Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Beautiful island resort

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Absolute paradise. After 9 trips to Fiji I have found the place I will keep coming back to. Four luxury nights in a beachfront villa, private and tastefully furnished. Friendly helpful staff, nothing was too much bother for them. Overall a very memorable holiday. I would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

4 days of relaxation

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Quiet hotel with incredible views and amazing staff Room was beautiful Food is mostly above average the best meals were seafood Needs more variety in wine by glass Massage recommended Has a lovely feel and would definitely go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Keri, Hotel Management
Vinaka
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful Resort, Terrible Food

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The island was beautiful and the Bure was lovely (great view).
Cons: Food and the service at the restaurant/bar.
Location: No other restaurants as this is the only resort on the island.
We were very torn about our experience at Matamanoa Island Resort. The island itself is stunning and does look exactly like the website photos, as does the Bure we stayed in. The beauty of the resort and the friendliness of its staff was unfortunately marred by the food. It was incredibly disappointing in terms of quality and very expensive considering what it was. For example, 95% of the food was tinned or frozen. Think - tinned mushrooms for breakfast and frozen mini spring rolls that you would find in your local grocery store. It was honestly shockingly bad. While the staff were friendly, particularly the entertainment staff and the deep blue diving staff, the service lacked. Often we had to ask several times for our order to be taken (once three times and then the meals both came out incorrectly). Overall we still enjoyed out stay, mainly because of the sheer beauty of the island and the activities, just be warned about the food (and there is no where else to eat so make sure you factor that in)!
5 out of 5
by Paul

Loved the resort and the staff - will go back

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Overall we loved the resort, the staff, the facilities, the dining room and the beachfront bure with plunge pool was amazing. We thought if the seaweed was cleared from the main beach each day it would have looked stunning. While had to pay for wifi, we chose not to which added to our relaxing getaway. Fairly expensive transfers, but same to all island resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Relaxing and secluded paradise

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Lastminute
Cons: Could include free WiFi although being 'unplugged' for a while is not the end of the world.
The island is the perfect size and location for those looking for a romantic, secluded, relaxing getaway. It is large enough to keep you interested but small enough to be private and to feel away from the world. Importantly all of the island is accessible for the purposes of diving, exploring, beaching etc so you can always easily find somewhere just for yourself. The villas are well worth the outlay and provide privacy with that added bit of luxury with great views. Worth upgrading. Staff are super friendly and happy to assist whenever possible. Would recommend long stays rather than only a couple of nights as after 4 nights you are fully relaxed and by 7 nights you are part of the family. Ideal stay is 5-7 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NSW

Perfect in every way.

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Wotif
If you are searching for a peaceful place that has friendly staff, a beach bure literally 3metres from the beach, and a reef directly at your doorstep Matamonoa is worth every dollar. Food was top notch every day, we opted to only have breakfast included and paid for dinner (lunch never needed if you ate heaps at the Fiji style buffet breakfast). Plenty of activities for those who like to keep busy, kayaks, hobi cats, small mountains to hike, chess, tennis, ping pong, volleyball and heaps of other Fijian activities the staff put on. Or you can simply lounge around in your Bure and all the other comfortable lounges around the island. Spectacular views from everywhere you sit. Perfect white sand and crystal clear water with numerous shades of blue. It was sunny for the whole 7days we visited and it really was perfect to relax the mind, body and soul. Also had an amazing massage in an amazing location, definitely a must do if you're an early riser is the couples sunrise massage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great hotel on one of the islands in Fij

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Staff was very friendly, rooms were in very good condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Awesome

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Awesome snorkeling great staff and very nice accomodation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Honeymooners

Posted Dec 18, 2016
This place was impossible to get a hold of prior to us visiting Fiji. Not ever traveling to Fiji before we had no idea how hard and expensive it actually was going to be to get to this specific island. After multiple attempts to email and all we finally decided to just wait till we were in the country since we figured it would be easier. For whatever reason though it was still extremely expensive. From the island we were on going to the island we had to go to was a 1 hour round trip pick up and drop off the hotel wanted to charge us $840 Fiji to pick us up and drop us off. Fijians make around $30-60 Fijian a day and the fuel would have been no more than $100 Fijian... so this seemed A but excessive... after negotiating with 2 hotels we finally got this price down to $600 Fiji but mind you the hotel only cost that for the night. TAKE NOTE - do not try to jump to this hotel book and come from the mainland (Denarau) I got sick on the island so hung out in the room which was ok, for the up charge we highly suggest upgrading to a beach front bure it is well worth the money. (We attempted to and the lady told us she would come to the room with our new keys but never showed up hence the photo of me lying down on the bench) The island is beautiful but windy and the beach is fairly rocky. The king size bed they offer is two twins stuck together with hardly any padding on top so as a couple one of you will end up in the crack. It's adult only so that is nice and the resta
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low key resort

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
The staff could have better training. We stayed at Tokoriki and the experience was much better. To be fair this resort was much cheaper than Tokoriki