Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Great hotel, a range of facilities including 3 resturants, spa, 2 swimming pools, excellent breakfast buffet, lots of choice. The majority of the staff let this hotel down, they were quite rude and not so helpful with the questions we had or directions to places we wanted to visit. But the hotel is situated in a lovely village, breathtaking views. On a busy road but quieten downs in the late evening. Plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants. Nice and relaxing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location for catching ferries to Gozo

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Meals and general ambiance from the rooftop pool to cleanness of rooms and the actual location
Cons: Used the kettle for a quick cup which did not smell pleasant , it may be that the kettle had not been used or checked for a long time.
Location: Ideal for getting to Gozo and the bus stops quite nearby to other parts of the island
Highly recommend the hotel , pleasant and helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fab hotel in a perfect location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
The hotel really exceeded expectations. We booked a standard room and it was really well presented. The pools were stunning, particularly the rooftop pool with a great view of the harbour and cathedral. Food was delicious at breakfast and dinner. In walking distance of the beach and surrounded by a few nice restaurants. It was perfect for us as its in a quieter area which is so relaxing but also only an hour on the bus to the capital. Highly recommend going to the tourist office next to the hotel and booking a boat trip, picked up from the hotel and an incredible day out!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Premier League Hotel for couples of all ages

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: The rooms are very spacious and clean with air-con which you can control . The hotel was very modern and has recently added a roof top pool .
Cons: On one evening the taps were not working , which took a few hours to rectify . The Gym didn't open until 9am , which is awkward if you want breakfast
Location: Perfect for the town celebrations and also for the many restaurants close by . The sandy beach was a 15 minute walk away , uphill effort coming back
What a fab place , hotel and town . We went by chance , not intended during a celebration of liberation for the Island called 'The Feast ' . From September 6th-9th there were 3 days of musical bands in the streets and fireworks which went on for a long time . We sat up in the roof bar in the open air , had a few drinks and watched the spectacular pyrotechnics . You really will be amazed if you go during these days . We used public transport to move around as there was a bus stop near to hotel , buses are all air-con , always got a seat , and were very cheap . Valletta was the longest journey and was 4 euros each return . you do not need the stress of hiring a car . Most of the places you may wish to go are easily reachable as the island is small , half size of Menorca . Eating out was easy with plenty of choice with pricing cheaper than the UK for both food and drink .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Stayed here 2 weeks! It was bliss had a great holiday and the hotel was lovely, the private car transfer to and from the hotel to the airport was also very good. Thank you Maritim Antonine hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location and on site facilities

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location was good, although some might prefer the bus to and from the beach rather than the walk. Good selection of places to eat out.
Cons: Room cleanliness was poor, sometimes the sheets weren't changed when required and the floor wasn't always swept.
Location: Located near a collection of restaurants and the local church and square. We would recommend 3 restaurants Rebekah's, Commando & ix-xatba.
The hotel is situated on top of the hill, about 10-15mins walk from Mellieha bay. We spent most days at the beach and enjoyed the walk down and back up. There are frequent buses that travel down and up the hill for those who are lazy. There are water sport activities at the beach as well as boat trips around the Island, we opted for a trip to the blue lagoon 13 Euro pp. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel for trips around the Island, it took us about 40 minutes to travel to Valletta. There are a decent amount of restaurants nearby the hotel, the best 3 we went to were Rebekah's (good service & steak), Commando (good service and wine) & ix-xatba (good service and very reasonable).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Good maid service. Spa facilities ok but limited. Restaurant and breakfast good. Nice bar area.
We enjoyed our week at this hotel and in this village. It's easy to get to the beach by bus, although Valletta is an hour away by bus. Buses are generally frequent although we did get marooned at Mdina for an hour on Saturday when the buses are less frequent. it's also easy to get to other resorts like Bugibba by bus and to the ferry for Gozo. Get a weekly bus pass for 21 Euros and you can use service buses at will. We also visited the market at Marsaxxlok and the Blue Grotto on a Sunday excursion organised from the travel agent next door to the hotel who was very helpful. That was a good 10 euros worth. Beware bus diversions on Festa days. You might end up with a long walk. We found some nice restaurants in both the village and Valletta. Lovely stay. Would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, good location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
We had a fab stay at the Maritim with a fantastic sea and church view. Hotel staff was very helpful at all times. Local buses run often to the beach and up to other places like Valetta. Pools in the hotel are great, breakfast buffet had a a great choice and even the dinner buffet which we for once was well Worth the money!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield (Londoner)

Peace and quiet

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Brilliant advice from 2 different friends to go to Mellieha, north of Malta, away from the 'vrty lively' St Julian area. Great hotel. Rooftop pool almost perfect. Spend extra to get dinners - awesome. Only drawback was WiFi strength on 8th floor, although it was strong everywhere else. Perfect for a couple, family or solo in need of peace 93/100
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Pool

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Pool; location; bar; gym; room
Cons: Service; breakfast coffee and still water; wifi
The hotel has great facilities but the daytime reception team were lacking for a four star. Rooftop pool for over 16s was absolutely perfect, with a friendly bar team and great service.