Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing, book it!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
We've stayed here a few times and recently booked four rooms for family members for an overnight stay. Each room was unique and utterly stunning and the food/drink is delicious. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the surrounding are amazing. Would highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Comfortable

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
A great individual hotel with excellent dining facilities and very comfortable rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An excellent hotel in Yorkshire

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
A warm welcome and great friendly service throughout our stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Beautifully decorated hotel with lovely view from terrace and some rooms
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing & unexpected hotel charges "Costly"

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing hotel that just isn't friendly to be honest. Firstly receptionist at check in didn't know if the hotel offered food all day basic information , didn't venture to find out even. Evening meal at the hotel was pre booked over a week prior to our visit for three, yet the table was set for two as they thought for some bizarre reason only two would be dining. Disorganised service , but the food was good so I will commend the varied & enjoyable food menu. I had paid extra through hotel.com for my 11 year old daughter to be in the same room as ourselves & thus requested two beds in the room as was on offer at the hotel. The tiny camp bed set up for an average sized 11 year old was appalling to say the least but as it was a one night stay we chose to go with it. The next day to be charged an additional £10 for the same camp bed was downright rude by the hotel in my opinion especially as I had already paid extra for three visitors on a dinner bed & breakfast inclusive arrangement via hotel.com.Then the hotel also charged for my daughters restaurant meal & an additional £5 charge for breakfast all in all I had paid £215 prior to arrival & an additional £48 charge for my daughters use of the hotel when I had paid for three on booking is appalling - so £263 for one nights stay not worthy charges. The hotel receptionist on leaving said all the additional charges were chargeable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unnecessary Charge

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Talbot is a beautiful hotel with great views and large comfortable rooms.
Cons: See above.
Location: Castle Howard is nearby.
We made an error in our reservation: June arrival versus July arrival. Somewhere between Orbitz and the hotel, they charged us an additional $100+ to make the change. Even though the room was prepared and they had space at the hotel. The hotel blamed Orbitz and Orbitz blamed the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Kazimierz

Hidden gem

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
The owner and staff were very friendly. It was a pleasure staying there. Tonic for the soul!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Well run hotel with historic character.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location; staff; overall ambiance.
Location: The hotel is well-situated for short drives to lovely historic places such as Castle Howard and Nunnington Hall.
We had a very pleasant stay - the staff were extremely polite and we were able to check in a little ahead of schedule. The hotel is well situated for a short stroll into the market square and has lovely views over surrounding countryside. It has a country house feel, with an elegant lounge with comfortable sofas. We did not eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was excellent. Our room was of a good size, with a comfortable bed and a good shower in the en-suite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First visit to Yorkshire

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful throughout our stay and phoned before we arrived to ask if we wanted to book an evening meal as the restaurant was filling. The room was large and airy and the grounds delightful and well kept. However there were only a few parking spaces near the front door, the main car parking being about 50 yards away up an incline. Our room was on the second floor and we had not realised from the website that there was no lift. Breakfast was excellent but we felt that food in the Wentworth restaurant was expensive so we ate once in the Brasserie.
4 out of 5
by mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels