Ratings based on 779 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice old fashioned hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Update the rooms
Location: great for close to the airport
A little dated in rooms. However great staff and great food. Alan the driver was exceptional, with pick up and drive to the airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Airport is literally 5 minutes away; the rooms are small and there is no elevator. The tv went on at 3 am and then the (false) fire alarm an hour later. Birthday party nice downstairs (with live band) kept everyone up. No sleep!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Took ages to check in. Paid for a club room and was allocated a standard room.reception staff where pleasant but didn't seem to know what to do about solving the problem,had to go and seek advice from the manager.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida usa

close to Manchester airport

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, nice staff
Cons: Install an elevator
Location: I did have a walk in the park directly behind premises this visit with it being summer time.
This is my second visit, chose to use again because it was a great experience. Complimentary ride to and from airport, barely any waiting and staff could not be nicer or more helpful. As I travel alone having help with my bags etc is a big deal. Rooms are well equipped, comfortable and clean. As it is an older building it has a lot of charm and character. The day I checked in there was a football celebrity having a photo shoot and also a wedding that evening, despite all this staff were available and helpful. There is a nice bar where you can grab a bite or you can book a seat in the restaurant. I have done both now. The only draw back I would say is that there is no elevator and its a little difficult with heavy bags on the stairs. However I will return to this hotel when I travel through Manchester again. Would thoroughly recommend 👍
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

No longer high end or 4*

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Nothing any more, I think it is clear I will never book back into this hotel
Cons: Don't put weddings above hotel guests needs. We weren't able to book a table in the restaurant "because they had a wedding on".
Location: This is predominately an airport hotel, however it is pretty, hence it gets wedding business.
We have been here a few times. Prior to it being taken over, it was lovely. Sadly the food style has been changed from fine dining to burgers. The food itself is OK, however previously it was "wow, what surprise for an airport hotel". We were sat in the window area, which is generally a nice place to be, however, we were also next to the open store cubby which contains the cleaning items, such as the vacuum cleaner. Service was sloppy - the store cubby curtain was not closed, we had no cutlery, we were nearly delivered someone else's drinks. A waitress opened a bottle of sparkling wine for another table - the wine went everywhere. The room I booked was a four poster bed, however I felt it was mis-sold as the bed we had was a half tester. The bed was quite small, the room was also small and dark and very tired looking. There was peeling paint in the bathroom and the bath it's self was chipped in places. The window in the bedroom wouldn't open. The service tray was in the wardrobe (yes - this is where you were expected to boil your kettle!). The light above the service tray didn't work, either and there were only about 3 hangers in the wardrobe. The room did have air con, however for some inexplicable reason it came on at some crazy hour in the night and was so loud, it woke us up. We were volunteered no information from reception and to be honest, they were more interested in bragging about getting payment from wedding guests ahead of the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

Nice place

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Service poor. Have to wander around looking for a bartender every tin you want a drink. Bartenders have no experience and some don't speak English very well
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great staff

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Although difficult to find since it is not signed as you enter the airport area, it was a great place to stay the night before our flight home. All the staff were amazingly pleasant and helpful. And the room was very comfortable and clean. Windows that opened were an added bonus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Close to the airport with shuttle service

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the airport and the restaurant.
Cons: The bathroom needs renovating and elevators need to be installed.
Location: I cannot comment on things to do. I arrived late afternoon and had an early morning flight.
I would not have chosen this hotel to stay at if I had known in advance there was no elevator. I was on the first floor and there were quite a few stairs, passages and different doors to manoeuvre. Thankfully, the shuttle bus driver carried my bags to my room. However, the next morning, I carried them downstairs alone. I suppose I could have called the front des for assistance. There was mould on the walls in the corner of the bathroom where an old-fashioned cistern and pull chain for the toilet were located. Someone had opened the sash window and I couldn't close it so again, the driver came and closed the window for me. The shower was nice but it was inside a very deep bathtub which would prevent a problem for any person with disabilities. Other than that, there was a hairdryer, ironing board, iron, tea kettle, cups and saucers and a supply of teabags, instant coffee and high temperature milk. There was no fridge. The food in the restaurant was excellent. I would highly recommend the teriyaki salmon with asian noodles.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best first night for Manchester visitors.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Food was great, staff members are all kind. They are so supportive for me to receive 7 parcels Amazon.uk sent to for 2 weeks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ulverston uk

wild goose chase

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Reception sent us not once but two times to wrong area when we were initially given our room number.its a very strange layout corridors and steps all over.suppose it was a good work out as I was carrying two large cases.small 1960,s type bar all in all quite dated.Only positive was the gentleman who took us the short distance on the free shuttle bus