Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Such a beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Cons: Shuttle service could have better times.
Location: Buses on Gozo are great so you can get places by bus. You could walk into the town from the hotel and they provided a shuttle to their beach.
From start to finish our stay was lovely. The breakfast had a huge choice and they were extremely accommodating to my gluten allergy. The three pools were all excellent- the adult only pool was a favourite of mine. Dinner was also brilliant, a huge range of choice on the set menu which was 4 courses for €30! Highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very well sited hotel in beautiful surroundings

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Position, spaciousness of public rooms and bedrooms, spa, good breakfast. staff helpful
Cons: Too many small things unsatisfactory: needs serious upgrading - see above Breakfast good but this year dinner not.
Location: Very good views, very good walking on cliffs , transport easy all over Gozo,, good centre for holiday
We have stayed here more than 10 times and are sorry to record that it now looks rather tired and needs a big injection of money to justify level 4. Set up as a luxury place but no longer meets standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Very nice settings, private, quiet and secluded.

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Cons: Decor, hotel reception area dark and dingy and not at all welcoming, choice at breakfast and coverings on all food due to the flies.
Location: Arrived on a Sunday so everywhere was closed, strolled around to see the area as it was mid afternoon and lovely weather. Not much around really.
Lovely hotel and well maintained grounds, let down by the dated reception area and furnishings. Room very nice and bed is beyond comfortable, very clean room, again let down by the sliding bathroom door which makes a lot of noise during the night when used and the other person is sleeping. Loved the spa area, 1st class and the pool area and grounds were beautiful. Unfortunately, staff were not as helpful or friendly, everything seemed to be a basic formality from check-in to being served at the bar, not much of a welcome. Breakfast was the biggest let down of all, not much choice, food left uncovered with flies and cats all around, so didn't eat what I'd chosen to pay for due to lack of hygiene in that area. Gozo is very tranquil so if you want to relax away from the hustle then thats the place to be, staff did not give us any information on the free shuttle bus that takes you to the town centre, what to do in the area, what is available, nothing, when I asked about the spa treatments and opening times, I was told there is a brochure in my room, there wasn't and I had to go in search for one which was in the reception area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Amazing jewel

Posted Nov 15, 2015
The hotel is blessed with stunning views of both the coast and interesting landscapes that you can see from a distance. The hotel is incredibly tranquil, with many interesting plants and trees scattered throughout the hotel. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and engaging. The food and services are great. I enjoyed and always looked forward to breakfast and dinner as their daily menu always offer something different. One would definately enjoy their stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and service, but decor a bit dated

Posted Dec 30, 2014
The staff was really nice and helpful and service exceptionally good. It's a pity however that the decor needs to be updated. Room furnishings are fine but bathrooms and light fixtures need to be changed. Spa is great, especially the heated pool which is half indoors and half outdoors, allowing you to swim under the stars in a nice garden setting in winter. Food was good but not 5 star standard. It needs to not just taste good but look good and more elaborate. There is plenty of competition around for good restaurants in Malta and Gozo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York city

Hidden Hideaway Jem

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Location and good services.
Cons: None.
Location: Good location away from the crowd but close enough to the airport time wise. Churches and rocky cliffs to see. We want to come back for scuba diving.
I was quite surprised by the good location and the quality of services, friendly staff in our short stay there. We will come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing exclusivity

Posted Sep 26, 2014
A perfect place to escape the crowds and relax in a tranquil and beautiful environment. Being on top of a plateau near the beautiful white cliffs on the southern coast of Gozo gives breathtaking views of Gozo, Comino and Malta, as well as meaning there's always a cooling breeze. The single storey accommodation makes the place seem even more special set amongst beautiful flowering trees. Dining underneath a 450 year old Carob tree was another treat. The only downside to our stay was that the 'private' beach had been taken over for a Brangelina film shoot resulting in limited access to the headland and no access to the beach. The hotel did however provide a bus to spectacular Xlendi which is also a must see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel Just a little tired

Posted Sep 23, 2014
This hotel aesthetically has seen better days. However for service comfort and great staff in a quiet location it is hard to fault. We would definitely stay again. The buildings and facilities look a little tired but behind this facade lies a hidden gem of great food and service delivered by friendly staff. Don't judge a book by its outside cover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A relaxing time

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Our 2nd visit to Ta Cenc. Lovely hotel very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Penang, Malaysia

Interesting spa hotel in a unique location

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Gracious hotel with good guest facilities and high service standards.
Cons: Mattresses, linen and towels need replacing. The duvets should be lighter weight down: not the heavy ones currently used. Gardens are incomplete
Location: Gozo is a quiet, sparsely populated island and Ta Cenc is wild beautiful location. Nothing much nearby.
Ta Cenc is a character hotel sited in large, mostly wild grounds upon the cliff top of Ta Cenc in the quiet village of Sanat on Gozo. It aspires to be the gracious Grande Hotel of Gozo with buildings and infrastructure that are interesting, if not intriguing, fitted out to be gracious. Staff were diligent and friendly - the guest experience was excellent as a result of their efforts in getting to know their clients whenever in their service area. The restaurant service was formal but remained personable. It was the end of the off-season so the hotel was quiet excepting for guests taking advantage of weekend special offers. Guest rooms have been renovated but that work is incomplete. It is disappointing that mattresses and linen was not also replaced.