Ratings based on 3,555 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Beautiful Entrance, shame about the rest

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The reception area is lovely
Cons: The bedrooms and communal areas need to be renovated as they are shabby
Location: Lots of restaurants and theatre nearby
Beautiful reception area, very impressive. The room was awful. As I was only staying 1 night incident need it to be fancy but the weather had caused the room to be extremely hot and there was no window, just a skylight that opened an inch!!! That did absolutely nothing to ventilate the room. We rang reception for a fan and the French receptionist was hard to understand, but was told no. When we finished dinner (another story) I spoke to the male receptionist who was English-speaking. He took my room number and Saud he would deal with it. Later that evening we rang down again and were told it would be sent up. We are still waiting for the fictitious fan!!! We had our evening meal in Jenny's restaurant. I can't say it was good, in fact it was appalling! The soup was ok, the main meal was very poor. The vegetables were water logged, the meat was dry and hard and the roast potatoes were also hard. We had to carve the meat ourselves as the chef was a no show. The dessert was passable but not brilliant by any means. The young lady serving was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was much better but the service was terrible. I think the young man was on his own planet. Overall I think this was a very poor hotel for service and food. I won't be staying again and couldn't recommend it unfortunately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Great value for your money. The location of the hotel is perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grimsby

Run down and outdated

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Location: Not the best location
Hotel looks lovley but run down and very outdated especially the rooms, Beds very old and not comfortable. Breakfast not great. Very noisy from Bar donwstairs and outside
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Ideal for location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Stayed one night rooms require updating but for what I paid can't complain everything you require near bye
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

right in the city centre, near everything , but th

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: staircase
Cons: the whole hotel needs a make over
Location: great location
never again until the hotel has a make over .......................................... if you spent a few million it would be a great hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Ideally like located

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Stayed one night stay here few times it needs spring out the rooms are very reasonably priced for what you get. Decor and room requires updating the lobby entrance area looks amazing. The beds are comfortable and the bar area food are good too. No aircon rooms are outdated and needs some touching up all around really but would stay again is what it is everything is nearby and location can not be faulted staff are always friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Accommodation reminiscent of bygone trading wealth

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Period feel of a bygone colonial era. Central location. Value for money. Power shower head.
Cons: Quality of the facilities.
Location: Opposite Piccadilly Gardens and a tram stop. On Portland Street very close to Chinatown. Walking distance to Manchester Piccadilly station
Great location 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly Station, and opposite Piccadilly Gardens, close to Chinatown, The hotel is reminiscent of Victorian/Edwardian grandeur with a large chandelier and period features including the staircase and entrance hall. Facilities are clean, quaint, and value for money. It is in need of an upgrade, but I hope that the period feel of the hotel is retained as this is part of its charm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
I believe you get what you pay for. The room was £30 for the night, for £30 you can't expect the Shangri La!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

windowless room was hotter than the Sun

Posted May 30, 2017
I wasn't expecting much for the price, I would usually get a taxi home but for the same price I thought I'd give this a go. There's a few sketchy people hanging outside and the nightclub outside looks like something from 24 party people. This is all outside of the hotels control, but what isn't is the temperature of the room. There is no air conditioning just "ventilation" which means one evening here feels like 10 days in Suana in Morocco.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

A noisy hotel in Manchester

Posted May 30, 2017
In spite the good location and the room condition I would not came back. During the night let's say from 22:00 to 2:00 the room was so noisy that the walls were moving due to the music on the underground pub. On the top the breakfast was poor. The coffee was not good and the croissant not fresh.