Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Good for the price.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Staff was friendly. Pool was small, but it's a good way to refresh since its always hot. The rooms had A.C., always a must have in Managua.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great place in Nicaragua

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast, funny parrots
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

The friendliest hotel in managua

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The staff was cordial, treated the guests like family and was very friendly.
Cons: I would tighten up the faucet and spout in the bathroom.
Location: Local shopping at the Inter Plaza mall. Very local place with a lot of local people. Taxis are cheap to take you anywhere.
I only stayed one night but that night was truly a memorable experience. Frederick the hotel clerk was exceptional. He greated me at the door welcomed me as "family" and asked me what kind of room I wanted he he had several open. Frederick offered me a tour of the town at night since he was getting off work. He asked if i wanted to go clubbing since it was my only night in town and he knew of some discoteques and gay bars. Note to those traveling as gay, there are no gay bars open during the week. Frederick and i toured the night life in Managua which was pitiful to say the least but again it was a monday night...We finally found a Nicaraguan karakoe bar that we had a lot of fun at. Staying the room overnight was nice and peaceful. The parrots and toucan was the morning alarm clock for me at 6:00 a.m. Managua was hot that evening so the air conditioning helped a lot. Overall the place was great. Fantastic staff, friendly people, good wifi, clean room and it a/c and tv. The place is eclectic and to me it was off the beaten path for the city and food but I found a street vendor that cooked up a decent for Nicargua burger. I would totally stay at thisotel again when I visit Nicaragua.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

Very nice

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Orbitz
I stayed at the Art Hotel for three days with my boyfriend. We arrived around 10:30 pm we able able to check in with no issue. The room was quite small though but was comfy. The WiFi did not work that well in the room, the breakfast was tasty! Overall, I had a good experience at this hotel, I would definitely come back. Attractions were far from this hotel you need to rent a car or use a taxi which can be quite costly. Also, parrots roam freely through out this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Isolated location but that is Managua.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Staff. The owners let their individual personalities shine through. We had a good time. Reasonable price.
Cons: More comfortable courtyard, eating & pool furniture. Paint & redecorate the common areas. Upgrade the exercise area & demolish structure.
Location: Isolated. Some small parks for kids. Two nice local lunch spots with hot tables. Walmart.
Hotel & neighborhood has seen better days but place is undergoing slow renovation. I was there a week. Front on Front on street was under construction & the courtyard ceiling was taken down when I was there. Common areas dated. Eating area needs fresh paint etc. First room was small/no window but they offered my move to a larger room. It was pleasant. Comfy/AC/TV etc. Beds good & fresh linen daily. Furniture by the pool & in the courtyard was not comfortable for stretching out & reading. Staff very friendly. They all aimed to help. The front desk staff was not from Managua & couldn't really assist on recommending tours etc. They need training on this.There were no maps in the place . I was lost for a day or so. Managua's sites are scattered & you need to do home work on where it is safe to walk etc. I stayed close to hotel. Breakfast is not buffet style. It is order what you like from a range of options that they will outline. You have to ask for everything & speak up if they don't mention something you might like. [i.e. jam for your toast]. But all is tasty. Lunch & supper options are limited so I found two local places that were very close by with hot tables. Food there was excellent & cheap.
3 out of 5
by Carlos julio

simple , basic

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Simple Hotel, helpful staff . I will find transportation on my own, what they found was more expensive and not as good as what I fond.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Friendly Staff

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Loved the parrots
Cons: Larger room,i guess they have them,but we didnt get one
Location: Walked alot,nothing interesting in particular
Room was to small,no windows,pool was'nt clean so didn't have a swim
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Nice small, clean, quiet hotel.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Very clean. Very helpful, friendly staff. Good food. Quiet surroundings.
Cons: More water pressure, and hot water (although I believe this sometimes has to do with the city). Parrots, while entertaining, were annoying loud.
Location: Residential area. Park nearby with benches and courts where kids play soccer, volleyball and basketball. Nearby restaurants are expensive.
I had done a lot of research on affordable hotels in the area, and kept coming back to this one after reading the reviews. While only staying for a week, I found it to be exactly what I needed and what the reviews said. It was clean, quiet and affordable. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and both spoke and understood English well. There are about 12 rooms of different sizes. The free breakfast is delicious, and there is food available to buy from their menu 24 hours a day at reasonable prices. It was quiet, except for the few days that I happened to be there when they were doing repairs and paving of the street, and also renovations to the hotel. The in-house parrots there are quite entertaining, but can also be loud and annoying first thing in the morning (like 6:00). Other than those things, the hotel was quiet. The small pool was refreshing but not always cleaned, (just leaves and things recently fallen). The courtyard was frequently swept and kept clean. The rooms and washrooms were very clean. The administrator was friendly and knowledgeable, and looked like he was continuing to make further improvements in how things are run and in customer service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Convenient place to stay

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: in room bathrooms, accommodating and friendly staff, an included breakfast and ac.
Cons: Their reservation system
Location: Managua is a send off to many beautiful areas of the country. I can't fathom Managua, itself, being a vacation destination.
Nice staff and while the accommodations are truly basic, they are some of the best accommodations around. Our reservation was screwed up from day 1, this hotel did not understand that we rented two rooms for one night, only one room was available when we arrived. Fortunately for us, another room was empty. Before leaving, we wanted to prevent this from occurring again and so we reminded staff that our next reservation (last night in Nicaragua) for two rooms was on 1/5. We also sent a message three days (to their website) before our second stay reminding them of our upcoming reservation for two rooms. No one responded to our website message and when we arrived on the 5th, only one room was available. We even asked out taxi driver from San Juan del Sur to call and confirm our reservations in the earlier in the evening. When we arrived that night, we had to show our expedia reservations for them to understand that we had two rooms. It's apparent that the Art Hotel doesn't follow or even understand basic expedia reservations. On 1/5, there was only one room available and they ended up giving up a room for someone else scheduled to arrive later. That was nice, I guess, but certainly no way to run a business. The people are extremely accommodating and helpful. This is not the fault of most who work there, this is a reservation management issue and needs to be fixed.
4 out of 5
by Steven

Pleasant hotel with good staff

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again. The staff are friendly and attentive. The general condition of the hotel is not fantastic but they do seem to be slowly improving things - I have visited several times. My room had a small wardrobe which was locked and I never had a key so couldn't use it. The shower only gave hot water once during my stay. The pool water is kept reasonably clean but the tile is not so clean. The hotel can arrange taxi to and from the airport and I found the service reliable. The street is fairly quiet.