Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Close to all

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Very nice place, I would stay there again, the hotel was very clean the room spacious
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you, we appreciate the compliments and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will pass along your feedback to our hard work housekeeping them to encourage them to keep up the great job.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be deceived by the pictures!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Jiffy Lube Live
Cons: Install an "Employees must wash hands before returning to work" sign. Spray some febreeze in the rooms.
Location: Jiffy Lube Live, Civil War stuff, and DC is very close.
They pretty much let a group of people have party in the lobby and outside the front door. You could hear their music anywhere on the property. The room stunk of cigarettes so bad it gagged my wife and I. The fridge would not get cold. The poor bartender (Tammy I think?) busted her butt while the older bartender just stood there and complained. She did not want to get people beers, she did not want to make food. My wife was in the bathroom and listen to the older bartender lady go to the bathroom then not wash her hands. My wife text me when the lady left the bathroom and I watched her come into the bar and stick her hand in the lemons!! I was so disgusted! We left first thing in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing these to our attention, we wish we had known of this while you were onsite so we could have found another more suitable room for you and your wife. We have been working on updating all previous smoking rooms to non smoking and we are aware we have a few more to finish. We are sorry to hear you had this experience with the restaurant and will speak with the staff regarding your feedback. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Perfect location for jiffy lube live concerts

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Average but clean and nice hotel! Stayed with friends for a night after seeing concert at jiffy lube. Great location. 10 minutes uber drive. Breakfast was nothing special...no water! Other than that nice place
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We appreciate you selecting our hotel as your place to stay after the concert at Jiffy Lube Live. We appreciate your feedback and delighted to hear that we met your expectations for location, comfort and cleanliness. We are sorry you were not too impressed with breakfast however! Hope to welcome you again next concert or event. Thanks
4 out of 5
by mark from rochester

great place to stay for rolling thunder in DC

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
stayed for rolling thunder, hotel was perfect for that, very motorcycle friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for joining us and staying for the Rolling Thunder events in and around the city. Best Western International is the former partner with Harley Davidson and we are very proud of that and happy to still be very motorcycle friendly to this day. We are glad you had a great stay and hope to welcome you again next year if not sooner. Thanks again.
1 out of 5
by Dahang

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Not good at all !!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only if you are desparate.

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
The entire hotel property was pretty dated. I requested a non-smoking room and was put in a smoking room. Arrived too late to change it. Air conditioner was noisy and very old. Multiple mystery hairs in the bathroom. No HD tv but there was free wifi. Lots of noise from the outdoor horseshoe pit.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sarah, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and we were unable to provide you with the requested room type. We are converting our hotel now to entirely smoke free guestrooms and making other improvements to bring it back to a modern look and feel. We had a very busy weekend and apologize for the exterior noise from other guests. Thank you for giving us a chance, we are sorry we did not provide a more enjoyable experience that we pride ourselves on delivering everyday, for all guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was good & one dinner was offered to us complementary. At nighttime, dining area didn't seem as clean or inviting. Picture of hotel does not indicate outside entrances to rooms & I really think it should so that customers can make an informed decision. One of our rooms had a pair of underwear from the previous patron under the bed. As well, we overheard another patron complaining about an epidemic of ants in their room. For the price, maybe some more upgrading would be in order. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sarah, Hotel Management
We appreciate your business and thank you for the feedback. The website you booked on does show our exterior entrances a few images in (looking at the courtyard) but we are one of two in the area so we understand how ours get confused with them and vice versa sometimes. We are very sorry and embarrassed by the guestroom and have shared this with housekeeping to ensure they do not let that happen again. We are upgrading the property at this time and refreshing the rooms as quickly as we can.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not What I Expected

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Was disappointed by our stay. Looked great online, but in reality, the hotel was quite different than expected. Facilities were not well maintained, our room smelled terrible, and there is a bar attached to the hotel, so there was lots of noise and smoking/drinking. Not a family environment. On the upside, the beds were fairly comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good. Would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sarah, Hotel Management
We are one of two hotels in the area with similar names and hear often that we don't look the same online because of that. We are a very family friendly hotel and take great pride in offering exceptional customer service in a clean, comfortable guestroom. I am sorry to hear we were not able to place you further away from the bar and you were disappointed with this stay. We are refreshing the hotel soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
It was just ok. Seemed an bit dated, staff was friendly, breakfast was good, air conditioner wasn't working and staff came promptly to fix and had a nearby room ready in case we had any other issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We appreciate your honest review and feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the guestroom. We are reviewing plans now for some exciting upgrades coming soon. Hope you return again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Upon check in we were made to wait for the next manager to come in. We were given keys to a room that did not have the beds made. The manager promptly brought another key to yet another room with an unmade bed. The third key was to a room which did have beds that were made. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean but the photographer who shot the photos of the rooms really did a great job making rooms LOOK bigger, cleaner and better that they really are.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We are terribly sorry for the inconveniences you had upon arrival and locating a clean & ready room. We will review this with the team and assure you this was an unusual occurrence and not our typical operating procedure. Thank you again for taking the time to share your trip with us.