Ratings based on 3,011 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Cons: Las camas y la actitud del personal
El personal del hotel no es muy amigable ni muestra buena actitud de servicio. Pienso que esto se debe mejorar considerablemente. Tiene buena localización, cerca de city centre. Las instalaciones son viejas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle under lyme

Easy walk from train ststion

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Large hotel but in need of refit. Room very small with no window and air con not working. Bathroom very dated.. Had 2 request more towels as only given 1 hand & 1 bath towel. Room booked for 2 people
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South West

Faded Grandeur

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: It needs a full refurbishment and get rid of the 70s/80s decor.
Location: Really close to Piccadilly train station and great for shopping.
Everything about this hotel shouts faded grandeur. The stair case is beautiful and stunning and that is where the good impression ends. I can't fault the staff. They were very pleasant and polite. The location is fantastic too. The look of the hotel and room facilities were poor with nearly every single sofa in the comunal areas torn or worn out in places. The 'double' bed could barely fit us both on comfortably and we are quite a thin couple. Cracked tiles in the bath room, cheap coffee in the room and the whole hotel has a 'The Shinning' feel. With some investment into this hotel it could be something really special but at the moment it feels a bit like it is on its last legs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was good and comfortable

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Nice hotel with comfort room and most of the famous places in Manchester are very close
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

OK for Expedia price!

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs a bit of TLC.
Location: 10 minute walk into city centre for shopping. 10 min walk to Picadilly Stn. 20-25 min walk to Castlefields area for Science and Industry Museum
Got this for £57 for one night through Expedia, which for a hotel in central Manchester was really good value. The hotel exterior could do with some TLC - lovely old building but a bit shabby - the interior, foyer and stairway, is nice and quite impressive. The room was basic and a bit shabby and smelt a bit musty - all our clothes (even the unworn ones!) needed washing when we got home. The recommended car park (£12 for 24 hrs or £8 if you use hotel discount which we forgot!) is about a 10-15 min walk away but couldn't see anything about this on the web, maybe I just didn't look hard enough. There is an NCP carpark across the road but this is around £24 for 24 hrs, so worth the walk to the other car park. For the price and location can't really complain too much but would have been very disappointed if we had paid full price which as advertised in the hotel would have been about £150.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Overpriced, faded quality in a central location

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: the location
Cons: The quality of the room, the décor, the furniture and the price
I paid a very large amount for one mid-week night in this hotel but other options were even more expensive. The location is an advantage but my room was very poor, the wardrobe door was hanging off its runner and the rest of the furniture looked second-hand. I complained about the wardrobe door and reported it but was not offered another room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from middlesbrough

Nice hotel spotlessly clean and very comfortable

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Had a lovely stay at Britannia hotel very clean and comfortable room and the hotel is in a great spot right in the heart of the centre and close to all buses and trams and rail station had excellent stay would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and tired

Posted Jul 5, 2016
This place is about 30 years out of date. It feels grubby all over. Cooked breakfast was awful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wigan

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Aircon broke, too hot in room as no windows and they wouldnt allow me to use my 10% off voucher upon check in. Lack of power outlets, needed to charge phone, use tv and use the fan they provided and hair straighteners with 2 plugs. In the whole room. The room smelled funny and the shower leaked all over the floor in the bath room. The bed was awful, i'd slept on softer yoga matts. The humidity in the room was uncomfortable and the fan didnt cool the room down enough and was blowing warm air. The available plug was that far away it didnt reach us at the bed area. Will not be going again, and it wasnt cheap either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy and hot

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Location is very convenient. Check in efficient and friendly and room was clean and tidy. However it was extremely hot and the loud music till 2am meant I couldn't leave the tiny skylight open. Even with it closed the music was audible and disturbing. When I went to check out I was told it was fine, just to leave the key and there was no enquiry about how my stay had gone etc. Overall I was disappointed