Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Clean tidy hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast menu wide and good selection. Close to bus station with good bus connections. Lots of choice for eating out. Only slight issue lighting a bit poor in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Staff,food,cleaniless
Cons: the location of the spa
Location: excellent location and for me personally it was so close to the bus station that was so good and the transport service is excellent in malta
Lovely hotel extremly helpful and friendly staff, i had a great massage and facial in the spa,Ester was excellent and a lovely friendly lady, however i did feel perhaps the hotel should consider the location of the spa as it is supposed to be a relaxing quiet enviornment to benefit from the treatments but i personally found it very noisy from people in the swimming pool.I would certainly stay in the santana again and would most certainly reccommend it and i also have to say its the first time i have booked with expedia and i was extremly happy with the whole package and service particularly as i was travelling on my own the organisation on arrival in malta was excellent and i will definitly book through expedia.Thank you to all the staff at the santana and expedia for a wonderful holiday i had an excellent time. Anne Lambert
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Good value for the price, includes a nice breakfast, the staff are friendly, and the location is get for walking around and close to bus routes.
Cons: Rooms are a bit older, but they are fine. The biggest issue is WiFi connectivity: access to the Internet is kind of hit or miss in the rooms.
Location: The location is great to avoid all the language students in St. Julian's and Sliema. Bugibba is walkable and a bus terminal is a 2 minute walk away.
The Hotel Santana staff are quite nice and helpful. The hotel is a bit of a drive from the "hot spots", but Bugibba is a nice spot if you like a bit more "laid-back", slower pace, and a walkable community. The hotel includes a nice dining room and an even nicer cafe area where lots of visitors are regularly gathered. If you buy a unlimited 7 day bus pass, you can also walk 2 minutes to the bus terminal (and stop at one of the shops or resturants along the way) in order to drive into the Capital, make your way to the Gozo fairy, or visit one of the other cities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton.

Excellent hotel near bus station.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The pleasant atmosphere, the helpful staff, the equipment.
Cons: The TV system had very few English channels and no football BUT this was a very minor point and in no way detracted from our holiday.
Location: Very convenient for transport/restaurants and shopping. Some historic sights near by. Note that Expedia limits this box to 94 characters - why??
The hotel was very comfortable, clean and well-kept. It had a very pleasant atmosphere. It was very well-equipped and fully deserved its four star rating. The staff were exceptionally helpful and we are very grateful to them for helping us to print our boarding passes when Ryanair made a complete mess of it. The prices were very reasonable and there was a very good meal deal for dinner. The bar prices were very reasonable too. The breakfast was very good with a wide range of choice. The hotel was 5 minutes from the main Buggiba bus station and we were able to reach all parts of the island very easily. One thing we found quite amusing was that the en suite was huge compared to the size of the room. I would certainly go back to this hotel and would recommend it unreservedly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to bus station.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Cheap and cheerful,. The massage facilities are good. Had a couple and the masseur was excellent.
Cons: En-suite extractor fan needed. Floor gradient where the water gathers, shame as the standing water is beginning to damage the veneer of the new door.
Location: Aquarium nearby. Otherwise travel to see sites of interest.
Good value for money. Handy for bus station and Malta transport good. Also good if you are using this hotel as a base only, unless you like a 'Blackpool' type holiday. ie; themed British bar's etc Only downside in our room (we had upgraded to a 'comfort' one) was the constant damp smell and the water going all over the en-suite floor. This was due to no extractor fan being in-situ and the shower floor not angled enough for the water to drain away..accident waiting to happen. The room itself was pleasant and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Points for the hotel management to consider to improve: No extractor fan in the toilet /bathroom
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Room (301) was very large in fact on was side there was a three sitter sofa and plenty of room left
Hotel situated at an easy reach to the north of the island easy access for the Gozo ferry, a short stroll from the centre restaurants cafes A public car park just opposite and free of charge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close To Everything You May Need :)

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Beds Were Comfy But A Bit Low For My 6'4" Frame, You May Want To Get A Second Key Card As The Room Electric Goes Out Once Taken Out The Reader.
Cons: The Lift's Seem To Get Stuck On One Off The Floors With The Doors Open But Not Going Anywhere Which Can Be A Pain.
Location: Close To Shops & A Short Walk From The Bus Station Which Will Take You To Most Places Are To Somewhere That Will. You Can Take A Bus To The Airport.
It Has Two Pools One In The Basement & One On The Roof. The Basement Is Where The Restaurant Is As Well It Has A Bar On The First Floor & There Is One On The Roof Which Maybe a Summer Thing As Not Open In December. There Is A Ramp From Street Level To Reception & Two Lifts That Take You To Basement To Level 6 & Another Lift To Take You To The Roof. The Cleaning Staff Is Friendly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location near the bus station.

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location near bus station, friendly staff, rooms cleaned daily and excellent choice in breakfast, food very good. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Good hotel, good customer service, ideal location as near bus terminal and sea front. Plenty of restaurants and cafes near by if not using hotel restaurant. Booked B&B and breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Many guests come back every year which is a good sign.