Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic clean hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Just had a week at Hotel Sol Romantica, the facilities are basic and dated but very clean. Parts of the hotel have been upgraded and are much better rooms. The food is not bad the the price. Hotel staff all speak very good English as well as other languages. Lovely quiet location but no evening entertainment and fairly remote so a Car is the best way to get around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good Hotel in quite location - need a car!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: It's location and layout with the restaurant.
Cons: Sun loungers need updating
Location: Close to lots of nice beaches and Porto Christo and Porto Colom
This hotel is a small but excellent base for a week or two, as with some reviews we read it is a little dated but everywhere is kept clean and the restaurant food is excellent. Only slight issue was the noise from the larger resort next door some nights. Also note that this place is very popular with locals who on the weekend enjoy the restaurant and pool aera so it gets busy, .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Too far away from anything!

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Booked this hotel by accident and was hoping it would be ok. There are no restaurants or bars local to the hotel which meant a trip into Porto Cristo or eat at the hotel. Taking trips was a little difficult to do by yourselves although there is a bus stop outside and a tourist train goes into Porto Cristo once an hour. Book a car......my biggest top!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Great value hotel in a pleasant area

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: All the staff were fantastic and always happy to help.
Location: I am pleased we had hired a car though the bus stop was right outside
We booked this hotel as part of a late deal package and were very pleasantly impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bartosz

Great place

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on CheapTickets
Calm and beautiful place in lovely Cala Romantica.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely quiet venue

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
A week base for climbing and road biking. Perfect quiet location, apartment had everything we needed. lovely balcony with sea view. We used the Hotel bar - nice helpful staff - relaxing place to have a pre dinner drink and use wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Goffs Oak, Herts

Lovely family run hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The staff are lovely. The restaurant is very good, reasonable prices and wine is good. The pool is a good size and well kept.
Cons: A light is needed in the kitchenette area and the pool sunbeds need upgrading
Location: Quiet relaxing location. Worth a trip into Porto Cristo, especially for a wider choice of restaurants and a little shopping.
Ideal for a mini break. Very helpful staff, little supermarket close by. Local 'tourist' train stops right outside the hotel - costs Euros4.50 pp for a round trip. Only 10 to 15 min walk to local beach but the walk back is all up hill!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Pleasant Appearance

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: We had a downstairs unit & they had a good size terrace off of the room.
Cons: Needs air conditioning. The television with 3 channels had only german speaking programs, no english or spanish. English tv channels would be good.
Location: Not far from Porto Cristo & Caves Drach.
The hotel was clean. We did not spend much time at the hotel. We were visiting friends that live nearby. It is good to have a car if you want to travel around the island. The hotel has a pleasant appearance. We did not eat at the restaurant there. We did not use the pool either. There are several beaches not far away, but a long walk. There are also some restaurants not far away, but also a long walk. It does not have much in the way of kitchen supplies. No coffee pot.
3 out of 5
by tonaldo from northampton

in the middle of nowhere

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
The apartments are in a residential area which is very quiet and peaceful. This is great unless you need to buy some supplies. The nearest shop (and beach) is about a mile away down a very steep hill. Walking up a very steep hill with shopping bags in super hot sun is not a great deal of fun! You could however always buy a can of coke at the apartments for €2.20! The food at the apartments was fine, which is lucky as you have to go back down by the shop to find another restaurant. The cooker didn't work in our room, so we had to eat in the restaurant a lot. The towels get changed after 4 days and the sheets don't get changed and the room doesn't get cleaned. The staff are nice enough, if extremely slow to serve you. The pool was nice and as there were hardly any guests, it was always quite empty. So all in all, a fair place in a very quiet location, but there is absolutely nothing to do and you need to be pretty fit if you want to go out and buy essentials like water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy beds

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Comfy beds