Ratings based on 3,907 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good hotel minutes away from the terminals

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Proximity to terminals, friendliness of staff.
Cons: My only personal criticism is the thickness of the pillows - too deep and a bit hard. One less thick and a bit softer would be a good alternative.
Location: Easy access to Manchester airport.
Prompt and efficient shuttle within minutes of calling the hotel on arrival, the same with regard to check-in. Quiet, comfortable and clean room, and excellent breakfast selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good Night's Rest

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Staff, transport all very good. Only problem was that the Restaurant was fully booked until 8 pm. so would recommend booking. Bar menu a little limited but still good. r
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Comfortable for an overnighter.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Check -in queue system was chaos, with each receptionist having their own queue. Three parties jumped the queue and checked in ahead of me, didn't appreciate the inattentiveness of staff especially after a 22 hour journey from Australia. Took forever to find our room as hotel has an unusual layout. Dragging two large suitcases through the narrow doorways to the lifts was a challenge. Room was very pleasant and beds clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was huge but sink edge jutted out over top of loo so you had to manoeuvre yourself to get on/off. I think the carpet under the beds had last been vacuumed in 1996, massive balls of fluff. Even my 5 year old commented on it!! Breakfast was fabulous, those mushrooms were to die for! Wait staff in dining room were super friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Usefully close to airport. Transfer easy to book.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Easy airport access
On airport so no worries about traffic problems. Transfers quick and efficient. Surprisingly large room. Very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayr

Ideal for airport

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Stayed the night before early morning flight perfect location Bed very comfortable Could walk easily to terminals but free courtesy bus available Would definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location for onward flight

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location
First class accomodation, would come again. Breakfast was great many choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Oct 11, 2017
We found the Clayton Hotel to be a good value Hotel. We can recommend it if you are wanting an Hotel close to the Airport, are arriving late and leaving early and just want somewhere clean and friendly to have a good night's sleep before a long journey (in our case 2 long flights to Australia). We arrived at the Train Station late at night and found the shuttle bus excellent both then and (to the Airport) early the next morning. The Hotel staff were friendly and we were able to get a beer and late night snack in the Bar before going to bed. We have previously stayed at a more expensive nearby Hotel and, on this occasion, it suited us to hav our short stay at the Clayton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great airport hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Bright and clean
Location: Near Heathrow airport
Great friendly {Jim) service to the Hotel Clayton. Very efficient both ways
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Claire, Hotel Management
Dear Irene, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay with us at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport. I am delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in particular the service form our driver Jim! We look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Manchester. Kind Regards, Claire Armitage Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Slow when busy!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: At less-busy times, the services are very good, so we still recommend the Clayton. Rooms are clean, well-equipped and the beds are very comfortable.
Cons: Check-in service.
Location: An ideally located airport hotel. You could actually walk to the terminals!
We went at a busy time. The shuttle took a long time to collect us from the train station, checking in took ages (long queue),and meal service in the bar was slow, too. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln

Rather pricey

Posted Oct 6, 2017
We were late booking in due to the flight into Manchester. We arrived at 00.20am. The receptionist was really nice and friendly. The only criticism I would have is that for a basic ‘bed and breakfast’ was expensive.