Ratings based on 632 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Ideal location with beautiful views

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness is very high, the staff are friendly, you're served good local fresh food and it's a brilliant location.
Cons: Possibly a Design fault: the shower water runs along the bath top onto the wooden shelf. It's an obvious ongoing problem which will only get worse.
Location: Great location with lots of eateries to choose from. Locals are proud & happy to tell you about Malta's history. Water sports are nearby.
On arrival we received a welcome drink of Kinnie. Checking in was easy and informative, staff are very pleasant and helpful. Soundproofing in rooms is exceptionally good even the busy traffic noise is drastically muted. Had no problem whatsoever sleeping as the bed and pillows are wonderful, sheets and towels are changed regularly, bedroom was cleaned to a very high standard. The pool area is such a relaxing space with fabulous views, I got some wonderful photos. Breakfast is a must, there's a great selection with specific food requests served in a few minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Great location in St. Julian

Posted May 18, 2017
The Juliani is a very comfortable hotel situated right across the street from a major public bus stop and Spinola Bay. Services and staff were excellent. There is great jazz provided Friday nights during happy hour and the lounge area, which doubles as the breakfast area in the morning, is very comfortable. We stayed for four nights during a recent trip to Malta and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south west

Mix up with room at check in.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: The lifts are a bit slow and 'bumpy'! The room needed a dressing table / mirror and another chair as only one chair in a twin room!
Location: A bit noisier than expected due to constant traffic on coast road and builders Our rooms had no sea views, streets rather an eyesore - building work
A Double room only room available at check in when a twin room was booked. Two girls who are friends sharing, we were moved to a twin room the following day, but inconvenient as couldn't unpack / settle first night. The manager was very apologetic and a genuinely nice hotel management team...we were given half board for three nights in three restaurants ( including the hotel fantastic asian fusion restaurant 'Zest') and able to have as many courses and a full choice of all of the menus. We were in a party of three and had two rooms booked, obviously the second room was perfect. Despite this, the half board deal was extended to the three of us, the cost to the hotel of these three very nice meals was over €450! A very fair and generous compensation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from south England

Nice Hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Near to bus stops and restaurants in St Julians .
Cons: Check in time
Location: Near to the facilities of the town.
The only problem was the fact that we arrived at 12:30 and had to wait until 3:00 p.m. to check in but we were able to put our cases in a secure room.Guests just need to be aware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

Comfort in a busy spot

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Huge, extremely comfortable bed!
Cons: A little more choice of lunchtime food in the Cafe Juliani
Location: Just across the road from bus stop with lots of buses. Very easy to get to places of interest. Buses can be crowded.
Great hotel, pleased we found this one. Location is good - ideal for bus travel, mixture of restaurants nearby. The inhouse restaurant served an excellent Asian buffet. Rooms are very pleasant and the housekeeping staff are not intrusive at all. The front of house staff were all very accommodating and welcoming. We arrived earlier than expected, but our room was available. Rooftop pool is clean and relaxing with great views of the bay. Very comfortable squishy sofas for lounging in the shade, with plentiful tools provided and rooftop bar service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice small hotel in central location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Pool, Staff and location
Cons: Rooms freshened up
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants, but not much else. Further north of the hotel is a bunch of bars and gentlemen clubs... but you can ignore that area.
We stayed in room 707 which was perhaps in need of a small touch up. The bathroom looked a-bit tired, as the bath looked battered and the shower wasn't great. Also the wardrobe doors were a-bit insecure. The view from our room wasn't great as it was at the back of the hotel, but not a problem as we were not there to stay in the room for long. Staff were all very, very nice and the rooftop pool was ace (if very cold as we went in April when not too hot).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The staff was very pleasant and helpful. For example I did not have adapter for electrical outlet . They lend me one at once. Also in general they were very gratius . Recommended . Vid Mississauga
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Fabulous hotel.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Fantastic
Hotel Juliani was perfect for our stay. The staff were very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The room was clean, well presented and had all the facilities we required. The location of the hotel is ideal - close to the harbour with good access to the promenade and plenty of top class restaurants within walking distance. Transport by bus was great with stops outside the hotel and efficient service. We enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend this hotel - added bonus is everybody spoke good english!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Ballin', Maltese Style!!!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: American-style buffet breakfast was two notches above what most other hotels offer. There's even a cave in the cafe area -- a historical remnant!
Cons: Those buses! Sometimes good, occasionally a pain in the arse!!! And Carnival should be promoted all over, LOUD & PROUD, like in Nice, France.
Location: Pizza fan? Make tracks for Ir-Rokna, "Malta's Oldest Pizzeria" & THE BEST!!!!!!! It's next to the tallest building in the area (easy find!)
9-night stay in February. It's a well-run hotel with good service in a happening area. About 50 restaurants within a 10-minute walk. Very comfortable bed in a soundproofed room which kept out the late-night feral cat noise overture serenading the neighborhood. A bonus was an alcove for a window affording a half-view of Spinola Bay for no extra charge. A shortage of electrical outlets in the room was remedied upon request by delivery of a power strip by hotel staff within the hour. A 7-day bus pass can be bought for $21 Euro just up the block. It's the easiest way to get around, but when the buses are full the driver often doesn't stop; such was my experience the first time I tried to venture over to Mdina. And when it's a bus route that only runs once an hour, like the Mdina bus, it can be quite frustrating. So, do your part and wave your arms to signal the driver to stop for you. Zest is good eatin' and you receive a 10% discount card for one use upon check-in. The cafe on the first floor has good late-night eats for a reasonable price. Badass Burgers down the block has a Double Big Daddy Burger one shouldn't miss! Eat it and you won't need to dine again for 2 days. Also, Ir-Rokna, Arkadia Market, and More and More Souvenirs are all within 50 meters of each other near the base of the tall tower building in Paceville (about a 10-minute walk). Those three places offer good values and are worth a visit. Enjoy a stroll along the Spinola Bay promenade as many do!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Hotel Juliani is in an excellent location...

Posted Mar 12, 2017
We would highly recommend this Hotel...our suite was lovely and a great size. Breakfast was really good.All the staff were very knowledgeable and helpful, especially IIham and Manuel.