Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Cyrille from Granville

Confortable et bien placé

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Bon accueil bien placé sur le port à côté du centre ville,chambre spacieuse.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Well positioned in Cherbourg

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Wi-fi speed.
Location: Near the harbour, lots of restaurants nearby.
Good location, friendly staff, nice authentic French restaurant.
4 out of 5
by james from Cork ireland

Valentine's night feast!

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Had a lovely overnight here on our way to catch the ferry home.staff really helpful and friendly.our room was on third floor and as no lift we had a steep climb upstairs. Enjoyed a fabulous meal on Valentine's night,really pleased we had prebooked this as was a sell out on the night.very convenient for ferryport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth, Dorset

Lovely hotel with great location!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Chose this hotel based on reviews, quaint and personal hotel, we had a lovely time! We were greeted with a helpful and friendly touch and shown to our room, he insisted he carried my girlfriends luggage. We had a room overlooking the pretty harbour, the room and bathroom were spotless and we'll maintained. We had dinner in the hotel, which was delicious to say the least, everything was locally sourced and cooked from fresh, at a reasonable price. Would definitely recommend la regence and look forward to staying there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pen y Bont ar Ogwr Cymru

Lovely Hotel in handy part of Cherbourg

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The decor, the staff, the food and the ambiance.
Cons: We had room number 10 and whilst small was perfectly fine except for the heat. It was unbearably hot!! Whereas the rest of the hotel seems cool!?
Location: The location is very handy and next door but one in Narval cafe which serves brilliant Moule frite for 11 euros. Charming host!!
Loved this hotel for its ambiance and food. Staff were mainly very helpful and kind. It has a lovely 40's/50's style based on the heydays of the transatlantic liners. We loved it. will go back if we can. However, the food is a little overpriced but it is very good. Lovely photo of Richard Burton, Liz Taylor and other stately liners. The hotel was cool on a very hot day but form some reason our room number 10 was incredibly hot!! We should have complained really but it seems silly to complain about the heat on a hot day!! I noticed as we left that this room is above the kitchen. Could that be the reason? Air con would have solved the issue. The other note is parking. There is a large municipal car park to the rear but you have to pay. I am not sure of the charges as we arrived juts before 6 on Saturday and it seems to be free from 1900 in the evenings and the all day Sunday, so we just drove out with no charge for an overnight stay. There was also some disturbance from yobs in the early hours but it was only for a short time. There is a note asking you to call a certain number in this the event of a disturbance so I guess this may be an issue occasionally? Overall, this did not bother us too much. still a lovely hotel.
3 out of 5
by Louise from Portsmouth

Great but no air con

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels
Great location, but a bit warm and only a small fan so air conditioning would have been appreciated. But good apart from that.
3 out of 5
by stuart from southampton

Good location, comfortable hotel.

Posted May 6, 2014
We arrived on a Sunday at 2.30 with two small children but were told we could not check in as it was lunch service - despite 2.00 being the stated check in. Had to clean the toilet before using it. Comfortable bed and a good sized room. In annex, on top floor, but quite and peaceful for our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

très bonne literie

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels
Nous avons dormis à l'annexe. Décoration très décevante par apport à ce que suggère la réception et la partie restaurant de l'hotel, très belle. les escaliers de l'annexe font penser à un HLM. La chambre est très "pauvre" en déco, petite. La TV date du siecle dernier et le battant de la douche est cassé !
5 out of 5
by Aurélien from Annecy

Superbe hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel très sympathique et très bien placé en face du port de Cherbourg. Très bon accueil, la chambre était agréable. Petit bémol pour la douche qui n'était pas pratique dans le sens où de l'eau allait partout dans la salle de bains. Le petit déjeuner est correct avec des viennoiseries et du pain frais. A recommander car très bon rapport qualité prix service.
1 out of 5
by Couple from Yorkshire

Noisy location

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels
Good location for ferry and excellent food. Now the down side. We asked for a quiet room and they gave us one at the back overlooking the car park. We were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a room at the front overlooking the harbour. . We were assured it was as quiet. What we weren't, told was that we were next to a noisy pub that didn't,close till 3 in the morning. People were just under our window and in front of our hotel shouting and singing till about 4 in the morning. Impossible to sleep. Even with the windows closed it was terrible.we could have done with the windows open because rooms are hot an stuffy. When I told reception about this I was told it didn't,t make any difference at the back because the pub has a beer garden there which also gets noisy. In conclusion if you want an hotel with a nice harbour view this is the place but if you want a hotel where you can get a good nights sleep, avoid it like the plague.