Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charmly Mews: A room with some charm

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The room itself was nicely decorated and was in an indeal location to get to the city centre but provided little instruction about parking once at the residency. The bed was quite poor and if you have a long journey the day after as I did, you will not feel refreshed as the mattress was solid, the pillows flat and the blanket basically a sauna. The bathroom had no toilet roll and the room had no bin and no mirror. However, it does get points as I said for its location as well as the local pub across the road being very very close and ideal after traipsing through the busy city. The e-mails received from the owners were polite and very helpful with how to access the front door and room door and have you all the information you needed for a somewhat comfortable stay. As stated, the room decor was pretty and the price made for a nice, spur of the moment weekend away that was easily affordable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not book!

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible. Twenty minutes before check in i received a email stating that they where canceling my booking. I was already in Manchester Central after traveling for over two hours. They had already taken my payment and no reason for canceling was stated. The owners contact phone was then turned off and I still haven't received any extra information. I will be getting a refund and advise no one to book here as to not get let down with no other option of accommodation
2 out of 5
by Ahmed from London

Bad experience

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very dirty and the neighbour were very noisy , smoking in their room , the whole place was stinking
1 out of 5
by Bea from Colchester

AVOID if you like clean sheets

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
This was an horrific 'hotel'. The sheets had not been cleaned, there were hairs in the bed, the shared bathroom was filthy with no cleaning facilities. There was no phone number to complain. it was un-manned so no person to complain to. We did not sleep here and had to pay out for an alternate hotel. I am DISGUSTED. This is a doss house for builders or homeless not guests. IT IS NOT A BOUTIQUE guesthouse, it is a disgust.
3 out of 5
by Mrs Teresa from corby

whitefield

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
we had a very distressing time to get checked in - my husband is registered disabled and we were told we would receive text on phone with security entry code and door number. We didnt get this info. We noticed that the Landlords Gas Safety certificate had expired. Owner should be notified. If there is a tragedy in the future then I hate to think of the consequences.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great place to stay.

Posted Jun 10, 2016
The place was more like a halfway house dirty room not sir linen had been changed. Very smelly hot and dirty. Bathroom needed a good clean dirty towels on the floor. No contact with anyone had to find way around. I would have paid more to have a cleaner nicer environment. Avoid if you possibly can.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Shocking

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Room was dirty. No check in desk so self check in which would be ok if u could actually contact the hotel at all. No one answered number given only contact via email. Bathroom unsuitable, no hand rails to get in or out of bath/shower. No towels. No toilet roll. No curtains so awake at 4am. TV didn't work. Plaster falling of walls. No parking. Garden was overgrown unable use. People had been double booked which wasn't a nice experience to see. Definitely not family friendly if you was to take children. Only got details for check in half hour before check in. When travelling a long way it's a big risk to take when you can't get a reply from hotel. Was asked to let hotel know expected time of arrival but no way of contacting them & was asked to provide photo ID half an hour before we arrived. Very disappointed there is nothing boutique about this hotel. It's in the middle of a housing estate with guest parking out side there houses. AVOID
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre accommodation far from Manchester

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The kitchen, living room, and multiple bathrooms were nice touches that boost the overall feel of the guest house.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: This was one of the worst parts of the experience. Other than the fact that it is far removed from city centre, the neighborhood is mostly residential
The guest house itself wasn't terrible. However, we had serious issues checking in due to an error by the hostel, which fortunately was rectified by a pleasant staff member. The location leaves a great deal to be desired. The hostel is so far from Manchester that it is one of the last stops on the tram system.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
The bed springs stuck in me, sheets not fresh, bathroom dirty, TV never worked, and the women who looks after the place felt it was ok to fight with her boyfriend late hours absolutely no sleep, don't recommend this place at all :(
5 out of 5
by D E

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels