Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't judge the inside from the cover

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Wifi availability and cleanliness throughout.
Location: Didn't stay very long - arrived 9pm and left 7:30 - was very keen to leave.
The outside shows promise, but except for the check in process, I was disappointed on all levels. The room has two king size beds but both were extremely uncomfortable - one has a ridge and the other has sunk in the middle, which made me conclude that the matresses were inferior. The bathroom on first glance looked clean, but the plug holes in the bath and basin were dirty. The glasses in the bathroom were underneath an empty frame which I assume at one time held shampoos etc, but was covered in at least 2mm of dust. I refrained from either the glasses or the cups in the room. The room was next to the lift but also next to swing doors which was the entry point to the rooms. Every time the door was opening it would bang closed - I got 3 hours of sleep. Although I could use the wifi in reception, there was no signal in the room. The car park was a quagmire of mud.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It served for a one night stay.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
It was fine for a one night stay, but I would not stay longer. The hotel is dated and very worn. The room was small and tight. The spa facilities cost additional money. The steam room had little steam and no aromatherapy, but the jacuzzi had ample water and was gratefully warmer than any other I have used. The best thing was the attached restaurant, the Overstuffed Pizza, which had really good service and pasta.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good value hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Good value for the price that you pay, hotel outdated in terms of room decor etc but clean ideal for a quick stopover. we stayed in a family room size of the room was very good as was the layout. Wasn't looking for a luxurious hotel didn't pay for one. Didn't use the facilities so can't comment on them.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester UK

Bad experience

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Got there, they didn't have a room for me.staff were not as welcoming/not friendly and not very helpful.Tried to give me a single room when I had reserved a double room. Breakfast too expensive for what was offered. Not a wide choice at breakfast to choose from. Have stayed for less at other hotels with better service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

So disappointing

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The staff did their best. Friendly and helpful
On the plus side nearly all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our waitress at breakfast deserves special mention for sourcing gluten free toast for me. The downside would be the room, our bed was so hard and uncomfortable, we seriously considered sleeping on the floor, the bath was a jacuzzi bath which we couldn't use as the jets were filthy, you could only use the shower if you are under 5' 5" due to the low height of the false ceiling. Add to this the wardrobe door fell off when we tried use it. Despite turning the thermostat to it's lowest point our room was very hot, we opened the windows as far as we could but this was only a couple of inches as they were restricted with steel cables. It didn't matter though, as open or shut the noise outside was continuous. On complaining at the hotel desk we were told that Housekeeping would see to the issues and it was a busy hotel so we would just have to put up with the noise. On returning to our room that evening nothing had been done. I complained again at Reception, this time showing them photos of the bath on my phone. This time we were able to change rooms, the bath was just a normal bath but very clean. Otherwise all the other issues were much the same. We couldn't use the wardrobe in this room due to the horrendous noise it made when trying to slide it open. Wouldn't recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Of it's time

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Cons: The décor in the rooms is a little old and generally the building feels old but to fix most of these things would require major renovation.
The hotel is of it's time and looks dated. However, if all you need is a room for the night it's perfectly adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Did the job

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Reasonable price and location.
Cons: A bit dated but no mproblem
Location: Not city centre but close to M60.
When we arrived the booking could not be located and we had to wait over half an hour before it was found. The staff were courteous and helpful, I have no idea if the problem was with Expedia or the hotel, but it could have been highly inconvenient if time was critical.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Tired hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Tired looking hotel. On the plus side my room was quite spacious. On the minus side, the room door entry system and would not accept a key card other than a staff master key. Access to the room therefore required the presence of a staff member. Very limited choice of tv channels and atrocious picture quality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice hotel for what we required

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Clean and tidy and in a good location
Cons: The breakfast too expensive and quality poor
Location: Location good as we were Christmas shopping at the Trafford centre
We have stayed here before hense why we used it again. Although this time we were given a room over the top of the laundry room which was very warm and small. The window also was small so could only let in a small amount of fresh air. My only one real criticism of this hotel is the breakfast it is really expensive at £10.95 for what you get I have stayed in quite a few hotels dearer and cheaper and the breakfasts were of much better quality. Mr Stephen Leigh