Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Cons: Washbasin plug in our room (115) would not lift to let water out
Excellent location, overlooking Valletta's Grand Harbour. Friendly helpful staff. Good variety of food for breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

great location

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: The location and views from the balcony lounge
The walls and floors are of very thick stone = cool temps. However this also means that any sound echoes and reverberates through the building. Our last night there a group of school girls were staying. They came in singing loudly at 11: p.m. and ran between rooms in clicking shoes, laughing and shouting until 2:00 a.m.. We were trying to sleep before getting up at 4:00 a.m. to catch our flight home. It wasn't a good night thanks to the noise. Try to get a room as far from the stairwells as possible because of the noise which reverberates there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Only the splendid view over Grand Harbour from the lounge
Cons: Better towels, and while there is no dining room water and a kettle or communal coffee machine provided.
Location: Although very central, as I said above one had to climb approximately 100 steps to get up to the town. St Paul's co.cathedral and the shops near.
There are about 100 steps from the hotel up to the road, completely out of the question for anyone with a child in a pushchair or elderly or unfit person, and this had not been made clear beforehand.. Also the restaurant was outof action so there was no breakfast or any other meal to be obtained. Even worse they did not provide a coffee machine, kettle or bottles of water.They had an arrangement with a nearby hotel to provide breakfast for which 8 euros had to be paid in advance to the British Hotel, but equally nice breakfasts could be obtained elsewhere for 4-5 euros.. My toilet was blocked for the whole of my week's stay although I complained on the first day.The towels were ragged and worn and for 95 euros a night it was very bad value. Also the lift only served one half of the hotel. If your room was in the other half you had to climb 6 flights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Amazing location

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: View from the harbour.
Cons: After the renovation it will absolutely be better.
Location: Near the best places in Valletta. Near amazing and exotic restaurants.
Very near the tourist spots and walking distance to the bus terminal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2016 by David, Hotel Management
thanks for your comments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south australia

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: maybe when renovations completed expected dec2015 may be better although i do not believe rooms are being upgraded to a acceptable standard.l
Location: close to the heart of valetta
for 100 euros per night including 5 euros for air conditioning it was very basic. i would rate it two star.had stayed in four star hotels in italy and france for less...three lower floors being gutted under renovation did not help.view of harbour good but balcony unattractive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Wasn't told of renovations before arrival. No breakfast. Lots of stairs. One very nice staff member who was very helpful, the rest were bit interested.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2016 by david , Hotel Management
It strange that you did not know of the renovations as its listed clearly on the booking site where you booked the room. For your inofrmation the rate you paid says clearly its for room only since wem did not have the restaurant open. We did offer free tea/coffee and a croissant to everyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst place ever

Posted Oct 2, 2015
It did say undergoing reno. BUT access oy by about 50 back stairs. No AC. Elevator not available. Check in in a back room then navy down stairs to walk up dust filled stairwell. Smelled like sewer. Beds sheets etc all old and musty just a bad experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albania

The price does not justify the room conditions

Posted Aug 12, 2015
The hotel is under reconstruction, so there is noise around, there is no lobby and the entry to the rooms is a little bit complicated. There was no refrigerator in the room to keep at least a bottle of cold water. We had to pay 5€ per night for the air conditioner and we did so the first night since it was too hot, but we were surprised because instead of cooling it caused the contrary effect as the outer unit of the room air conditioner was inside the room as well. So, it was worthless to pay for a air conditioner that was not functioning properly. At least, a fan was included in the room price. The hotel location was the best part of our one-week experience in this hotel as it was closed to the most interest points of Valletta and bus terminal as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
They're refurbishing the front of the hotel so you have to enter from the back and the reception is minimal at the moment but the room was huge with a great view and the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houson

Construction zone

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness.
We arrived late at night. Front entrance and lobby were under construction. We could not bring our bags to the room. room not very clean, hard beds. would not stay there again.