Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by michele

Awal inner Souk

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Awal is situated in the heart of the souk. It is an older gracious style of hotel but very solid with a faded charm. It represents excellent value for money and I would return in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AU

Great location for seeing the local Bahraini life.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Very friendly genuine staff and cafe. Great location - next to the souk but 6th floor rom was very quite. Desk staffed 24hrs.
Cons: Bathroom - as mentioned above. Information about access by self driven car from airport.
Location: The souk is metres away, taxis 2 mins walk away, it is in the absolute old centre of Bahrains capital city. Access to highways for local sights v good
The hotel is in a very crowded area very close to the Manama souk. Initially we found it very hard to find it in our rental car bcs of arriving at early am and all the one way streets. The hotel could provide info as to how to get to the front door from the airport. That said the parking arrangements are good - managed by the hotel and secure. The room facilities were basic but very comfortable and clean. Everything we asked for came quickly and with a smile. The fridge and A/C were excellent. Pvt balcony for smoking. Large room and clean well appointed bathroom. Bathroom issues were water pressure and temperature - needs fixing. But it is 2 minutes from Bab el Bahrain and the Manama souk. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Good value for money budget hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were great but the hotel a little tired. The location is nosy at night but really interesting to walk around. Felt safe wandering alone, plenty of places to eat and the hotel has it's own carpark which was a real benefit as on street parking is really tough to find a space.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel entrace steet itself can put you off.

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
if you can stand cockroaches and flies, it is okay. Great service, front desk manager was helpful, changed room to sixth floor, but still condition was not really good. Budget wise also may not be the right price. Hotel across the road, International Hotel (five stars) was charging BHD 33 and Awal Hotel charged me BHD 22. Better to pay more and have comfortable stay. I wouldn't recommend price wise and cleanliness wise. I booked for single room and was charged for double.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manila

Amazing hoel!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Near the area I would have wanted to go.
Cons: Nothing everything is just fine.
Location: Shops, restaurant and nightlife is just around the corner.
Near all the places you have wanted to go. The restaurant, shops and nightlife are all walking distance from the hotel. A great value indeed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by hany from Egypt

very nice hotel

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
very nice location, great staff, room is very comfortable
3 out of 5
by Hassan

All good but one thing

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was pretty good for the price except my friend slept under the sheets and got a rash from bed bugs, i was safe cuz i slept on top. If they just get rid of those then i couldnt ask for more.
3 out of 5
by ANANDAN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible!

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
We had booked a double-bed room which was not available on the day we checked-in, so they joined 2 twin beds to make it a double-bed! While we were waiting for the room to be ready, a drunk beggar walked in to the reception asking for money. I wonder what was the security doing? How could this man simply walk-in? We had to tell the receptionist to call the security, who at first paid no attention to us and just ignored the beggar too. He only called the security when we raised our voice louder than the new year's music going on. We also had to FIGHT to get the "free internet service" which was a part of our deal. There was NO FREE PARKING which was included in the charges. The room was not clean. The bathroom had water leakages. Will never ever go to this hotel again.