Ratings based on 1,159 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Small hotel with clean comfortable rooms at a good price.Very good complimentary brunch. Short drive to Mammoth Lakes Village as well as lakes and hiking. right across from a lift for skiers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mammoth Lakes, CA

You can't trust a photo.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
I selected this hotel based upon photos that showed a cozy fireplace and what appeared to be a spacious, well appointed room. In reality it was cramped, basic and the fixtures were dated. The bathroom sink is crammed in next to the door of the room. The fireplace was just an electric unit that was popped into The corner of the room. The manager who greeted us was great, thoughtful in his great effort to help me get an extra room refunded and an enjoyable personality. But the web pictures are very misleading. I wanted a greater amount of luxurious appointments and this fell very short. I would not stay here again. If I wanted this halibut of furnishings, I would have saved money and gone to Travelodge
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great location but the hotel smelled and was dirty

Posted Oct 19, 2017
The photos were deceiving. When I arrived at the hotel I needed to use the hotel bathroom and to my surprising I found mouse droppings in the restroom. By then it was too late to cancel my reservations so my husband and I stuck it out to see if the rest of the hotel was much better. The staff was friendly but the rooms were outdated, the rooms smelled musky, and the carpets were stained. Complementary breakfast was interesting because the of the dishes were stained and not scrubbed that well. Overall, this place is great to stay at if you just need a place to stay by the Ski resort but cleanliness rated very low.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

misled by expedi pictures and staff

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The 'condo' was a room off of a common smelly corridor. We never did figure out what the smell was but the floors were filthy. The room was very dark and also had an odor when we opened the door. It took us 30 minutes how to figure out how to turn all of the lights on in the room and where everything was. This exceeded the 15 minutes that we had to report any defects. Ghere were dirty footprints in the carpet all over the room. There were some nice upgrades and it looked like everything above the carpet was clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gardena california

misled by Expedia photos

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: location to lakes and ski lifts in winter.
Cons: Clarify what is included with your room. Expedia shows a swimming pool and exercise room which are not for the guests of the hotel. Very misleading
Location: excellent location for snow sports in the winter with lifts located within walking distance. Came in the fall for trout fishing and site seeing.
office staff nice and helpful. Convenient restaurant with a lite continental breakfast included. Also bar located next to restaurant. The Bartender must have been busy because she was "short" and unprofessional with my wife which ruined any more visits to the restaurant or bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Might be good for skiing but we went in summer.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Resturant was very good and a good price for guests.
Pretty nice for price we were happy until we took a shower. Old building shower water changed temp constantly, ended up taking bath. Needs new plumbing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la verne

Cloudy jacuzzi

Posted Oct 3, 2017
I'm only reading this a three star because the Jacuzzi was very cloudy and it had a weird smell other than that everything was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Nice big room with gas fireplace but it could use a couch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Great view

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Very clean, good breakfast, quiet, great location, hotel staff were friendly and knowledgeable
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

Convenient to the Slopes.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The place is out of date. Everything in the room but the television seems to date back to 1972. That's okay with me though since I'm in the mountains. The Austriahof is cozy. The hot tub situation is terrible. I certainly wouldn't enter if there was someone else in it. The best part is the restaurant in the basement. The food is wonderful.