Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north yorkshire

Great quiet stay

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: No fuss just booked in shown room and came and went as wanted
Location: Location was very convenient for us as we were attending a wedding in a nearby village. Plenty of historic places to visit within easy driving.
Hotel was very convenient for where we were attending a wedding. It was quiet the. Garden room was clean spacious comfortable and we would recommend it and would stay again when we are visiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Very nice hotel warm and friendly ideal for what we needed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

ONE NIGHT STAY

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Everything! the location, the staff, the room, the food
Cons: Possibly updating the dining area but it's not really a criticism.
Location: Beautiful Yorkshire countryside, close enough for a day trip to York or in the other direction a day at the seaside.
Stayed one night for a wedding. Lovely location, friendly staff and I loved my room. Would definitely book again if I was staying in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bolton UK

Good Accommodation but disappointing food.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Comfortable beds,clean attractive bedrooms. Setting and courtyard garden area.Nice countryside all around.Near to Castle Howard & Eden Camp.
Cons: The food quality and presentation.The chopped up fruit at breakfast was most unappealing.
Location: Castle Howard. Eden Camp.
They were in need of a second chef which didn't help.However the food quality - apart from breakfast- was a disappointment. The bedrooms were very pleasant and the young waitresses were friendly and polite.It is a pity that the food let the place down somewhat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Perfect location base for exploring North Yorks

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Friendly, accommodating owner and staff. Quiet location, food excellent, rooms beautifully clean. Only problem was lack of mobile phone signal - area problem, not the hotel's fault, but WiFi provided which was great. Hotel has a landline, which was made available for a local call. Would highly recommend as a place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AB

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Excellent food,could not be bettered in my opinion.
Ideal stop off or to stay if touring the area.Clean and comfortable.Quiet and plenty of parking space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the country

Posted May 26, 2015
Stayed one night, staff very obliging & helpful. Good food, comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Lovely spacious room in courtyard, excellent restaurant & friendly helpful staff . What else could you want? We'll be returning soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Great accommodation and good pub grub

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: The staff, the rooms, the location.
Cons: Nothing!
We have family in the Malton area and have stayed in many hotels between York and Scarborough. The Cresswell Arms is one of the best with excellent and spacious rooms in an annexe. The food is good pub grub bordering on gastro pub standard. Breakfasts are fantastic and the staff are really friendly. There is ample car parking and the location is ideal for trips to York or the coast. We will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely positioned for walking in the countryside.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly. Rooms were really clean and comfortable. Good breakfast, nicely served
Cons: The hotel is nice the way it is.
Location: Located in a small village. Malton town just a short drive away. Ideal place to stay if you are on a walking holiday.
Ours was a very short business stay but we plan to go back for a more leisurely break.