Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Lovely Hotel on the Yorkshire Wolds

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: The food.
Location: Way off the beaten track in the heart of the Yorkshire wolds, but close enough to the coast and the North Yorkshire Moors.
We booked a Champagne room but were upgraded to a Superior Champagne room. This had its own patio (with furniture), a wood burning stove and a lounge area.The dinner was tremendous, with local seasonal produce, from named farms and butchers. The wine list was extensive to cover all budgets. There were 3 Champagnes on the specials board available by the glass. The breakfast was "to die for" again with locally sourced country produce.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Norfolk

A very pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
This was a last minute booking after a one night stay in a castle. We did not expect too much but what a pleasant surprise. It far surpassed the pleasure of our stay in the castle. It is a pub transformed into a Super Inn with a French wine/champagne/brandy theme. Although nothing special to look at from the outside, it is immaculately furnished and maintained, and the best was yet to come. We had a romantic table next to a roaring fire and the quality of the food was to die for. Superb service and private car parking on top of everything. Ideal place for a romantic classic car stopover. There was nothing to improve on. We will definitely be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was lovely although, I was a bit worried by some of the comments people made regarding the manager. However, all the staff were very friendly, helpful and polite and the food was exceptional. What a great chef! A very pleasant stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

“nasty and unpleasant: zero stars”

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
This was booked through hotels.com for 3 people. we arrived late (just before 10 pm) and were promptly and perfunctorily shown to our room. The following morning, the 3 of us descended for breakfast; we were the only guests there. Very quickly, there was an outburst as (what seemed like) an employee emerged from the kitchen, with a tray, talking loudly and aggressively about how we had to pay more (as we had only booked for 2, he claimed). It was not so much the issue, but his bullish, loud and aggressive manner that was so appalling. It turned out he was the owner! He would not let me explain and I too became heated. He had no interest in our side of the story. After a very unpleasant exchange during which he became louder and more rude (as did I), he became physically threatening (by putting his face up close to mine as he shouted; and then tried to squeeze me between a door and its hinges); and we left without breakfast (perhaps what he had hoped for). I do not know if this was just a misunderstanding (on both our parts) as I booked for 3. Whatever lay beneath this, the owner's ghastly and unprofessional attitude towards guests should be a lesson to anyone else who chooses to go. His behaviour was more reflective of an out-of-control drunk than a publican. No stars for this place and I have yet to decide what further action i will be taking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel - good countryside location

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, had a separate annex away from the pub and restaurant so not noisy. Meals a little pricey but there's a good pub across the road that does great meals at better prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jill from West Harptree

Good pub with excellent food

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Our welcome was warm & efficient. Our room was very pleasant with an outlook to the front of the pub & lawn. Large car park. We booked at short notice on a very busy Saturday evening but were accommodated in the restaurant without any problem. The food was excellent, comparable to many fine restaurants. If we're ever in the area again we'd definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Hartley, Kent

Blue Bell Inn stay

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Everything about our stay was great. Stayed for two nights on our journey to Scotland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

A simply wonderful hotel in a fabulous location

Posted Jul 27, 2015
We arrived at the Blue Bell Inn not knowing what to expect but were blown away with the great staff who were incredibly helpful and welcoming. The room was above expectations and the food in the restaurant was simply fabulous - a great atmosphere and it turned from being just a place to stay to being one of the highlights of a great weekend. Highly recommended :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by andrew from Derby

One to revisit.

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
A gem hidden away in the countryside. Food to grace any London restaurant. Service second to none.couldnt fault. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

blue bell inn

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice although a mix up with the bill did spoil the evening slightly