Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
We found it difficult to get the access code to get into the hotel parking. The hotel room seemed clean but the facility carpets and paint needs to be updated and is very warn. In the future would not stay in this area but in a community further away from Mont st Michel. We had to leave the room door open because there was poor air circulation and a chemical smell in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
The room is basic. No elevator to second floor. Charge entry fee for car to enter facility. Once enter, no free in and out privilege from facility. Room décors and furniture looks dated. There is a moldy smell in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Experience

Posted Oct 16, 2016
The hotel is older and could use some updating, but comfortable and the on-site restaurant is pretty good. Location is great if you are visiting the Abby. There is no way to drive to this hotel without a gate code from the hotel (that you need to pay extra for). Make sure to contact the hotel directly prior to arrival and get a code or you will need to pay for parking and take the Abby shuttle bus to the hotel location and then go back to get your car. We did not know this until arriving in the evening and spending an hour trying to figure out how to even get to the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for the one night, nothing special

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Le Relais du Roy was an ok hotel for our hight in Mont-Saint-Michel. The hotel was clean and the room comfortable, but nothing special. I missed the email they had sent with the gate code, so we had a little bit of an issue getting in, but that might have been my fault. Unfortunately, if you leave the area, you need a SEPARATE code to get back in, and each code, including the first has a cost - which was a little annoying. It was ok, seemed comparable to the other hotels in the area and the price was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Close to Mont St Michel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Clean hotel with very nice restaurant. Staff was friendly but surprisingly didn't know anything about the tour schedule at Mint st. Michel. We researched it on our own and barely made it in time. Shuttle was very close by with access to the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, welcoming staff

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location, service, size of room
Location: Mont St. Michel is right up the road
I arrived several hours before official check-in time, and the staff got me into a room anyway since one was available. This is one of the three closest mainland hotels to Mont St. Michel, and the island shuttle stops are within 50 metres of the hotel entrance. Great hotel restaurant. Fantastic views of the abbey by day or by night. Don't hesitate to book at this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Adélaïde, Hotel Management
We are glad to know you spent a great stay. See you soon then,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good service except from the owners

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The staff; breakfast; cleanliness of the rooms.
Cons: Internet. Directions to the hotel. Automatic provision of access code. Wider parking space - and more of it. Over-flow parking to be clearly indicated
Location: Easy access to Mont Saint Michel. Good vegetable shopping towards St Malo along the coastal road. St Malo, Granville and Cancale are worth seeing.
Received an urgent message but was unable to reply as I could not connect to the hotel's guest internet which seems to cut out more than it should. I found that I could not use the hotel's own internet as the management has restricted its use - you cannot even get GOOGLE. I found the staff very friendly and helpful but clearly their bosses do not trust them. Directions to the hotel are not clearly marked on the access road. You need a code to get past the barrier - this should be provided on booking but is not. Parking is inadequate. Very narrow spaces, made worse by Belgian drivers parking across 2 spaces. Apparently you can park at any of the other hotels but this is not clear until you ask. There is an empty lot next door where you can park easily
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2016
The only suggestion is: air conditioning would be good. Otherwise it was great and a great location.
4 out of 5
by Veronique from Orlando

Memorial trip to France

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Hotel staff very nice.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Hotel staff nice and room had been cleaned but in major need of updating. Walls and rug needed cleaned. Beds hard, no safe in room. Staff very responsive by e-mail. With flooding we sent e-mail to inquire about roads and they were very responsive. Also provided code to get into gated area before we arrived. Did feel like not much was open once we were in the gated portion