Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Martin from Wiltshire England

Splendid is an appropriate name.

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was the first time in Mellieha and in a guesthouse. We couldn't have asked for a better choice. Splendid Guesthouse was very clean and had all the amenities you need including free tea,coffee and orange juice in the morning. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The use of the roof terrace was great to catch the sun and the location of the guesthouse was prefect. Only a short walk to good restaurants, local shops and cash points. Being close to the church it gave the feeling of the authenticity of village life.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Splendid guest house indeed

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Very cheap guest house... We booked as there was such a huge price difference to other available rooms in Mellihia... We stayed 1 night only and spent bye next day looking for alternative room. We found and were happy to pay 4 times the amount just so we could shower and sleep in the cool. No air on barely a drip from the shower.. Sorry but this is the first ever review but had to be done..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, really conveniently located.

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Stayed here whilst Diving with GoDive Malta, based just down the road. John was really helpful with anything I needed or any questions I had. Rooms are really cleaned and reasonably priced. The hotel is really conveniently located, in walking distance of everything I wanted. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Cynthia from Bristol

Splendid indeed!

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect if you're on a budget and like to explore. Excellent value for money for people who don't mind not having an en-suite and who are adventurous enough to walk a few minutes into the village, where there are several good restaurants, and take local buses to remote beaches. The ferry to Comino (Blue Lagoon) and Gozo is also only a short bus ride away. Or avoid the crowds and hire a scooter. John and June (and Henry the cocker/springer (I think!)) are lovely hosts.
4 out of 5
by SERGEI from Firenze

So nice

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice family hotel in the heart of Mellieha. If you need just a beach nearby, I think, it's not for you. But if you want to discover beautiful Malta and Gozo sights as well, this hotel can be your best choice. The couple who runs it is very friendly and attentive. The breakfast is very tasty and rich enough, and the room service is on every day routine. The room is spacy enough, but the furniture and the stuff is a little bit tired. Nevertheless, it's still ok (keep in mind that it's not a 5* hotel). The shower in the room is quite disappointing, because the water pressure is very weak. At the same time, the wash-basin inside is quite helpful, and the toilet/bath outside is not used much, because people don't spend much time in the hotel. I don't know, what is the price in the high season. We were in the end of October, and the price was comparable with discounts of other big hotels (due to the end of the season). In any case, it's very low. So, if you want a cozy hotel with nice atmosphere and a reasonable price, and don't want to worry about breakfasts, this place is definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mids uk

close to village centre

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: the cost , very good for 2 people B+B
Cons: kettle in room
Location: good central location , 2 mins to main road and about 20 mins walk to beech , or get the bus
we had a great time in Malta staying here, very friendly and helpful people , will use again but will pack the travel kettle next time , 2 mins walk to main street , guest house is a bit basic , along the lines of a hostel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bannockburn

The personal touch

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Staff here are amazing so friendly and helpful, breakfast was amazing especially the daily homemade breakfast cake !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great B&B for the price!

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
First of all, Malta you need at least 2 weeks to explore it. Lots of culture and history. The B&B was very clean, no complaints here. Very basic furnishings but for the price you can't complain, the B&B made a perfect base to spend the rest of the day exploring Malta. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this B&B to my friends, as a matter of fact I am planning to go back in December.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

B&B near to town centre

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Location to town took pets
Cons: It was functional for our needs but no bathroom within the room was inconvenient .
Location: it was close to main town
this was a short stop over with our dog whist looking to buy property