Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful old building

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Characterful old building in central but quiet location
Cons: We moved to the Victoria Hotel (of which the Palazzo is an annexe). Room was split level with awkward spiral staircase.
Location: Ideal - centre of Tas-Sliema on a quiet road
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Double Booked - Very unhappy customers!

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: The roof top pool
Cons: The hotel could ensure that the room booked by a customer is available upon check in.
Location: About a ten minute walk from the promenade.
My husband had booked this surprise trip for me and him to spend some time together. Upon arriving at the sister hotel, The Victoria, for check in as instructed we were told that our room wasn't ready and that we should come back to reception after 3pm. Just after 3pm we returned to reception and were given a key for room 603. At this point alarm bells rang and we said that we were booked into the Palazzo Cappua in a suite. Immediately another receptionist came over to us and pleaded with us asking us to at least look at the room as it beautiful. There was no explanation as to what had happened but we kept saying that we had booked for the Palazzo Cappua and showed them our booking confirmation. We went to look at room 603 in The Victoria Hotel but were not satisfied that this was of the same quality as the room we had booked and therefore returned to reception extremely unhappy and said that we were not prepared to stay in room 603. It then became clear that our room at the Palazzo had been double booked and was simply not available to us that night as someone was already in it. Very unhappy customers! We then spoke to somebody of a supervisor level to say that he was extremely sorry but the room was not available and he couldn't do anything about that. He offered us a room in the sister hotel, The Palace, and took us to show this room. This was a standard city centre double room which overlooked the Palazzo - how insensitive could they get. Would not return!!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Kevin Callus, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, On behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for sparing some time to post your review. I am extremely disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations and would like to apologize on behalf of all the team at Palazzo Capua. It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. Your constructive comments have already been discussed with our Management Team in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. We take our esteemed guest feedback seriously, as this helps us to improve our service and reach our main goal the guest’s full expectations and therefore making their stay a memorable one. Once again we apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay and hope that our commitment to continuously improve will make you change your mind to re-visit our hotel in the future. Yours sincerely Kevin Callus Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Delightful Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: The suite was a delight.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Located in quiet street only 5 minute walk from the Sliema ferry terminal for ferries to Valetta and other boat excursions.
This is a lovely hotel situated in a quite street. The suite we had was spacious, clean and beautifully furnished. The bedroom upstairs was very comfortable. The bathroom was well fitted out and a good selection of toiletries were available. The room had tea / coffee making facilities. Breakfast, which was taken in the adjacent Victoria hotel was a hot / cold buffet with a good choice of food. Reception personnel were all very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2016 by Kevin Callus, Hotel Management
Dear Janis, We are delighted to hear that your experience at Palazzo Capua was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction. Guest satisfaction is a matter which we take at heart because our philosophy is "guest comes first". Looking forward to having you back at Palazzo Capua again soon. Sincerely, Kevin Callus Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northampton

Lovely suite near to Swimming and restaurants

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Service and parking underground a god send
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
Arrived early morning due to plane delays and car hire issues. Brilliant service from start to finish. Reception even greeted me by name. Swimming facilities absolutely awesome. Suite comfortable and Palazzo a stunning building well preserved by hotel chain.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2016 by Andy, Hotel Management
Hi Moo, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at Palazzo Capua and hope to welcome you once again in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Service a shambles

Posted Jan 11, 2009
This lovely newly renovated Palazzo, has a small number of suites providing potential for a hideaway retreat from the large hotels of Malta. Our suite (Prince Charles) was roomy and had an outside terrace. Palazzo Capua is now owned by The Palace Hotel (a five minute walk away for breakfast) and the taxi needs to leave you there to check in. Unfortunately, the management, whilst very polite, have designed their rooms without any thought to their paying guests. There's a kettle but you'll need to put it on the floor to use it as the flex is too short to reach the socket, a phone that can't get an outside line or call the hotel reception, a trouser press that you'll need to carry around the room to plug in, an en suite you'll need to walk down some precarious steel steps to get to in the middle of the night, a bathroom door that doesn't actually close as the catch has been fitted upside down and two large TVs for which you'll have to share a remote control with the suite next door. If you want extra towels or your bed making with a blanket, be prepared to ask every single day of your stay as just because its provided today, doesn't mean you can have it tomorrow. And if you want a light bulb for the bedside light, be prepared to wait 8 hours and complain to the manager. If all this sounds like more work that you intend on your holiday, you might consider a different venue - we certainly would.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

城を使ったホテル

Posted Dec 5, 2016
ハネムーンで使用させていただきました。 ビクトリアホテルの別館で、アイルランド王室の別荘用の建物だそうで、非常に雰囲気があります。 部屋毎に異なるのですが、内装はゴージャスで、私達の部屋はオリエンタルな雰囲気が漂う素晴らしい部屋でした。 サービス自体は普通レベルです。