Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Nice hotel right opposite ferry to Comino

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: All-inclusive catering with food and drink continually available.
Cons: The 'accessible' bathroom wasn't, and had a very slippery bath
Location: Right opposite ferry to Comino
Stayed in accessible room with sea view on ground floor, with hired mobility scooter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Good friendly hotel lovely views

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Staff helpful and polite. Hotel little dated but very clean. Location quiet but town accessible by local bus. Food ok although restaurant slightly chaotic,not well laid out and often short of cutlery and crockery but staff always polite and helpful. Good value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel is within a few metres of a rocky beach.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff.
Cons: The quality of food for vegetarians; the variety of food that is available for breakfast and all inclusive should mean all inclusive .
Location: Not a lot except ferry to Gozo and private boat hire.
Not at all satisfied for an all inclusive deal. No kettle in room to make tea or coffee. No bottled water supplied on daily basis except upon arrival. Poor facilities for vegetarians which we are). Hotel staff were excellent. I would not recommend this as an all inclusive deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire UK

Perfect for visits to Gozo

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: It was not full of pretentious people showing off. But full of real people enjoying great value for money.
Cons: Great rates always come at a price to the building. Attention to detail is super hard on a tight maintenance budget which can lead to some faded glory
Location: The Gozo ferry is close by, so visit is a must as it is equally as good as Malta itself. Great views.
The hotel is a short distance to the ferry to Gozo. This is a great little island with a slower pace and great walks, with views that will take your breath away. Even the ferry is a pleasant diversion. The Hotel Riviera Resort and Spar is all that most will need to spend some time on Malta. To start the day you will be treated to an all you can eat breakfast which has an amazing variety. Packed lunches are available at reasonable rates. Evening dinner in the Sol e Mar bistro are a pleasant experience at a cost that belies the quality. The staff are considerate and informative, who carry out their duties in a quiet and efficient manner. An unfussy approach does away with the stuffiness of some hotels and focusses on what is important. Yes if you want the 'Ritz' this is not it. However for magnificent views and tranquility at a great value for money hotel then stay at the Riviera Resort and Spar. The transfer from the Airport is about 40 minutes by car. Our short stay (three days) was all to short, which means another visit would be most welcome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Indoor swimming pool
Cons: Air conditioning didn't work properly and fridge in the lounge area was constantly leaking. Small bed in the living room wasn't comfortable.
Was a pleasing stay at the hotel. However the heat was excruciating and horrid. Not recommended to travel to Malta when it is full summer season. Harbour cruise was fabulous. Gozo ok. Food was ok, although very repetitive at times and dinner left overs were served again for lunch the next morning. Spa staff were very welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel for the price I get

Posted Jan 15, 2015
i found the staff was so helpful especially the women bar tender who works in the bar near to the reception. She gave me so much information about my question .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banbury

Lovely time at riviera

Posted Nov 24, 2014
We had a lovely stay at the riviera.staff were very friendly and helpful.nothing was too much trouble.i didn't use the outside pool but many did and it looked very clean.the indoor pool was also very clean but very salty which wasn't much of a problem.didn't sting your eyes like chlorine can.the lack of changing by the inside pool.there is changing rooms but you have to go through the spa.this is a problem later when the spa closes alot earlier than the pool.there is a sauna which we found out later from someone else but when we asked to use it ,there was a charge in the morning but not in the afternoon but it then couldn't use it anyway as it hadn't been turned on.this however was my only grumble. Yes the hotel was out the way of everything but found this part of the charm as the bus service is excellent in malta.the bus stop only a short walk away. ,we had no problem getting about even late at night. food was plenty.with great variety.but mass prepared.so we wish we had eaten local a couple of nights for that something special.though i didn't eat in the al a carte restaurant. overall we had a very pleasurable stay and would happily recommend it to anyone.i would definitely stay again
2 out of 5
by Mikey from surrey

Gone down considerably in 4 years

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The rooms are comfortable and cleaned well though as stated earlier it could do with a bit of refurbishment all over, the spa needs re-tiling/sorting.
Cons: As stated needs a great deal of work all over especially the spa with tiles missing and not been vacuumed or cleaned for some time, jets not working.
Location: Good location, close to ferries for Comino and Gozo plus good bus connections for the rest of the Island, sad about the hotel that's all.
We returned having been here 4 years ago, it was very disappointing from our first experience. Most of the lovely Maltese staff have gone apart from one who was still as helpful and courteous as we remember, but the other staff from many Eastern European countries have a lot to learn about customer service. We had to pay 20€ for the TV remote, and although it was refunded at the end of the holiday we have never experienced this before. Too many rules and regulations about what you can and can't do. The restaurant buffet food was not good at all, we have had better in motorway services. Needless to say we like Malta and it's people, they are welcoming and friendly, however if we return we will not be going back to this hotel. It felt like it was under new ownership and looked very tired needing a bit of a make over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from UK

Good location close to a main bus stop, ferries to

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Good location close to a main bus stop, ferries to Comino and Gozo. Easy to find. Food excellent. Booking easy. Good views of sunset.
Cons: Drinking water more available at mealtimes
Location: see above
This was the first time we did a package deal and it didn't feel like we were in the middle of a massive hotel/party.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janet from Darwin

Nice place to stay if you......like a holiday camp

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: Out of the way, great pools inside and out, close to Gozo trips and public transport.
Cons: Better way of than wrist bands, change of menu for breakfast each day include some local fare.Info on local events like easter parades, srawberry fair
Location: Gozo of course, paddle boats, popeye world in season snorkelling and dives.
Not sure what to expect when wrist bands are clamped on you for the duration of your stay. Other guests embarisingly rude to staff perhaps it may have something to do with the level of booze in their package! Great location well serviced by local transport and good facilities. Has a coin laundry which is a rare find and Staff very accomodating if you are not rude and demanding, Food hit and miss but most days good.alternatives are only a bus ride away. Tourist info a bit hard to find as most guests stay in the hotel all day.