Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nice hotel, recommended.

Posted May 22, 2017
Don't use the bath! Stopped here for only one night and on arrival I struggled to find my way inside. The front entrance had a chain preventing entry via the driveway so I went to another driveway and spotted a door with a reception sign next to it. I approached the reception sign only to realise it was pointing around to the side of the building and not at the door it was stapled next to. A staff member had been outside and showed the way in through a small door into a tight corridor, if they hadn't I probably would have walked around the building a while before finding my way in. I received a complimentary upgrade which was unexpected and pleasant, the reason for this was not given which makes me wonder if perhaps they had double booked a room or had failed to have the one I booked ready on time. Regardless, the upgrade was positive, the room was very spacious and had a lovely view over the front grounds of the building. The bath was unusable, there was a ring of grime around the bath from about the middle of the bath. I had wanted to bathe after doing some training during the day but the bath was too dirty for that. The shower cubicle was lovely, the monsoon shower head was particularly nice and the flannel dressing gown was perfect for wearing to get dry. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a peaceful night away in a nice area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A quality hotel and a pleasure to stay at.

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has a homely modern and contemporary feel. It is an old victorian house with bags of character and is definitely a cut above the usual large hotel chains. The breakfast is an add on to the room rate but well worth the money and can be strongly recommended. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely would return if visiting Manchester again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

relaxing atmosphere

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very satisfactory...staff very pleasant and most helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

A truly peaceful retreat handy for airport

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The lovely location so close to the city. Beautiful & quirky decor & ambiance.
Cons: Training needed for front of house/ reception to provide /improve arrival & checking-out procedure.
Location: Location is ideal for pre/post flight stay.
A lovely peaceful, almost "rural" setting ... & yet so close to airport. It proved a blissful, cosy retreat after a weary flight & journey. Good food, well presented & a lovely friendly local welcome from bar staff/ waiter. (Pity that the surly girl on front desk wasn't similarly welcoming tho')
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very Comfortable

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Stayed 2 nights whilst visiting elderly family members. Great location in Didsbury, comfortable bed and room, and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great once again...

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Always return to The Didsbury House and always pleased. Great facilities, attentive staff, good location, beautiful rooms and feel. Will be returning for years to come.
5 out of 5
by Henrik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

OK, but could be better

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Pleasantly quiet. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Attitude of reception staff.
First impressions were not good. Reception staff seemed distracted and too busy talking amongst themselves to deal with us. Room was pleasant, spacious. The bed was comfortable. Venitlation was poor - the room has four windows, but three of them are sealed, and there is no air conditioning. Why is there only one comfortable chair provided in a room clearly designed for two, and with pelnty of space to accommodate two. We were disappointed to find a damp, and clearly used, towel alongside the washbasin. When we took it down to Reception, their only comment was that the cleaner had obviously left it behind. No apology, let alone any attempt to check the state of the room. Subsequently, we found hairs in the washbasin, so clearly the cleaner had been called away before she had finished her cleaning. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, and is not cheap - £15+. Unless you want a full english, you will find better value in Didsbury High Street, five minutes walk away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels