Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Noisy and bats in the rooms

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: See above.
Location: Once you got to the main square you were in the area of good restaurants.
We knew our bathroom would not be ensure but did not expect to have to cross the courtyard to get there. As this is a colonial house the only thing separating our bed from the street was an old colonial door which you could see light under. The traffic on Calle Libertad is constant and noisy. During heavy traffic periods the smell of exhaust and diesel entered the room. In addition there was a bat trapped in the corner of our 16 foot ceiling. We mentioned this to the manager and he was not concerned. "Yes,we have bats. They come in through the ceiling. We were moved to another room and heard the group of bats return "home" to our room each morning around 5:00 am. Bats carry disease. Also the person in the room next to ours smoked a lot and through the night and the smell of smoke would come through another colonial door that was locked but you could see light around it as well. The two long blocks that we had to walk to the main square were sketchy at night. We have travelled to third world countries for years staying in modest accommodation. This was one of our worst experiences. I would not recommend this accommodation to anyone and don't know why it is rated so highly. We are not fussy people but 3 nights in this hotel was 3 nights too many.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Charming Old Colonial Building but it stops there

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Old Historic Colonial Building. Small outdoor pool.
Cons: We should have read previous comments more closely. Bathrooms are not in the room and are across the hallway. The air conditioners are inadequate to cool the rooms, especially the larger ones. Cleaning and maintenance leaves a lot to be desired. Surly and unhelpful hotel staff. No on site manager. Our reservation clearly states breakfast was included. Hotel refused to honor it even after we showed them, telling us that the rate we paid does not include breakfast. So no breakfast for the 2 days we stayed, nor did we even see a breakfast or dining room at the hotel.
Location: Restaurant area is several blocks away. Recommend taking a taxi, especially at night.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Boston

My slice of heaven in Granada.

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second time a the Hotel La Bocona. I came a second time because I had such a positive experience the first time I visited Granada a year earlier. I found the room to be of superior quality, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. The hotel itself is spacious, has an incredibly comfortable spa, pool, and friendly staff. The breakfast food is fantastic with options for vegetarians + gluten-free. The staff go above and beyond! This trip I needed to get through edits on a book I am writing. I had a very comfortable working area by my room. The quiet and peaceful environment helped me work through the entire draft. I can't wait to return again soon.
2 out of 5
by Marc from A;lbany, NY

A Big Disappointment

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has great potential with a very good staff, a beautiful old building, an outstanding collection of contemporary art and large comfortable common space. It is badly in need of updating and greater attention to details. As some examples, our room had AC but the unit was too small to adequately cool our spacious high ceilinged room and had only two settings on/off, our closet had two bent wire hangars (additional ones were same) breakfast included juice (only ice tea first two days), mixed fruit - one fruit only, nice pool with missing tiles, large nice bathroom, but no window and fan inadequate to cool the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great location

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Very helpful staff and a beautiful room. The site says a king size bed though and its only a double, and not very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Diane from Canada

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. The women working there were great! The one problem is street noise and the room was very warm our first night. The second night the hotel provided a floor fan which helped. The air conditioner is not big enough for the beautifully large room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from Okotoks Alberta Canada

Wonderful hotel close to the square and restaurant

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Charm of the restored grand building and hotel staff contributed to an extremely pleasurable stay in Granada.
Location: Located 2 blocks from the main square close to restaurants, activities, ATM and great people watching. Very safe to walk at night.
Hotel La Bocana was a great hotel. The building itself is magnificent with a lovely courtyard and a separate area with an outdoor pool, lounging chairs and hammocks. The bedrooms are huge. Even though the large private bathrooms are across the courtyard, this was not an inconvenience, but part of the charm. Each room has a private three piece bathroom. The staff were very helpful, polite, and showed great pride in the hotel, their city, and themselves. The complimentary breakfast was good home cooked quality with individual service with a smile.
5 out of 5
by Jenn from USA

Ideal Private Colonial Suite

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels
My husband enjoyed 3 evenings with the hotel this past January. We enjoyed the colonial charm of the hotel, as well as the privacy it afforded us. We were within a 5 minute walk from central park and yet had the luxury of escaping to our own private courtyards & pool in the evenings. Breakfast was a delight, our airport transfers a breeze, and the massage (from Balance spa located in the hotel) was phenomenal!
5 out of 5
by Diana from Canada

Great Authentic Stay

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is very authentic, clean, & friendly. The breakfast that we received every morning was amazing. Freshly prepared, and a couple different items to chose from. Fruit, coffee, fresh squeezed juice, and a breakfast main like crepes and american style breakfasts. There is only about 6 rooms in this hotel so it feels intimate, but enough space for everyone. The hotel manager helped us book several trips around town and reserved us tables at some great restaurants. I will definitely stay here again when in Granada!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Inder from Washington, DC

Great small hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Location. Large rooms. Great ambiance of a small private mansion.
Cons: Nothing.
Our family of four adults stayed at La Bocana over Thanksgiving. It was a great experience. The hotel is well located. The rooms are large and comfortable. We were in the large suite that sleeps four on two queen size beds. The staff excellent.One minor drawback is that the bathrooms are not attached. But you astill get your own private bathroom located on one side of the courtyard. Given that it is a small (6 room) hotel, this is not a big dea. Thebreakfast is fantastic, served by four very caring and gentle kitchen ladies, who also make the rooms. Don't forget to tip them. They deserve it. Recommend highly.