Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
We needed an overnight stop in Cherbourg. We normally stay in one of the big, soulless hotels out of town. The Moderna is right in the city centre, close to restaurants, bars and shops. Despite this, it is easily accessed, a short drive from the ferry terminal. The hotel does not have its own car park, but there is plenty of free parking in nearby public car parks, and in the street outside the hotel. The room was comfortable and quiet, with a new bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deepak from London

Excellent location.

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Lady at reception was very nice. Loved the wide opening windows. Not your health and safty type.
Cons: Help to get the bags to the top floor
Location: Very close to the shopping district and main restaurants
Excellent location about 100 meters to a row of restaurants on the sea front. Very friendly hotel reception lady. For a two star, I thought it was pretty good. Clean rooms. There is a bar opposite so you do hear some people milling around on a Saturday night. Parking available right outside the front door. Stairs are not child friendly but my kids loved sliding down. Did not notice a lift and I was on the third floor. Don’t expect bell boys. At 2 star, it’s not that sort of place. Breakfast was I think 8 Euros. I gave that a skip. Nice shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chrissie from Portsmouth, UK

Great hotel for short break in Cherbourg centre

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: central, clean and quiet.
Cons: View from room and lack of power points.
Location: Great location, close to ferry port and town centre.
Nice clean hotel with friendly efficient staff. Beds were comfortable, room basic but adequate for a one night stay, Very convenient for exploring the city as the centre is literally a 5 minute walk away. Parking was available immediately outside the hotel and was free which was a bonus. Only five minutes away from the ferry port and easy to find. View from our room was into the street, not very inspiring but we only use our room to sleep, so wasn't a problem for us. There was no street noise and the hotel was also very quiet so we had a very peaceful night's sleep. We would definitely use this hotel again for 1-2 nights stay, any longer and I think I would become frustrated with the lack of space to relax, lack of proper dressing table and power points etc. We didn't eat breakfast so can't comment on the food, there are plenty of places to eat very close by. Generally, good value for money so we were happy with our choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wedutch5 from Miami

Nothing fancy

Posted May 23, 2013
Pros: Small and quaint
Cons: Breakfast was a single piece of bread. Nothing else (save jusice and coffee)
Location: Close to downtown and the port.
Parking on the street, and breakfast is a piece of bread. It is a nice small hotel which has fast internet and a great location. Clean but nothing fancy. I would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marc from Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Good, no nonsense accommodation

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: Staff were cheerful & helpful
Cons: Room was small
Location: Great downtown/old town location near harbour
Staff were helpful Room was small but clean Situated in a good location near harbour and in old part of town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by michael, devon from devon,england

perfect stopover.

Posted Aug 19, 2012
the location was perfect, the bed wonderful, the staff helpful. room a bit small for a couple but ok for one. very clean and well maintained,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good place to take the wife or the girlfriend...

Posted Jul 20, 2012
Very pleasant people and a good place to stay in the centre of Cherbourg. The only downer is the lack of parking but this is a common problem with a small hotel so close to the centre of a wonderful town. Great for shopping and eating out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good but no fire safety

Posted Jul 17, 2012
was good. seems no fire safety though. otherwise very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul & Caroline from Sunny Wiltshire July '12

Returning from Classic Le Mans & would stay again.

Posted Jul 12, 2012
The room and en-suite were modern and attractive, with a large comfortable bed. The owner was very welcoming and helpful regarding local restaurants, shops etc. Breakfast was rather disappointing; only coffee, juice and bread/croissants (no cereals, fruit or cheese/ham) and cost 7.5 euros each. Location for the ferry- excellent. Parking could prove a problem, although we were lucky to be able to park immediately outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great Value, Location, Clean and Comfortable.

Posted Jun 11, 2011
Perfectly clean and comfortable B&B near port. Near port still means a short taxi ride (less than $10) - there did not seem to be anything any closer. Room was perfectly comfortable and clean. Manager spoke enough English to help me with the few questions that I had. Many cafes and informal places to eat within a couple of blocks. We only stayed one night as we transfer from late ferry to early morning train. Ideal place for simple night of sleep.