Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Homely, relaxing cottage hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Homely atmosphere, garden and excellent food.
Cons: Smaller, shallower bath in Tinker bathroom takes forever to fill!; maybe shower instead of wardrobe in there.
Location: Close to Malvern and Ledbury. Walk the Malvern hills, visit the Morgan factory. Ledbury attractive historical town.
Warmly welcomed. Home from home. Good facilities and room somewhat restricted due to age of property - beam directly over bath, so you needed to watch your head! Cheap plastic toilet seat! Comfortable bed. Very relaxing and comfortable property. Lovely lounge with views over garden. Large lawned rear garden with plenty of seating. Dinner is served in pleasant dining room at rear of property overlooking garden. Excellently cooked food - both breakfast and evening meal. Could not fault either and the service. Would definitely stay again if in the area. Good access to Malvern and Ledbury. So good base to travel short distance to Malvern to tackle the hills. All in all a very pleasant experience and a lovely atmosphere pervades the property and all provided.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
All good, nothing too much trouble.All needs met,extremely friendly.
5 out of 5
by Barry

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely place in a tranquil setting. Nothing too much trouble for the owners and a most enjoyable nights stay. For anyone looking to stay in the area I would thoroughly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Barry

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely place in a tranquil setting. The owners are very accomodating with nothing being too much trouble. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing place to stay

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
I was on a business trip and the Holdfast Hotel was a very nice quiet hotel to stay at,overlooking lovely gardens; the room was warm and comfortable;. The breakfast was served quickly and was of a high standard.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holdfast to this Great Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
We were a party of four from Ireland visiting Cheltenham for a day of racing and the general area for a few days sightseeing. Holdfast Cottage Hotel proved an ideal base in the most peaceful and charming of settings at very reasonable rates. From the moment of our arrival it was clear that owners, Stephen and Julie, were totally committed to making our stay as memorable as possible and they did. Rooms were cosy and spotless, breakfast was freshly cooked and substantial and dinner so good each evening that we never considered dining anywhere else. A cosy well-stocked bar ensured that we didn't even have to move offsite for the aperitifs. Stephen can, on request, also arrange a good value, reliable taxi. Those seeking a base where peace, relaxation and outstanding quality of service and hospitality are standard, need look no further than Holdfast Cottage Hotel and its exceptional hosts Stephen and Julie. Thanks to both of you and indeed to our fellow guests for making our stay so enjoyable. William R
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Excellent Hotel, beautiful location.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The Location,the owners and the value for money.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The hotel is set in its own well kept grounds . Close to Malvern, the Hills and the Three Counties Show Ground.
We had a very pleasant stay. The Hotel was clean, the owners were very friendly and the food was fantastic. I would certainly stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Very little
Cons: Improve water pressure, modernise decor, update reception area,
Location: Close to walks on Malvern Hills
Hotel dated, shower had poor water pressure, more of a drizzle than a shower, evening meal overpriced
4 out of 5
by Isla from lincoln

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
food was very good. hotel was clean goodvalue for money.
4 out of 5
by Clive from Maidstone

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at holdfast were very friendly and willing to go out of their way to make everybody feel at home. The water pressure and temperature in the shower could do with improving as it's currently a little cold. Overall a great place to stay, we would definitely return.