Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warning: Don't be fooled!!!

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
I notified the hotel we would be checking in late and this was not a problem except that the clerk was not able to adjust the room we were given to what I had requested. Additionally the room we were given was dirty. Particularly the bathroom! It was awful with dingey towels and was never properly cleaned even when I complained. I was unable to get an extra pillow either! The indoor pool was inexplicably closed and the rooftop deck pool had cracked window walls so you couldn't see the view! The lifts were slow, tiny and inadequate for the number of rooms. Lastly, the breakfast buffet was inedible. I literally spat out the scrambled eggs in order to not vomit on the table! The one plus of the room was the view and the size of the room however, I would never recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

Close to all amenities staff very helpful

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel good staff
Cons: Standard of beds
Location: Handily placed for restaurants, buses etc
Could not gain access to room for over an hour after booking in time, not even offered a coffee. Room was basic but clean. Bedding and towels changed daily,but beds were in poor condition no mattress protector
3 out of 5
by Esther from London

Good value and functional

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is functional and good value. Extras, such as safe, tea & coffee facilities, and wifi are provided at an extra charge so you don't pay for what you don't need. I found the service to be good and helpful at every stage. The location is great with loads of great places to eat as well as a mix of Maltese bars and contemporary cocktail bars nearby. Pool of roof was particularly nice as it was sheltered from the wind and quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was fine, but there was no wifi, there were twin beds even though we requested a double, the night staff didn't know anything about local places or transportation, and the bedding sheets were never changed in 5 days.. Pretty concerning stay. The only upside was the big room, balcony, and location.
5 out of 5
by Anne from Uk

Enjoyable stay

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Stay here on most of my visits to Malta, everyone friendly and enjoyable. The only issue is no free wifi, apart from that everyone as always was very nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2016
The staff in the Bistro on ground level surly and lifts out of action nearly every day.waiters in restaurant argumentative.Got in a lift on 8th floor for ground floor,and finished up 2 stories below,then lift broke down.No help to get up for at least 30 mins.I asked for an early morning call for 4 AM and receptionists forgot.However I managed to get my flight even though the cab driver who arrived they said I was his fare.Got into cab and then they realised I was in the wrong cab.Never reccomend the Plaza to anyone.There are too many other complaints to enumerste upon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gozo

Near Perfect Location

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Its location, room quietness, comfort and breakfast
Cons: Reduce the cost of internet access, it is free in the park located across the street
Location: Walk the promenade and ride a bus to Valetta
Check-in was smooth, room faultless and breakfast superb
5 out of 5
by Donald from Costa Rica

nice time at Plaza Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
very nice stay, awesome views, amazing water out front.
4 out of 5
by Valeriy from Dublin

Good hotel with a few critical issues to resolve

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was very good except 3 negative moments: 1) On the first night our room was taken by someone else and arriving very tired at midnight we were sent to another hotel to spend a night there (and the room there was significantly worse), which I find shameful 2) Extremely expensive WiFi - 20 Euros for 10 hours or 4.5 Euros for 2 hours. Although WiFi had good connection it was overly expensive - I had never seen in my life WiFi so expensive as that anywhere in the world. It either should be free or cost no more than 10 Euros a day. 3) Despite very windy and cool weather at the end of October the indoor swimming pool still was closed, which is weird as we had to swim in the outdoor swimming pool with water temperature below 20 degrees. They should have open both of the swimming pools so people would be able to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Wotif
We enjoyed our stay at the Plaza hotel overlooking the beautiful beach in Malta!