Ratings based on 655 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice, but mixed experience

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Very comfortable and clean room with excellent wifi, balcony but scuffed furniture. As a beach hotel, it advertises amenities but due to the season, outdoor pool not in use and the gym was closed for refurbishment. Food ranged between the most excellent fish at the Paranga beach restaurant and the overpriced breakfast buffet free for all. Location not too far from Valletta but the Paceville district was an odd mix of sleaze and urbanity. Guests noisy in corridors. Lots of construction ongoing in and around hotel. If everything was up to the same level of excellence (as advertised), then might suggest to fellow travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by ICMalta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay. We are glad that you were comfortable throughout your stay and found the cleanliness of the hotel to be of a high standard and quality. Thank you also for your comments concerning our Paranga restaurant we are most appreciative. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The so called beach in st.georges bay was polluted

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The business club on the 15th floor was excellent. The rooms were haphazardly serviced but reasnable good.
Cons: security and management
Location: as previous.
Firstly at the beach star restaurant although they had lobsters they were unable to cook lobster thermidor as they had no mustard or cream.The wine on the menu was not available.The alternative of slow cooked turbot was inedible. The main restaurant in the hotel was reasonable. The area surrounding the hotel was like the red light district filled with bars gentlemens, clubs strip clubs etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by ICMalta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear of the multiple issues you encountered throughout your stay and that we were unable to deal with the issues you mentioned. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent choice

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Room quality.Staff behaviour. Cocktail choices.Exceptional restaurants and location of the hotel.
Cons: NA
Fantastic rooms and what makes the experience exceptional is the service and behavior of each and every staff member.There was a problem with the shower but having said that the guest relations manager acted immediately and not only transferred us to another room but also apologised and kept checking if they could do anything else to make our stay more comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by David B, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for you excellent review and for your comments concerning you stay. We are particularly delighted that the quality of service demonstrated by our staff was of such a high quality throughout your stay. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A brilliant stay - can't argue at all.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
This is an excellent hotel. You won't be disappointed; located in St Julians where there are several nightclubs just a minute walk away. Fantastically buzzing with atmosphere all night long. The double glazing patio doors ensures no loud music gets through and so you do get a peaceful nights sleep. Hotel staff were amazing and always polite. My only gripe was that an extra blanket would be nice to keep warm, but I'm sure the hotel staff would have been able to help with this, I just didn't bother asking. A kettle and complimentary tea would be nice :) Nevertheless, I 100% recommend this hotel and I would book it again if I return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by David B, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here to such a great extent, and that we were able to contribute so effectively to you experience of the Maltese Islands. We do apologise however for the issues regarding the blanket, we would have happily provided you with one, also that you did not spot our complimentary coffee and tea making facilities we are provided in each and every one of our suites. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a family friendly hotel & area building site

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Outdoor pool is on 10th floor. Beach not on site and damp issue with missing ceiling tiles in kid centre with toys held together with Sellotape. Not 5 star experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel close to public or private beach.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Brilliant hotel with great staff (they really can't help you enough). Hotel looks a bit 'tired' in places (peeling paint on balcony, shoddy decorating patch ups, etc.) but this is balanced out by the aforementioned staff and the hotel's facilities. One word of warning, and I guess this is no fault of the hotel itself, Paceville is not what it was twenty years ago when I last visited. It's loud, with broken glass on the floor, the stench of vomit in the air and a heavy police presence come the weekend; think Sutton or any other UK chav town on a Saturday night and you'll get the picture!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by David B, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. In particular we are most grateful for you mentioning our staff so positively. We do apologise however with you discomfort with the area surrounding the hotel. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Good location, staff was excellent. They took care about is all time. I recomend this hotel for everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by David B, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so fully, we also greatly appreciate your recommendation of the hotel. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not what I expected, real shame.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Staff were lovely
Cons: Clean, everything! replace tea and coffee. make sure your bathrooms don't leak. get new bed linen.
Location: Surrounded by cranes, pubs and night life.
The outside is surrounded by cranes at the moment and a local guide explained that this is the state of the whole Island as they are keen to encourage tourism. The staff were lovely, and we couldn't fault them, they were very helpful, but the hotel room was very disappointing. My husband sadly had something quite 'dry and crusty' on his pillow. The floor had not been cleaned, the carpet was very dirty. The bed sheets were clearly very old and had holes in them. There was a leak in the what we hope was the shower! They never replaced the coffee and tea in the room. The breakfast was okay. The roof top pool could have done with a clean, but it was more popular. We liked the indoor pool. The steam room did not work for the duration of the holiday, however the sauna did. The prices of the restaurants in the hotel were very very expensive, but the food was very nice. All in all a really mixed experience. I wont come here again, because there were some very basic things that need to be maintained, and cleanliness is one of them. Wish we had not paid as much as we did, I have had better experiences in cheaper hotels. They also boast a private beach, this is not private really, and very small, closing early for their restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by David B, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay. In respect to your expectations and what occurred during your stay it is necessarily for us to apologise and we do so. These are not the standards nor qualities that we aim to aspire to and it is clear that we fell well short. Despite this we must thank you for your kind comments concerning our staff and the quality of service and cuisine they offer throughout your stay. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland , Uk

4 star not 5 star private beach

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Definitely the bedrooms
Location: Hand for beach and water sports, also great for getting red bus tour of island stops at bottom of street
Hotel staff very helpful and friendly, great to have a private beach, didn't use pool but it looked nice, pool towels provided for beach and pool, breakfast was good set us up for the day.the hotel bedrooms are tired and in dire need of upgrade as was the corridor carpeting,we had pool facing room so noise from traffic, there is a set of steps 100 yards from hotel which at night is very intimidating full of bars and seedy men's clubs which is the only thing that spoils the area, there are a few eating places close by Hugo's serves all types of food from fast to proper sit down looks like Hugo owns a lot in area and is doing a lot to improve it...Andrews Bar/restaurant cheap drinks and the food and service in Le Plage next to Andrews excellent, steak restaurant Sciacca next to hotel really expensive and disappointing.spinola Italian opposite Bay Street shopping give it a miss unless you are Italian waiters not interested I any other nationality, so they don't deserve your money!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by David B, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay. Thank you very much for your excellent review and for your comments concerning the service you received. We are very glad that you were also able to discover and explore the islands to your hearts content. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london.

Hotel is ok

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Overall hotel ok staff, food very good. Very noisy at night couldn't open the terrace door due to fans going all night. To near the night clubs for families. Bathroom design very poor had to clean water off the floor each night after shower even when we had a room change. Hotel needs an upgrade. Not an extension of 3 more floors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by David B, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and rating of the hotel. We do apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay and that we did not live up to you expectations. We do hope you have the opportunity to return one we have completed our renovations. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive