Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Winchester UK

A good place to stay en-route to somewhere else

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Only spot we have had to pay for secure parking.
Very friendly with good breakfast. Ideal stopping off spot from Mount Saint Michel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Aix en Provence

Good hotel for families

Posted Aug 30, 2015
The hotel is far away from any atractions, but if you don't mind driving, it is in a very good location to visit either Bayeux, Mont St Michel, Rennes or Avranges itself. Good breakfast, free for children and the room for 4 was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel not far from Mont-St-Michel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Easily found, comfortable, good Wi-Fi.
Location: It's about a 20-minute walk into the center of town and the museum of Mont-St-Michel (Scriptorial).
We were a group of 9 who stayed at Hotel Altos for one night. All the rooms were comfortable, and the Wi-Fi worked well. Breakfast was comparable in price to other French hotels, but a fuller buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts, UK

Excellent stop-over hotel when driving south.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Comfortable room in a good hotel location for journeying south. The 'Jardins' are well worth a visit, viewing Mont St Michel in the sunset.
Cons: Not sure it was necessary to insist on swiping your credit card even when you have paid up front and agree not to book anything to your room.
Location: Mont St Michel less than 10 miles away but get there early as it gets very crowded.
Comfortable hotel on the south side of Avranches meaning you can be up and on the road with minimum delay. A trip to Mont St Michel (before the crowds) is a great diversion if you have the time. Excellent private car park (5e) which is secured by a coded gate at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Overall a good stay for Europe. The internet was a little slow and there was not a microwave or refrigerator. But the rooms were clean and the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main strip in Avcrances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a beautiful town!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
We were very happy with the Hotel Altos. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were quiet and comfortable. We want to go back just to explore all the town has to offer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimbo from Bournemouth UK

Good location

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Free parking with friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Evening meals
A good location in town with parking. Rooms are fine and plenty of hot water, breakfast is a typical continetal affair, at busy times you might have to wait for a table to become free. Lifts to three floors. A short walk to the center of town where there are plenty of shops and places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

charming,convenient and friendly

Posted Jun 8, 2012
Pros: friendly staff and general comfort
Location: easy to find with parking on premises. short drive to town and Mt San Michel
charming little family run hotel - convenient and friendly - very nice breakfast included highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alton, Hampshire, UK

Comfortable, basic but good value

Posted Sep 26, 2011
My wife and I wanted a hotel for 2 nights close to Cherbourg, the D-Day beaches and Mont St Michel on our way back to England after staying with relatives in central France. The Hotel Altos was ideal - there was free on-street parking and the hotel was within easy walking distance of the attractive town centre of Avranches. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a clean, modern room on the 3rd floor at the back, overlooking houses and gardens. The room had a 'Juliet' balcony with a waist-high railing which would have concerned me a little if we had young children. The bed was very comfortable, the TV was modern but with only 5 French channels and the shower was hot and powerful. Sadly there were no facilities for making tea or coffee but the wi-fi worked well. There is an adjoining restaurant next door which we did not use. Slight criticisms were that we were near the lift which we heard at night, and the separate toilet area was tiny. Our rate included a continental breakfast which was healthy and had a good variety of choices. It was a bit like staying in a Holiday Inn Express - fairly basic but modern, friendly, clean and perfectly adequate for my wife and I who spent most of the day out sightseeing. I would happily stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hayling Island

Very pleasantly surprised

Posted Aug 3, 2010
Our Family room was very bright and spacious. The small Staff were so helpful and pleasant, they made the stay a very enjoyable experience. Would certainly go back.