Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2018 on Hotels
Food excellent, room very comfortable with well thought out additional features.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hull

Shame!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
We arrived at the hotel very pleased with our hotel selection, it appeared nicely decorated and well kept however we quickly realised this was a veneer! To start off with we were not given any instructions about breakfast, what time it was or wheee to go etc. And we were told a time we have to check out. There was no information about anything in the room, which we found odd. We then found out the double bed we thought we had booked was indeed two singles pushed together! Had we have known that we would not have booked this hotel - it was our first wedding anniversary after all!! And to top that off the bed itself was the hardest and most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on!! It was like sleeping on the floor!! And the beds seemed to have a strange dip in the middle so u felt like you were sleeping in a bowl! Awful!! Breakfast in the morning was ok, owner was a little stand-off-ish and forgot to put tea in our tea pot! So we were left for 10 mins with just hot water to drink! We didn't want to leave a negative review, but for a hotel supposed to be 4* I couldn't not! We won't ever go back to this hotel mostly because of the bed! Worst beds ever!!
5 out of 5
by Mr John

Pleasant experience

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
First time I have stayed here and a pleasant experience it was, it's out in the sticks a bit but the staff and restaurant made up for this. I have stayed in numerous hotels on business but this would be a good place to relax for a few days, if you like fine dining you won't be disappointed
5 out of 5
by Simon

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Food - first class !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Quiet village location.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The ease of being able to move around using front and back exits. Service very good.
Cons: Brightening the interior.
Location: Not much to do in the village, no shop although there is another pub which also serves food. The nearest places are York and Malton.
A very enjoyable stay in this pleasant inn. The staff were all very welcoming, the room was a good size with a nice view at the front. The breakfast was excellent, a good choice available and very well cooked. The interior of the inn is rather dark but in keeping with its status as a country inn. The village it is located in is very quiet and not too far from Malton or York.
5 out of 5
by Tracy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Miserable Host

Posted Apr 17, 2017
This was our second visit. The place and quality of food is great but dampened by the miserable Host. We will not be visiting again due to this.
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WELL RUN AND FRIENDLY HOTEL

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
I was away on business and had tried many hotels in Malton but this was by far and away the best I have come across.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
accommodation was first class. staff were rude and very unwelcoming, they didn't welcome you when you arrived or even asked whether u had a pleasant stay, no conversation whatsoever. we also had to pay a surcharge of 25 pounds for the champagne room as although we had booked a double the email cofirmation came through as 1 person