Ratings based on 1,141 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

misled by expedi pictures and staff

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The 'condo' was a room off of a common smelly corridor. We never did figure out what the smell was but the floors were filthy. The room was very dark and also had an odor when we opened the door. It took us 30 minutes how to figure out how to turn all of the lights on in the room and where everything was. This exceeded the 15 minutes that we had to report any defects. Ghere were dirty footprints in the carpet all over the room. There were some nice upgrades and it looked like everything above the carpet was clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gardena california

misled by Expedia photos

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: location to lakes and ski lifts in winter.
Cons: Clarify what is included with your room. Expedia shows a swimming pool and exercise room which are not for the guests of the hotel. Very misleading
Location: excellent location for snow sports in the winter with lifts located within walking distance. Came in the fall for trout fishing and site seeing.
office staff nice and helpful. Convenient restaurant with a lite continental breakfast included. Also bar located next to restaurant. The Bartender must have been busy because she was "short" and unprofessional with my wife which ruined any more visits to the restaurant or bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Might be good for skiing but we went in summer.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Resturant was very good and a good price for guests.
Pretty nice for price we were happy until we took a shower. Old building shower water changed temp constantly, ended up taking bath. Needs new plumbing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la verne

Cloudy jacuzzi

Posted Oct 3, 2017
I'm only reading this a three star because the Jacuzzi was very cloudy and it had a weird smell other than that everything was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Nice big room with gas fireplace but it could use a couch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Great view

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Very clean, good breakfast, quiet, great location, hotel staff were friendly and knowledgeable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

Convenient to the Slopes.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The place is out of date. Everything in the room but the television seems to date back to 1972. That's okay with me though since I'm in the mountains. The Austriahof is cozy. The hot tub situation is terrible. I certainly wouldn't enter if there was someone else in it. The best part is the restaurant in the basement. The food is wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Room was actually in Westin Monache just by Mammoth village so location great. Stayed for 2 nights and there was no maid service so had to re-use towels which was poor customer service. For the price we paid do not feel it was good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Hotel with all you need in one place.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Restaurant and Bar, continental breakfast. Quiet location (not sure in Winter).
Cons: New carpet, Paint,
Location: For Skiers this is the place walking distance to Canyon Lodge lift. 1 1/2 miles into town.
Last hotel on Canyon Rd walking distance to Canyon Lodge lift. Restaurant and bar in hotel for convenience. Good food, fair prices on drinks. Evenings were quiet in your room. Very knowledgeable staff with recommendations on hiking, restaurants and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IN

Lovely!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Hotel was so cute! Small feel, family owned place. I appreciate that! Negatives were the restaurant staff (not the friendliest or most attentive) and the stairs. To get to the lobby to check in, there is a flight of metal steps outside. From the lobby, you have to then go down a flight of stairs to get to the restaurant and bar or go up one or two flights of stairs to get to the room. My mom has knee problems and had some trouble with all the steps. There may have been an elevator hidden but we couldn't find it. Overall, the hotel is so adorable and lovely! Restaurant has delicious food! Very close to the ski lift if you go during snow skiing season too. The town of Mammoth has many shops to browse around. Would stay again if in the area!