Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Well located Sliema Hotel

Posted May 4, 2017
The Plaza Hotel is situated between the centre of Sliema and Balluta Bay both of which have plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants. There are a few good restaurants within 5 minute walk of hotel and some excellent and cheap bakeries and cafes for breakfast. The hotel is spacious and comfortable, we did not use the restaurant, but the menu proffered was extensive and well priced. A gripe would be that although staying April early May the pool bar was not open, sun shades were not available nor were cushions for sunloungers. A good location, a 3 star hotel which provided totally adequate accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

Wonderful stay of 10 days

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The facilities - which included a roof top pool and also an indoor pool at level -1. The receptionist Sara was exceptional in her customer service!!!
Cons: Possibly an upgrade on the bathroom but not too much to add.
Location: Centrally placed and close to bus stops, the harbour for ferries and the ATM (HSBC) on your doorstep. Supermarket very close and well stocked.
Wonderful 10 day experience in Sliema where I had not been before despite having served in the Armed Forces for most of my career. Huge room with all the facilities needed to cook during our stay. Centrally placed and close to all amenities including well stocked supermarket, ATM, restaurants on the sea front and a ten minute walk to all ferries crossing for Valetta etc. A reasonably priced breakfast in the hotel was not always needed but there if required. The most lovely Receptionist Sara who was not only professional in her approach but also with a true Italian sense of humour, it was a joy to watch her interacting with guests in order to help them out. What a star!! WIFI access in the reception area for free and a small charge for use in rooms. Simply the most relaxing holiday my wife and I have had for some time and we do travel a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Well positioned

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: It's value for money.
Cons: It is not suitable for wheel chair or those unable unable to climb stairs as the entry into the hotel is via steep steps.
On the main road overlooking the promenade and sea. Close to bus stop making transport easy. Hotel fully booked but surprisingly quiet. The evening meal is good value. Only stayed 3 nights but would return. A good value hotel for a short trip for some early sun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everywhere

Good Hotel - Internet a Problem

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The room, general ambiance. Staff were helpful. Location suited us.
Cons: Internet! It needs to be free or at most €5 a day in room.
Location: It suited us.
We had precisely what we wanted, a reasonable size room which was quiet and provided kitchen facilities. The cleaning was very good, not quite excellent as the maid stopped providing shampoo and soap half way through the stay, so we had to buy our own. We paid for these by using the money we would have left as a tip. The only REAL PROBLEM is that from an internet perspective the hotel management still believe they are in the 1990's. The internet is €20 for 10 hours via a voucher code bought from reception, which if you are on business or need to use Skype whilst you're there costs too much. We spent €100 in 9 days. The internet is free in the lobby, but you can't hold private conversations or do business as the lobby is always full of people getting access. Indeed the lobby is a weird area as a result - crowded with everyone's head down on their iphones, tablets etc. Final observation:it didn't affect us, but we only spotted the bar open once, which was for bingo. There are plenty of bars nearby, so it didn't concern us, but is puzzling as the hotel states that it is open every day at this time of year. Would we go there again? Yes, but if a competitor offered free internet, we would go there first if the room rate was competitive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Good location

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Overall the hotel was very good. We had a studio on 7th floor with sea view and balcony this was a lovely big room with kitchenette sofa and dining table and chairs. We opted to have breakfast which was OK but there was no choice of fresh fruit which was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great value in pleasant location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Studio room with loads of space and excellent kitchen facilities but with the option to dine in the hotel at reasonable cost gave perfect flexibility.
Location: Located on the promenade between Sliema and St.Julians-lovely walks along seafront in either direction.Plenty of restaurants and shops close by.
A pleasant hotel with stunning views from the seaside rooms and from the restaurant and roof terrace/pool.Lovely food. Note -due to the hotel's position on the bay the sea view rooms do not catch the sun on the balcony. The view is still worth it and the Roof terrace is sunny. Despite being on busy road the noise is not too bad and quietens down at night but higher floors recommended.Efficient air con/heating means with door closed it is not a problem.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is past it's best, food choice was very limited and poor quality, with the exception of the staff at check-in all the others gave me the impression guests were a nuisance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
great stat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Hotels location is great for restaurants and bars

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Ebookers
Clean tidy hotel, staff were friendly. Good 3 star hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nowt to write home about

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Nightmare checking in. One person on reception and everyone was trying to get their card keys around one pm when the rooms were ready. After waiting for about 30 minutes we eventually got our card key only to find it didn't work, we went back to the reception, pushed in to the front to be told "it should work, are you doing it right". So I asked for 2 card keys and you would have thought I had asked for the world! I'm glad I did because only one of them worked. We were a party of 4 and had 2 rooms. Ours facing the bay was okay but our friends facing the side was run down, however they did have a great balcony. Tried the breakfast one day and we all agreed we wouldn't go back and preferred the local cafes. We were on the 5th floor and couldn't hear the traffic with the patio doors closed. The cleaners came everyday and did an excellent job. We stayed in an apartment. It contained a microwave, kettle, fridge and hob. There was no where to drain your pots once washed. The towels were okay and the beds fairly comfy. There was a small tv but poor selection of channels. If this hotel was in Spain I would say it was bad value for money but as It's in Malta it's probably a good Hotel.