Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

Quiet hotel with lovely restaurant

Posted Nov 9, 2017
we visited this hotel out of season, so it was relatively quiet, but very enjoyable. the apartments are well stocked with pans, tea towels, washing up liquid etc. There is plenty of space for 2 (I wouldn't recommend for 3) and it is only a short walk to shops and the beach (although the hill is quite steep). We had a hire car which was invaluable for getting about, but if you want just beach and pool holiday, this is not necessary.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
The best service. Special thanks to Alesh. He is very professional, helpful & always happy to answer your questions. Well located. Close to the best beaches. Quiet neighborhood and safe. Very good restaurant. Easy parking. Relaxed atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by Emma

September 2017 -- stayed as a couple

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
The apartments have an absolutely beautiful pool, and the area is lovely and quiet. Our apartment had a spectacular sea view. The restaurant was also lovely, very well priced and excellent food. However, be advised that you really do need a car if you're going to stay here. It is a LONG walk down to the nearest beach, and an even longer one to somewhere with a supermarket or any amenities. This would be perfect for a quiet stay, but we did not have a car, which was a bit of a problem. Hiking up very steep hills in the heat gets tiring! The apartments themselves were clean but a bit basic. Still, we had a lovely time.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from weston s mare

Excellent quiet position

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: The staff and the off street parking. Low rise. nice gardens and quiet Pool area and great tennis court Live guitar music was good
Cons: Decent tennis balls - poor balls meant we could not play Kettle in all rooms Dish cloths etc need changing more than once a week - health hazard
Location: You need a car if you wish to see rest of the island. Beach is great but a 20 minute walk downhill/ uphill. Good cliff walks.
A good location - very peaceful and quiet. Pool and pool area were lovely and tennis court was in good condition. Room had been recently decorated and was very clean on arrival. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from The Midlands, UK

3 night stay

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Ebookers
The facilities provided in our self catering apartment were the best and cleanest I've come across. Everything you needed and more were provided, eg: washing up liquid, cloth, tea towel, clothes airer. The fan provided did a good job at helping to keep the room cool at night , the balcony was spacious and also quite private. The pool and gardens were maintained to a high level. Arriving on a Sunday afternoon the place was packed with locals enjoying the facilities, however we were very pleased to discover on Monday morning that they had only been day visitors and subsequently the rest of our stay was very peaceful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Essex

Wouldn't recommend to British people

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The food.
Cons: The staff! More flexible attitude. Different menu to reflect not everyone wants a large meal for lunch.
Location: There is nothing nearby, not even a small shop. Nearest place is probably a good 40 minute walk where there is a souvenir shop, bar and pizza place.
Rooms are nice, good size. Pool and surrounding area very nice. Food very good but not what I'd call "holiday" food - they didn't do snacks at lunchtime, it was all large, quite expensive main courses. No tapas. Miles from anywhere, and the one taxi we did get was very rude and said something we heard several times we were there "you English". It's very geared up for local Spanish people to come in the afternoons with their kids to use the pool etc. We very much felt we were an inconvenience. In the mornings they watered the grass area round the pool until about 11 so the sunbeds were getting soaked and large areas of the grass and most of the sunbeds couldn't be used while the sprinklers were on. They even mowed the grass around the pool at about 10am and made us move off our sunbeds so they could do it. Everything was set up for the arrival of the locals in the afternoon. Room wasn't ready when we arrived and we had to wait a couple of hours. Requested a 20 euro deposit for the use of a kettle - never heard of that before! No air con, although there was a fan in the room and a ceiling fan. Overall felt that there was a general expectation of "The English" all being louts and we were treated accordingly. Some of the staff were pleasant, but some were quite rude. Service was slow. Overall very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic clean hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Just had a week at Hotel Sol Romantica, the facilities are basic and dated but very clean. Parts of the hotel have been upgraded and are much better rooms. The food is not bad the the price. Hotel staff all speak very good English as well as other languages. Lovely quiet location but no evening entertainment and fairly remote so a Car is the best way to get around.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good Hotel in quite location - need a car!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: It's location and layout with the restaurant.
Cons: Sun loungers need updating
Location: Close to lots of nice beaches and Porto Christo and Porto Colom
This hotel is a small but excellent base for a week or two, as with some reviews we read it is a little dated but everywhere is kept clean and the restaurant food is excellent. Only slight issue was the noise from the larger resort next door some nights. Also note that this place is very popular with locals who on the weekend enjoy the restaurant and pool aera so it gets busy, .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Too far away from anything!

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Booked this hotel by accident and was hoping it would be ok. There are no restaurants or bars local to the hotel which meant a trip into Porto Cristo or eat at the hotel. Taking trips was a little difficult to do by yourselves although there is a bus stop outside and a tourist train goes into Porto Cristo once an hour. Book a car......my biggest top!
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Great value hotel in a pleasant area

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: All the staff were fantastic and always happy to help.
Location: I am pleased we had hired a car though the bus stop was right outside
We booked this hotel as part of a late deal package and were very pleasantly impressed.