Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Nice hotel for relaxation

Posted Aug 16, 2015
We were on the all inclusive package and stayed at a 3 BR Villa. The villa was roomy and comfortable for a family of 6. Hotel had adequate amenities (pools, beaches, restaurants and bars). Staff was excellent. Hotel had family activities such as karaoke, bingo, catamaran sailings. Water sports available such as the hobie, kayaks, paddle boards and peddle boats were very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbia. md

Nice hotel on the beach. Fantastic breeze

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The Atlantic side beach, the scenic view on the hillside, good for exercising. The staff, the food.
Cons: The rooms outdated especially bathroom- 1 switch for all the lights-
On the Atlantic side of resort, there is a constant breeze on the beach throughout the day ,Fantastic!!!!!!! I am spoiled forever. That was the highlight of my stay. I would return just for that. The room was clean but outdated, all the lights in the bathroom controlled by 1 switch-not an energy saver. The staff was good, helpful especially Rochelle, Lisa and Prince. Enjoyed the food and the different theme nights for dinner and entertainment. All And All I would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Right on the beach, spacious villas.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
We stayed in a 4 bedroom villa. It was very large and cleaned nicely every day. Convenient to beach and very nicely set up resort. It's a great place if you want quiet. There are not a lot of activities in the evening. It would be nice to have some local entertainment. My biggest complaint was there was not enough staff working at check in time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mandeville, la.

nice but not perfect.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: beaches/ snorkeling, food is good, drinks are plentiful and not weak.
Cons: as above, AC in room was weak, got fairly hot at night. Room keys are huge and they only gave us one for 3 peopl.
Location: ocean and bay is great, had ocean front room which had great view, snorkeling in horseshoe bay was best we saw on island, reef fishing was fun.
Antigua is a really beautiful island and the st james overall provides a nice vacation spot. Having said that, there were a few things that were a little annoying and kept it from being great. The hotel is on the opposite side of the island from St. john and many activities. If you don't want to rent a car and drive on the left side you are stuck using cabs, there are no shuttles. The cabs cost a fair amount of money and that money is cash. Problem, nearest ATM is in the next town, a $20 cab ride (each way). You go through cash quick unless you are willing to just stay at the resort, which is fine but the island offers many activities. Internet. they say internet is free, well only in public areas, if you want it in your room its $60 a week for 2 devices. that kind of nickel and diming is annoying. There is no town or stores near so make sure you pack everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Paradise with great staff

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Gorgeous grounds, wonderful staff and all inclusive ease made our stay wonderful. Ocean and bay options for beaches and several restaurants to choose from. Beautiful room with great views. Definitely recommmend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Nice resort with seaweed filled beach.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: The Royal Suite rooms were clean and spacious. The food was very good and so were the water activities.
Cons: It would be nice if wait service for drinks could be offered at the pools.
Location: This is not the place to come if you want to leave the resort. Nice beaches are 30-45 minutes away as are towns.
The resort was lovely, but unfortunately, there was LOTS of seaweed at the beach. Workers used pitchforks and trucks every day to pick it up and haul it away. Some was accumulated at an area behind the Royal Suites pool and the smell was noticeable. The seaweed was not the fault of the resort, but it certainly put a damper on our stay. Most of the staff were extremely friendly, although a few were not. We were surprised with a lovely package upon check-in which included two 45 minute massages, dinner for two at Piccolo Mondo, a sailboat ride for two, and a bottle of champagne. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our massages and the dinner at Piccolo Mondo. Unfortunately the sunset cruise we booked was cancelled due to the weather. We enjoyed the food, from the omelet station in the morning, to the chef stations at the buffets. There was plenty to eat. The house wines were fine. The live music at the Docksider restaurant was very good. The blender drinks were tasty, but the local beer (the only available) was nothing special. The liquor was all house brands. The Royal Suite room was lovely. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge featuring two sinks, two shower heads and a huge bathtub. The AC shuts off if you are not in the room for a while. Once that feature was bypassed, our room was always comfortable. There are plenty of non-motorized water sports available - kayaking, paddle boat, pedal boat, and sailboat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing beach front hotel. A++

Posted Jun 16, 2015
I had a Wonderful experience. Extremely friendly and warm staff. The food was good drinks were awesome entertainment good and all accommodations were met. I had a blast! !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Too expensive. Not enough bang for your buck.

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: The staff was awesome.
Cons: More for your money. Stocked fridges and poolside bars.
Location: It's out of the way and you have to spend about 30 USD to get anywhere.
It's a nice hotel but I've come to expect more from an all inclusive at this price range. The fridge in my room wasn't stocked with anything. The room service number sent me to voicemail. A few of the beaches were overrun with seaweed. The keys for the doors and safes are antiquated. On the upside the staff is attentive and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort with beautiful location

Posted May 17, 2015
A satisfying experience. Perfect location with windward and leeward beaches. Friendly staff and good housekeeping made our stay very pleasant. The food was average, but not exceptional.