Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Anne from Boston, MA

Heart of the City

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Right in the heart of the city and near the train
4 out of 5
by Plantar from Australia

French Quirky

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels
Great !,!!!
5 out of 5
by Garage56 from Everywhere

Can't wait to go back

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels
This was my second time staying at this hotel. I love it. Excellent location right near restaurants and the center of town. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean. If you're expecting large hotel rooms, well, this is Europe. There aren't any. Interestingly, you don't get a key of any kind. When you make your reservation, they send you a code that gets you in the front door and your room. I'd never had a hotel like that before, and i think it's a great idea. I can't wait to say at here again.
5 out of 5
by GeoffM from Earth

I loved this hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels
What was supposed to be two nights I extended to four. Loved it here. I didn't want to leave. The cozy room was quiet, comfortable, and had a view (down a narrow street) of a little sliver of the harbor. The location is excellent, right around the corner from dozens of restaurants and cafes. The staff was very friendly. I'll definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to the town centre

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Modern, clean and well positioned.
Cons: Didn't see any hotel staff!
Location: Tourist office very close - well worth a visit. Staff here very helpful.
Room clean and adequate for one person. Hotel is situated very close to all amenities. Unfortunately I couldn't get into the garden during my stay due to work being done on the conservatory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony

Great for the money and in a great location

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Price
Cons: Size of bathroom
Location: Close to the attractions
Very small bathroom! When they say that check in is at 1400 they mean it, the combination entry system would not work at 1355! Great location close to Cite de Mere and lots of very nice French restaurants. Great deal for the price and very convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was comfortable when we managed to get in. We did not have the entry code, due to being in transit. The hotel entrance door was very difficult to operate and we had to go to the Tourist Info office to get advice and they telephoned the owners to obtain the code and instructions for us. .Location is excellent. and price reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by molokko7 from Southsea, Portsmouth, UK

Good self catering rooms in Cherbourg.

Posted Jun 23, 2012
Pros: Quiet, good location
Cons: many stairs!
Location: Central but quiet
Good self catering establishment, good location and views of Cherbourg.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Disappointing Stay....

Posted Jun 12, 2011 on Hotels
Residence La Rose Des Vents is an adequate apartment, but it is not a hotel in the traditional sense. The positive features include: good central location for exploring the city center of Cherbourg, some rooms have views of the harbor, restaurants are close by, Francoise is a pleasant proprietor in person, the apartments have a sink, stove, fridge, dishwasher and essential kitchen items, and the rooms (although bare) appear to be pretty new and clean overall. The negative factors (which I believe outweigh the positive) include: only street parking is available which creates challenges if you are traveling with young children, there is not a reliable phone number for the hotel and the access code system is very disorganized, the cleaning staff/reception area was never open when we were coming or going, thus there was no easy way to get questions answered such as where to put trash, the room was never cleaned in our 5-night stay (and fresh towels at least once would have been greatly appreciated), the reservation explicitly stated there would be wireless internet and there was none (only wired internet was available), and the bathroom was very tiny and modular (you could have one foot in the shower and a hand on the toilet at the same time). In addition, the traffic on the street was pretty loud at night and early in the morning, and trash was often littered outside the main apartment door entrance. What a disappointment! I would not recommend that others stay at Residence La Rose Des Vents, nor would I choose to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MJ from Germany

Lovely on the water

Posted Jun 9, 2011
This was a great place to stay, but be advised that there are no elevators in this hotel, so walking stairs with luggage can be a challenge. Also note that they do not clean your room daily, which causes you to take out your own trash and there was not an exchange on dirty linen. They only provided 2 bath towels for 3 people staying in one room which is a challenge. The rooms were spacious and very clean and comfortable. There is no wifi in the rooms as stated, be prepared to log in from a LAN line (provided). Also, there is no staff on a full-time basis. Overall very nice accommodations.