alone would be enough to make you return again but it is the staff that truly makes this place special. I felt I was among friends. Not just doing their jobs but truly interested in me. Taking the time for conversation and treating me with genuine kindness. I will remember many things about my trip to Malta.....but I will remember most is the Grand Hotel Gozo and the wonderful people who work there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Excellent facilities - cinema, gym, health spa. and the food caters for all tastes.
Location: Hotel located above Mgarr harbour so access to the mainland extremely easy.Lots of local restaurants situated on the harbour & capital 10 minute drive
Excellent hotel, with great amenities, very friendly staff and great food. Hotel is located on the hill overlooking the port of Mgarr so is easy to catch the ferry to the mainland should you wish. The hotel offers a free mini bus service to Victoris, the capital of Gozo which is useful, however should you not wish to use this service, public transport is very reliable. The hotel itself is clean and the staff very friendly and are always on hand if assistance is required. The food is extremely good and caters for all tastes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Talbott, United States of America

Very nice hotel close to the ferry.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Booked this for a weekend exploring the island. Might have been better located in Victoria to make bus is more convenient but it was a super nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

View

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: great views from room with a good breakfast. well located and close to other eating places
large well kept room with fantastic views. good location close to harbour and sites of the island