Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great value in pleasant location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Studio room with loads of space and excellent kitchen facilities but with the option to dine in the hotel at reasonable cost gave perfect flexibility.
Location: Located on the promenade between Sliema and St.Julians-lovely walks along seafront in either direction.Plenty of restaurants and shops close by.
A pleasant hotel with stunning views from the seaside rooms and from the restaurant and roof terrace/pool.Lovely food. Note -due to the hotel's position on the bay the sea view rooms do not catch the sun on the balcony. The view is still worth it and the Roof terrace is sunny. Despite being on busy road the noise is not too bad and quietens down at night but higher floors recommended.Efficient air con/heating means with door closed it is not a problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

An old hotel, but nice

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The proximity of places near by, desk staff were very friendly.
Cons: It is just a bit old, like an old pair of slippers 😀
Location: There is a tiny beach opposite, were you can swim safely, lots of places to eat near by, easy walking distance of Sliema and Gzira, and St. JulIan's.
Not changed in 15 years, been there 3 times, last time we went there in 2002. Still the same. I think the owners need to add a bar for their guests downstairs in the foyer. They need to provide free WiFi, as you can get it free over the road at Peppi's. The food although plenty of it, is a bit bland, and repetitive. The towels are a bit grey, and thin. The beds are OK, but not like the ones at a Travelodge. The sheets are clean but had stains on them. Definitely in need of modernisation. But for a 3 star hotel, you can't expect much. It is in an ideal situation, and there are plenty of buses outside and safe to walk around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

Close to all amenities staff very helpful

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel good staff
Cons: Standard of beds
Location: Handily placed for restaurants, buses etc
Could not gain access to room for over an hour after booking in time, not even offered a coffee. Room was basic but clean. Bedding and towels changed daily,but beds were in poor condition no mattress protector
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2016
The staff in the Bistro on ground level surly and lifts out of action nearly every day.waiters in restaurant argumentative.Got in a lift on 8th floor for ground floor,and finished up 2 stories below,then lift broke down.No help to get up for at least 30 mins.I asked for an early morning call for 4 AM and receptionists forgot.However I managed to get my flight even though the cab driver who arrived they said I was his fare.Got into cab and then they realised I was in the wrong cab.Never reccomend the Plaza to anyone.There are too many other complaints to enumerste upon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gozo

Near Perfect Location

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Its location, room quietness, comfort and breakfast
Cons: Reduce the cost of internet access, it is free in the park located across the street
Location: Walk the promenade and ride a bus to Valetta
Check-in was smooth, room faultless and breakfast superb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth. U.K

Nice hotel and good location.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Good location. Bus stop almost outside. Good restautants at hotel ..Lovely views.Clean room and bathroom.
Location: Good location. Easy to get around by bus if you don't want to bother with a car. Sliema is an ideal place to stay and relax.
Really enjoyed our stay in Malta at the Plaza.Had a studio room which was ideal for a family of three.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great location. Need to be happy to climb stairs!

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Lovely staff and food and great location
Cons: Improve lift service and update room furniture. Hairdryer pipe had a split so hot air blowing out side and not out the end! Heat the pools up!
Location: On the main street with restaurants nearby and a few parks for the kids. Great water park 15 mins away
The hotel staff were lovely and the food was great (11 euros each including a glass of wine!) However we were put in the opposite side of the hotel from the restaurant and the outside pool on the 7th floor. The 1 and only lift on that side was soooooo slow and a couple of times wasn't working meaning we had to walk up 7 floors (spending a while to recover after!). To go to dinner, we had to come down to the ground floor and along to another 1 of 2 lifts which were also very slow and back up the 6th floor for dinner! Once I forgot something and couldn't face the hassle of going back to the room! If we had been put in the main part of the hotel I would have enjoyed it more! Top outside pool was freezing but kids loved it and the inside pool was freezing too! Great kids park over the road and shops nearby. Recommend getting a weekly bus pass (6.80 euros for 4 of us for a week!) Buses get really busy and its a fight to get on! No pleasant manners to be seen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York City

Newly renovated room in good location

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Comfort of room, view, location.
Cons: No free Wi-Fi, charge for room safe if you wanted to use it.
Location: Bus stop across street to most places on island. Good choice of reasonable restaurants, food stores.
We booked an ocean view studio and were pleased with the size and comfort of the room. It was apparently very recently renovated. Kitchenette consisted of decent sized fridge, convection cooktop and microwave, toaster and tea kettle. Adequate supply of dishes and utensils, all brand new. Bus stop was just across street, including bus to airport. Although on main seaside road, room was quiet (4th floor). Many restaurants in area, also 2 food stores, clildren's playground across street. We did not use either of the pools, or try the buffets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Rooms are big. Indoor pool.
Cons: Better beds
Location: Close to many shops and restaurant. Bus stop right outside the hotel.
Rooms are big enough for a family of 4/5, but the beds were not comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louise from Sydney, Australia

Great apartment with a wonderful water

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location was great with a beautiful water view.
Cons: WIFI in the room would of been good however it was not a problem as it worked downstairs. I only had issues with the wifi as I was on the 7th floor.
Location: You could catch a bus anywhere around Malta. It is very safe to walk around at night. You can walk to St Julians, stay in Sliema etc. Easy excess.
The apartment had plenty of space for two or more people. Stunning water views, also had a small kitchenette with a bar fridge. Travelling around Malta was no problem at all as the bus stop is at the front of the building. Cafe down stairs is nice also for a snack. Perfect location with a huge balcony. Very friendly, helpful staff. The room was very clean and I had no issues at all. Plenty of restaurants around as well. i would come back for sure and stay there again.